The Princess Bride Read-A-Long Week 5

 

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

October is the month of the Princess Bride Read-A-Long! Chris from Chrisbookarama is hosting this event. I’ve neither read the book before nor seen the movie so it’s all new for me.

This week we read: Buttercup’s Baby.

Buttercup’s Baby is a chapter added to the book at a later stage. It’s missing in earlier prints of the book.

However, I could have done without it! It was not very interesting and if I’m being honest (which I try to be in all non-perilous situations), I skimmed some of it. It was boring, it was jumping from one thing to the next, and it didn’t add anything to the book for me.

The worst was: even more interruptions by the author! I didn’t like the interruptions at all. They were present through-out the book, and while I liked the idea as such, I didn’t like the repeated interruptions with all kinds of nonsensical information.

A great disappointment!

Did you read this book? Do you agree?

12 Responses to The Princess Bride Read-A-Long Week 5

  1. rikkiscraps says:

    I have to admit that I haven’t even read part 4, let alone part 5. For some reason last time I read the book Buttercup didn’t get on my nerves that much and I enjoyed it more.

    • leeswammes says:

      Oh, you didn’t persist with the book? I felt socially compelled to keep reading as so many people say they liked the book/movie so much. :-)

      • rikkiscraps says:

        Oh, Judith, social compulsion and peer pressure is a terrible thing. I never give in to it. You were right to start reading it, but when it turned out to be not your thing, you should have put it away.
        I did. Maybe you have to be in a certain frame of mind to read and like it and I am not ready for it. I don’t know.
        Anyway, kudos to you for finishing it. You’re a good sport.

        The movie is a different thing. I really love the movie.

  2. Marg says:

    There were times that the author interuptions annoyed me, but there were other times that I thought they were funny. I am sure what the point of the extra chapter was, although I have to say that I loved the part about Inigo. The rest was too back and forward in time and place for me.

    I did think the Stephen King cameo was very funny though.

    And now I don’t really need to write my own wrap up post, because I have pretty much covered it here!

    • leeswammes says:

      At first, I did like the author interruptions, Marg, but I got bored with it. I wanted to read a story, not all tthis author-business. Although there were some clever things in the interruptions, too.

  3. Jenna says:

    I really do love the book and the movie. However, I hated the Buttercup’s Baby. If wasn’t at all necessary or funny, like the rest if the brilliant chapter were. I did skim read some of his comments, but I felt they added, mostly, to the tone if the book. But I am greatly biased :)
    if you can, I would read it all…worth the interruptions in my opinion!

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « Leeswammes' Blog

  5. Tes says:

    I’ve watched the princess bride the movie but never read the book… I am thinking of reading this soon when I find more time :)

  6. Kris says:

    I personally haven’t read Buttercup’s Baby and it doesn’t seem like I will now.

    So sorry to hear you were disappointed with the book though! I love the book and movie and always find it sad when I’ve told somebody how much I like a book/movie and then they don’t end up liking it. Oh well..at least you tried right?

    • leeswammes says:

      That’s right, Kris, I tried, and it was an experience, so I don’t mind having read it. Now I want to know if the movie IS actually much better than the book – it just has to be!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,306 other followers

