The Princess Bride Read-A-Long Week 3

 

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

October is the month of the Princess Bride Read-A-Long! Chris from Chrisbookarama is hosting this event. I’ve neither read the book before nor seen the movie so it’s all new for me.

This week we read: Part 6.

What I thought:

This was a bit of a sad part of the book. Princess Buttercup is having nightmares after forsaking Westley, the love of her life. She’s having second thoughts and wants to send a message to Westley, who she assumes is at sea. But King (by now) Humperdinck is keeping Westley in the dungeons and tortuThe Princess Bride by William Goldmanres him every night, just for fun.

Our hero Inigo has deteriorated into a drunk while Fezzik is unsure where to find him and Vinzini. He is the hero of this part of the book, for finding Inigo and getting him back to a non-drunk state.

I liked this part but it wasn’t as much fun as the previous part where Westley fights with the three champions and wins. I found the interruptions by the writer a bit annoying, except the bit where he explains how he thought Humperdinck and Buttercup were really married and his father wouldn’t read the next bit.

I keep thinking I should watch the movie but fear it will be hopelessly old-fashioned.

10 Responses to The Princess Bride Read-A-Long Week 3

  1. rikkiscraps says:

    I agree, that interruption about the wedding having taken place or not was nice.

    Actually the film is extremely entertaining, I loved all the cast and there is not so much interrupting that goes on forever. Condensed in a good way.

  2. The movie is excellent. You must watch it!

  3. raidergirl3 says:

    The movie is fabulous.

  4. nymfaux says:

    I’m loving your reviews–I’m thinking about reading the book–but I want to wait until you finish first! ;)

    As for the movie, you don’t have to worry about it being old fashioned–but I think it would be weird for you to read it half-way into the book–definitely see it once you’re done reading the book!!!!

    • leeswammes says:

      I was thinking that, Nymfaux. Watching Princess Bride while I’m half-way through the book doesn’t seem right. I might as well read the whole book while knowing nothing of how it all ends.

  5. Kris says:

    I say finish the book and then watch the movie. The movie is so much fun and worth watching.

  6. Pingback: Friday Blog Hop « Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,126 other followers

