Book Blogger Holiday Card Exchange

Yesterday and the day before the postwoman surprised me with Christmas cards from the Book Bloggers Holiday Exchange.

Card from Trish

From Trish at Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity in the USA I got a lovely card (with a beautiful rhyme around the sides) and bookmark.

Card and bookmark from Trish

Trish had some good suggestions for me for new books and writers. Because I like Murakami, she suggested The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Now, she didn’t know that, but these two books are really great favorites of mine. I won’t read them again very soon, but I will subscribe to her blog instead (for making such good book choices).

Other books she suggested were The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, which I definitely want to read, and Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie. For some reason I have this antipathy against the poor man, but maybe this is the time to try and read something by him.

The bookmark Trish sent is a corner bookmark, very pretty, and it was made by her sister:

Corner bookmark from Trish

Thanks very much, Trish!

Card from Shelleyrae

Shelleyrea from book’d out in Australia also sent some lovely things. As it turns out she’s quite a creative person and made some bookplates and book marks!

Cards and goodies from Shelleyrae

I love that Australian card with a kangaroo and two koala bears! Shelleyrae suggested some dystopian fiction (which I love). These were books that I didn’t know yet: The Obernewtyn Chonicles by Isobelle Carmody (an Australian author) and Ecotopia by Ernest Callenbach. I will check these out.

The book plates were personalized and have a cookery theme because Shelleyrae had read on my blog that I like to cook.

Book plates from Shelleyrae

The book marks also had a cooking theme (a stove and a pie in the window):

Bookmarks from Shelleyrae

(notice also all the Merry Christmas confetti!)

Shelleyrae has some different but equally lovely bookplates and a bookmark on her blog that you can download.

Thanks, Shelleyrae, for these lovely goodies.

11 Responses to Book Blogger Holiday Card Exchange

  1. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    You are welcome – i hope you find use for them. Happy Holidays!

    Shelleyrae

  2. What lovely gifts!

    The God of Small Things is a great book too, Judith – long time since I read it but I do remember enjoying.

  3. Tea says:

    Beautiful Christmas cards, each one is unique.

  4. Cindy says:

    Lovely, lucky you!

  5. Trish says:

    Glad you got the card and bookmark ok! So fun to send these across the world (and to receive them as well). Sorry to have suggested books you’ve already read but glad to suggest a few you haven’t. ;) The God of Small Things is a really beautiful book–tough to get into–but really worth it.

    And love book plates that Shelleyrea created! What a creative idea!!

    • leeswammes says:

      Trish, I thought it was brilliant of you to suggest those books. Somehow you’d figured out just what I like. And yes, there were a few that I don’t know yet, so even better!

      Thanks again for the card & bookmark – very nice.

  6. Esme says:

    What lovely gifts-I love bookmarks and collect them from everywhere I go.

    • leeswammes says:

      I love them too, Esme. I’ve got quite a pile of bookmarks now and I alternate them quite a lot. With every new book I start, I think: which bookmark this time? :-)

  7. Erin says:

    Those are both beautiful, unique cards & goodies! I loved the card swap this year, how creative everyone has been and how nice it is to get old-fashioned mail :-)

  8. Howard says:

    This might be the best Book Blogger Hop question I’ve seen to date.

    So what’s the answer? Plot! Hop over to my blog and let me tell you how a good plot rescued bad characters from bad book oblivion.

    Howard Sherman

    http://www.howardsherman.net

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,357 other followers

