Weekend Cooking: Soy Sauce Eggs

Weekend Cooking

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, fabulous quotations, photographs. It is hosted by Beth Fish Reads.

When Tes posted her recipe for Soy Sauce Eggs last week, I was immediately interested in preparing them myself. I waited a few days, though, to fit them into the weekly menu.

Eggs in the Pan

The full recipe you can read on Tes’ blog.

You can use these eggs as a replacement for meat and eat them with rice and vegetables. There was enough liquid to serve as a sauce for the rice.

What I liked about the recipe, besides cooking with eggs, was that it uses Chines five spices powder. I had bought some a while ago, for a recipe that I ended up not making, so this was my chance to use it. I didn’t realise how delicious it would smell! It’s sweet and has a really pleasant smell. Nothing like other spices.

The recipe uses hard-boiled eggs, ginger, garlic, the five spices powder, soy sauce, sugar, and chicken stock (I used vegetable stock).

Just let it simmer all for a while and you get a delicious egg/sauce combination. We ate this with pandan rice (a slightly sticky rice) and green beans.

We really enjoyed this and, unlike some other recipes we tried out recently, this one is “to be repeated”, according to my sons.

Eggs on the Plate

What new recipe did you try recently? Was it a great success?


Whip Up Something New Challenge

28 Responses to Weekend Cooking: Soy Sauce Eggs

  1. Tes says:

    I’m glad you like this :) It really makes my day to know that your family really like this, too :)

  2. Beth F says:

    I love the smell (and taste) of 5-spice powder and use it often in stir-fry type dishes.

    These eggs with the rice and vegetable look great for a weekday dinner.

  3. Margot says:

    What a creative use of eggs. It sounds delicious. I also read Tes’ post and the comments and feel confident I can try this dish. Very clear directions. The chickens are laying more eggs now so a new use for eggs will come in handy.

  4. Cindy says:

    I was also taken with Tes’s recipe for these and look forward to making them in my own kitchen. Glad you enjoyed them.

  5. Uniflame says:

    This sounds great!! I do think this would be bento material too ^^ I just have to try this :)

  6. Looks delicious, love the color it turns! I will definitely have to try this, such great flavors! Funny, I found I had a new bottle of 5-spice in the cabinet for something, but don’t remember what recipe it was for, this is perfect timing!

  7. Ellie says:

    Never heard of such a thing, but would be willing to give them a try!

    You can visit my Weekend Cooking here

  8. TheBookGirl says:

    I am not familar with 5-spice powder, but you have piqued my interest; next time I’m in the market, I am going to look for it. I love eggs, and am always glad to find a new way to use them for dinner :)

  9. Chinoiseries says:

    Glad to see you enjoyed them :) Mmm, I have to make them sometime soon, have a craving for these eggs now! What’s next? The tea eggs I mentioned last? :) :)

  10. Yummy — I’m running (virtually) over to Tes’ blog to get the recipe!

  11. What an unusual way to serve eggs! I like how pretty everything looks on the plate.

  12. pburt says:

    So making those eggs for the kid – thanks for a great recipe.

  13. Elise says:

    What an interesting recipe/idea! I haven’t ever thought of cooking whole eggs like this, or in any sauce.

  14. Heather says:

    somehow I managed to miss that post last week. I love Chinese 5 spice powder. I am heading over there right now. Thanks.

  15. Pingback: Tomagoyaki « From Scratch

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,301 other followers

