Weekend Cooking – Pizza Time!

Weekend Cooking

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, fabulous quotations, photographs. It is hosted by Beth Fish Reads.

Pizza on plateThis week, NumerOneSon, NumberTwoSon and me made pizza. For some people that may be something they regularly do, for others it may be something they regularly order out, but we normally don’t either – we eat deep-frozen pizzas from the supermarket (heated up!).

But, as we found, making your own pizza is fun, healthy, quite quick really and much nicer than shop-bought pizzas! NumberOneSon (13) prepared the dough. It came from a packet (add water then mix), but he managed to do it on his own, including finding the English-to-Dutch plug (from my English hairdryer) to use on the English hand mixer.

Pizza with Tomato PureeHe divided the dough perfectly over the baking tray and NumberTwoSon (11) then spread tomato puree over it with the back of a spoon. While the dough was being prepared, NumberTwoSon had been busy slicing vegetables and vegetarian sausages. These were the ingredients for the topping:

ToppingsBroccoli, sliced vegetarian sausages, pineapple chunks, onion, pepper and mozarella cheese (sliced).

We divided the pizza in four quarters, as we all like something else: the boys don’t like the onion, while my husband doesn’t like the pineapple (you’ll notice the bottom left-hand quarter on the picture below doesn’t contain any pineapple). I like it all .

Pizza when readyIt only needed 25 minutes in the oven, so that was quick work for a lovely, healthy pizza! Here’s a close-up of the result (aw, that looks odd!). Close-up of PizzaSo, the moral is: make your own pizza every now and then. It doesn’t take that much time and it’s fun to do. Even better if you can get your kids (if you have any) to join in!

Let me know what other (vegetarian) toppings you suggest for our next pizza!

25 Responses to Weekend Cooking – Pizza Time!

  1. Beth F says:

    What a lovely treat to have your sons make pizza. And look at what a fabulous job they did. Very clever to divide your pizza into fourths so everyone can have just the right toppings.

    We make pizza from scratch quite often around here. I really need to work on a pizza post too — It’s so much fun to see how everyone makes their pizzas.

    I bet mine would taste just a little better if I had someone else making it for me! LOL.

  2. amymckie says:

    That looks incredible! And pineapple on pizza is my absolute favorite. Most people think I’m crazy so I like seeing others who agree :D

  3. bermudaonion says:

    That looks delicious – I bet it was a lot better than frozen pizza. I’m like you – I love it all.

  4. Marie says:

    Looks delicious! I’m not fond of the frozen stuff so it’s either take out or we make our own. We much prefer our own, but sometimes we are too lazy to make it. Both my husband and I love “the works” on our pizza.

    You also could try:
    roasted red peppers
    mushrooms
    artichoke hearts
    asparagus
    or different cheeses (we like parmesan, cheddar, feta or a combination)

    I also make my own tomato sauce, which contains tons of other veggies. We put on a thick layer of that first. Yum.

    • leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the suggestions! Most of these would go only on my quarter of the pizza, regrettably, but that wouldn’t stop me from using them!

      Making your own tomato sauce: but that’s a lot of work! The point is that this pizza is NOT a lot of work! :-) Or do you make it then use it for the rest of the week here & there?

      • Marie says:

        I make a large batch and freeze it in small containers. It’s an all purpose sauce so I use it in other dishes too.

      • leeswammes says:

        Yes, that is a good idea. Have you got a recipe for that? Next weekend’s Weekend Cooking maybe? “-)

      • Marie says:

        I use Alton Brown’s Pantry Friendly Tomato Sauce.
        Here’s the link: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/pantry-friendly-tomato-sauce-recipe/index.html

        I usually use a bell pepper instead of celery, chicken/veggie stock in place of white wine and white vinegar in place of the sherry vinegar. I usually don’t worry too much about removing all of the seeds from the tomatoes. They don’t bother me. I also found that the capers are optional and only add them when I have them on hand. The 1 tsp of red pepper flakes makes it quite spicy. Use less or none at all if hot is not your thing.

        I started making it in a single batch, but found that we liked it so much I needed to make more. So now I’m up to 4X this recipe. I’d start with a single batch, though, until you know you like it.

        Enjoy!

      • leeswammes says:

        Thanks very much Marie! I wasn’t sure about the wine or the celery when I checked the recipe, so I read the rest of your comment and you answered my problems with it! How essential is the vinegar? My husband won’t touch anything that tastes vinegar-y. I know. Sigh.

        Oh, I have no pan that you can put in the oven, either. Well, I’m quite good at using recipes as I see fit. :-)

      • Marie says:

        The sauce is quite tangy, but doesn’t taste like vinegar. It’s really a small amount compared to the juice you get from the canned tomatoes. I suppose you could leave it out.

        I’m not sure how to get around the “no pan” thing. The roasted veggies really deepen the taste of the sauce.

        If you make it, I hope you like it. It sounds like you’ve got your hands full with catering to lots of different tastes in your family.

      • leeswammes says:

        Thanks Marie. Yes, you’re right, we have different tastes in the family. Really, there are 2 teams, Son2 and my husband don’t eat much that’s “different” while Son1 and me eat just about everything. :-)

  5. Tes says:

    Wow it looks so yummy! We made vegetarian pizza sometimes with mushroom, asparagus and cheese.

  6. I have never made my own pizza. I should try some on the grill.
    But I do draw the line at pineapple.
    I will save mine for dessert. ;-)

  7. Heather says:

    Oooo your pizza looks yummy!! I’m surprised that I love pineapple on my pizza, but I do. I love cooked pineapple! I can’t wait for my kids to be able to make me supper too!

    • leeswammes says:

      Heather, another pineapple-on-pizza lover! :-) It’s nice when the kids can make dinner and when they actually like to do it. My sons love their computer games but when I ask if they want to help with cooking something special, they’re always ready to cook, straight away.

  8. Jane says:

    Looks great and what fantastic ‘mise en plus’ ususally we think of gettng everything ready for stir fry but this is a good reminder. we need it all the time. how fun to be cooking with your boys.

    • leeswammes says:

      Jane, I find it works much better if you have everything ready first. I don’t do it always, but with pizza and stir fry, it’s very handy.

  9. Carin B. says:

    Oh that looks so good!

    My two favorite toppings of all time (vegetarian or not) are mushrooms and black olives. I just love them! Mushrooms are quite possibly the greatest thing ever!

  10. Iris says:

    I am definitely a fan of pineapple on pizza (I even put banana on pizza). As for other toppings, I would use artichoke hearts, a little pesto maybe?, tomatoes, green asparages (but they’re expensive!) and um.. I might think of more along the way. I can’t give you cheese suggestions. I am not particularly fond of cheese.

    • leeswammes says:

      Pesto sounds nice, too, Iris. I was considering this but NumberOneSon said “no” (although he likes pesto). Artichoke is nice and asparagus too! Tomatoes is something we sometimes add but not this time. Sometimes our pizza is so heavily loaded that half of the topping falls off when I try to cut it!

  11. Oh, making pizza is a lot of fun, isn’t it? We usually have asparagus, halloumi, red onion, mozzarella, mushroom, artichoke hearts and spinach or rocket. When we get takeaway pizza my favourite has grated potato and egg on it but I’ve never tried that at home.

    • leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the suggestions. I’ve never heard of grated potato on pizza. I wonder how that works. I’ve had spinach and egg in Pizza Express (pizza chain in UK, as you know), which is nice.

  12. I LOVE pineapple on my pizza – everyone thinks I’m weird until they try it…yum

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,379 other followers

