Friday Blog Hop

http://www.crazy-for-books.com/Every Friday, join the Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Jennifer (Crazy-For-Books), and hop to some new blogs. The Book Blogger Hop gives book bloggers a chance to connect and find out what others are reading. Sign up at Jennifer’s blog so people can find your blog too.

Jennifer asks: If you could physically put yourself into a book or series…which one would it be and why?

My answer: It’s hard to say! Some of my favorite books are dystopian (life after a big catastrophe or during a repressive government) and I don’t think I would actually want to be present!

I love books about friendship so I could happily meet up with the characters from Adriana Trigiani’s Big Stone Gap series or the women of The Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux.

About me: I’m Judith and I read a variety of genres. My favorite genres are contemporary fiction, literary fiction, mysteries, chick-lit but really I read anything that comes my way.

Every week, I’m hosting the Back of the Book competition, in which you have to guess which book is depicted – but you only get to see the back cover! You can join in at any time and there are prized to be won. Click here to join in.

Check out my review of Hear the Wind Sing by Haruki Murakami.

You may also like my review of The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill.

***

Enter my giveaway:

The Secret Diary of Alice in Wonderland,

Age 42 and Three-Quarters by Barbara Silkstone!

***

Have a great weekend! If you’ve hopped here because of the Friday hop, do leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

19 Responses to Friday Blog Hop

  1. Cindy says:

    Have a great weekend, I’m reading No Reservations by Anthony Bourdain, in between my editing work.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hi Cindy, so at least you’re back at reading, that’s good. Last time you had no time at all for books. Good luck with the editing and have a really good weekend.

  2. Mystica says:

    I chose a more sedate book – Pride and Prejudice!

  3. shah wharton says:

    Thanks for stopping by wordsinsync to say hi – returning the ‘Happy Reading Week’ and smiles. Shah .X

  4. Kristi Stern says:

    Hi Judith! Thanks for stopping by to see me!

    I haven’t been able to do the hops. I have a rare disease that flared up & really bad the last 6 weeks so I could barely get a review out or do the hops, which really bummed me out. Being sick Sucks! Now I can form a complete sentence! Sorry so long! Personal but didn’t want anyone to think I didn’t care! Nice to meet you & I’ll be back for Back of The Book! Take Care!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hi Kristi, sorry to hear you have been so ill. Hope you’ll be OK for a long time now. Do join in for the Back of the Book competition, it’s great fun!

  5. Sharon says:

    Like you, I’d love to live in Big Stone Gap too! Love Adriana’s books!

  6. KW says:

    Some of my favorite books are also dystopian! I don’t think I would like living in Hunger Games, Maze Runner, or Matched though :)

  7. Kathy says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Happy Weekend and I hope you have a great book to read.

  8. Apologies in advance for my answer this week as it will not immediately resonate with the book blogger population which happens to be 99.5% female.

    My choice is a book series geared towards guys which won’t enthrall the vast majority of my fellow book bloggers (who are almost entirely female) with the extensive discussion of powerful weapons and sexy milspec gear, beautiful women, eye-popping action sequences (with occasionally obscene violence), and the like.

    But there IS something in my answer that just about everyone of the female persuasion can benefit from my decidedly “books for guys” post. Hop on over to http://www.howardsherman.net to find out what it is.

    Happy Hop Friday!

    Howard Sherman
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  9. I have a copy of Summer of the Bear – reviewing it in June. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts. I hope it’s good!

    I can’t think of a book I want to be dropped in to… probably something sweeping and set in Africa.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, *Summer of the Bear* was quite good (I finished really fast). Easy read, but it’s more a portrait of a grieving family than a really compelling story. I will review now but put it on my blog nearer the publishing date. My e-book copy was only valid for 55 days so I decided to read it straight away – before I forgot.

      Have you read anything else by this author? I wanted to read *Hunting Unicorns* but couldn’t get a library copy.

  10. Leslie says:

    I keep reading about how many people enjoyed The Summerhouse and while I have a copy on my shelf I still haven’t read it. Maybe it’s time to move that up on my list.

    I like dystopian books too… but I don’t think I’d want to live there either.

  11. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    HI Judith
    Just hopping by and following through. I don’t think I would like to find myself in the middle of a dystopian world either

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,307 other followers

