Green Books Campaign: Bodies and Language

This review is part of the Green Books campaign.Today 200 bloggers take a stand to support books printed in an eco-friendly manner by simultaneously publishing reviews of 200 books printed on recycled or FSC-certified paper. By turning a spotlight on books printed using eco-friendly paper, we hope to raise the awareness of book buyers and encourage everyone to take the environment into consideration when purchasing books.

The campaign is organized for the second time by Eco-Libris, a green company working to make reading more sustainable. We invite you to join the discussion on “green” books and support books printed in an eco-friendly manner! A full list of participating blogs and links to their reviews is available on Eco-Libris’ website.


Bodies and Language by Vaidehi Ramanathan

I have noticed that certain books I buy are printed on FSC paper, but I haven’t really made a point of choosing a book especially for its more environmental-friendly qualities. Why not? It’s a great idea!

I often wander around the book store making a choice between this book and that (usually between several books), and if I can’t decide, I might as well take the book(s) that are printed on recycled FSC paper!

This campaign has certainly made me think about this more, and I hope you will also consider the environment when buying a book.

As a run-of-the-mill book blogger, I have way too many books at home. There are book case upon book case full of books (and overflowing). Knowing that I’m buying environmentally-friendly books will certainly make me feel less guilty about the number of books I own!

The book I chose to review for this campaign is Bodies and Language by Vaidehi Ramanathan (Channel View Publications/ Multilingual Matters). With a PhD in psycholinguistics and as a mother of two bilingual sons, I am very interested in all aspects of language and language usage.

Unfortunately, I can’t review the book yet, as it has not arrived. It was sent from the UK about 2.5 weeks ago and considering that The Netherlands (where I live) is a next-door country, that should be sufficient time for transport and delivery. But unfortunately: no book yet!

When I do receive the book, I will of course review it, but for now, I can but give you the summary of the publisher‘s:

This book critically addresses the role of language in our collective construction of ‘normal’ bodies. Addressing a range of concerns linked with visible and invisible, chronic and terminal conditions, the volume probes issues in and around patient and caregiver accounts.

Focussing on body conditions associated with breast cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, (type-1) diabetes, epilepsy, partial hearing and autism, the book draws on a range of critical theories to contest collectively assembled notions of ‘abnormality,’ ‘disability’ and ‘impairments.’

It also addresses the need for applied sociolinguists to take account of how our researching practices – the texts we produce, the orientations we assume, the theoretical grounds from which we proceed– create ‘meanings’ about bodies and ‘normalcy,’ and the importance of remaining ever vigilant and civically responsible in what we do or claim to do.

This book is written for Postgraduates and professionals in Sociolinguistics, but the topic is quite general and interesting for a wide range of people outside the direct professional area. I’m looking forward to learn how the use of certain terms may influence how we think of patients, their bodies and their illnesses.

Bodies and Language is printed on environmental-friendly paper! Check out other blogs in the Green Books Campaign HERE. There is a wide variety of subjects, such as Food, Family, Health, Sports and Social issues. Be part of the campaign and think about the paper your book is written on.

Please leave a comment and tell me whether you think it’s important to choose environmentally-friendly books.

17 Responses to Green Books Campaign: Bodies and Language

  1. amymckie says:

    Sounds like an interesting book! I hope it arrives soon so that you can actually read it :)

  2. sagustocox says:

    Sorry to hear the book hasn’t arrived yet, but it sounds like a good one. I hope you’ll review it once it arrives. I love knowing that the books I select have “green” properties.

    • leeswammes says:

      I will definitely review the book, sagustocox! I found it very difficult to say much about it today because I’m not too sure what to expect. But I do think it’s an interesting topic.

  3. Carin B. says:

    This does sound like an interesting subject. I’m looking forward to your review on it. I think it’s cool that you found a book that you are well-versed in. I am with Amy! I hope it comes soon so you can read it and review it!

    • leeswammes says:

      Well-versed, not quite, Carin. Psycholinguistics (me) and sociolingistics (the book) don’t touch upon each other too much. But I’m used to academic writings and I like the topic, so I’m sure it will be interesting.

  4. This sounds like a fascinating book, although it might be too academic for me. I’m a translator, so I’m definitely interested in language and how it influences how we think. Hope you get the book soon!

    Oh and I agree, this campaign has definitely gotten me thinking about how “green” the books I own are and will (hopefully) influence my future book-buying. Like you, I own way too many books…

    • leeswammes says:

      Avisanneschild, thanks for your comment. I’m wondering how much this book will be directed towards the sociolinguistic community of academics, but I hope to be able to at least get the main gits from it.

  5. Cass says:

    I think the WAY we talk about identities is important to the way we FEEL about them, so I’m really interested in the thesis of this book. I’ll have to check it out. I look forward to your review…hope you get the book soon!

    • leeswammes says:

      I also think the way we talk about these issues influences the way we (or others) feel about it. It’s good to be aware of this so it will be interesting to read about it.

  6. This sounds totally fascinating, hope it arrives soon and you can read it! And the post in the UK can be very slow, even parcels sent to somewhere else in the UK…

    • leeswammes says:

      Thanks Crafty Green Poet. Yes, I’ve noticed that post from the UK can be very slow. It’s not like I live at the other end of the world, but actually, a book sent to me from South Africa around the same time took less than 2 weeks to arrive. The book from the UK has now been under way for almost 3 weeks. Very strange.

  7. If you’re interested in this book and would like to buy it at 50% discount please go to our special discount page: http://www.multilingual-matters.com/members.asp?cid=mmau. Then search for the book using the buttons on the left.

  8. What a bummer that the book hasn’t arrived yet :( I do look forward to reading your review once you have had a chance to read the book. Being a writer, the subject of language is of high interest to me as well :)

  9. Kris says:

    I love the idea behind the Green Book Campaign..hopefully more publishers will start looking into eco-friendly ways.

  10. Kelly says:

    Aww that sucks that you didn’t get the book in time! But it looks realllyyyy interesting, and I can’t wait for you to get it, read it, and review it :)

  11. Wow, sounds interesting! I hope you like it when the book finally gets to you :)

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,305 other followers

