New Arrivals!

I pretend to be on top of this, and not let too many new books in my house. Not more than I can read, at least. And I fail. Boy, do I fail. I definitely read the ARCs and the library books in good time, but I also get other really nice books that I would like to read sometime soon!

No more complaining, secretly I love getting my hands on all these great books, of course. Look what I got in the last 2 weeks:

For review

A Hard Death by Jonathan HayesNeverisms by Dr. Mardy GrotheThe White Devil by Justin Evans

A Hard Death by Jonathan Hayes (ARC Harper). “Brilliant forensic pathologist Edward Jenner returns in this explosive sequel to Precious Blood—an edgy, electrifying thriller set in a small-town coastal community where nothing is as it seems.”

Neverisms: A Quotation Love’s Guide to Things You Should Never Do, Never Say, or Never Forget by Dr. Mardy Grothe (ARC Harper). “Quotation anthologist Dr. Mardy Grothe has coined the term “neverisms” for emphatic warnings about things people should never do. Neverisms are among history’s most fascinating quotations, and Grothe has assembled nearly 2,000 of them, organizing them into eighteen chapters on such topics as sex, marriage, sports, politics, business, stage & screen, and the literary life.” Non-fiction.

The White Devil by Justin Evans (Harper for review). “From the celebrated author of A Good and Happy Child comes the scariest gothic thriller of the year—for fans of The Shining and Heart-Shaped Box“.

The Summer of the Bear by Bella PollenMalled by Caitlin KellyEen vrouw van glas / The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards

The Summer of the Bear by Bella Pollen (Galley from NetGalley – ebook). “With her fifth novel, critically acclaimed writer and journalist Bella Pollen takes readers into the private dynamics of a family grappling with the loss of the father and husband in Scotland’s Outer Hebrides, where between the elemental beauty and utter bleakness of the islands, strange forces are at play.”

Malled by Caitlin Kelly (from Portfolio/Penguin). “One woman’s midcareer misadventures in the absurd world of American retail.” Non-fiction.

The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards (Dutch: Een vrouw van glas, ARC from Arbeiderspers). “A woman’s homecoming, a family secret and an old house that holds the key to a shocking legacy…”. I entered a giveaway for this book. What I got was two ARCs (of the same book). Is it for review?

Won in a giveaway / Bookmooch / Library

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel SparkReturn to Summerhouse by Jude DeverauxTwijfels over Belgie / Doubts About Belgium by Petra Kruijt

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark. I won this from Little Interpretations as part of her World Book Night giveaway. “Romantic, heroic, comic and tragic, unconventional schoolmistress Jean Brodie has become an iconic figure in post-war fiction. Her glamour, freethinking ideas and manipulative charm hold dangerous sway over her girls at the Marcia Blaine Academy – the ‘crème de la crème’ – who become the Brodie Set, introduced to a privileged world of adult games that they will never forget.”

Return to Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux (Bookmooch). “Magic most definitely resides in the Maine summerhouse where the mysterious Madame Zoya has granted the innermost wishes of its visitors. Now, three women have come to this special place with one thing in common: a painful past they would each like to rewrite.”

Twijfels over België (Dutch: Doubts about Belgium) by Petra Kruijt (library). I was supposed to get this book for review, but I never did. When I saw it in the library, I thought it might be ideal for the read-a-thon this Saturday. “The contract of magazine journalist Stella will not be renewed. Instead, she can get a job as a newspaper columnist in Belgium.”

What new books did you get recently? Anything that I should also get? (!)


24 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Chinoiseries says:

    I think Neverisms is a book I’d like, very curious what we should not do :)
    Have seen a lot of people queueing or reading The Summer Bear, and that cover art is simply gorgeous!
    I can’t really imagine what Malled is about, will have to wait for your review then ;)
    Haven’t heard of the author Kim Edwards before, is this the first time you’re reading a book written by her?
    (I’m reading another book by Jan van Mersbergen at the moment, and unfortunately, I have to conclude I do not like his writing style)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Pity you don’t like Mersbergen! I haven’t read his work, but since he is a Dutch author, it would have been nice if you could say: here’s a Dutch author I really like!

      Neverisms is more like a dip in dip out book. Read bits here and there. Malled is about someone who loses her job and ends up working in retail, then finds out what a shambles it is. Kim Edwards is from The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. Does that ring a bell? I’ve read that, although I don’t remember it too well. A good book, I tihnk it was.

  2. Cindy says:

    The Muriel Spark book is a classic, I hope you enjoy it. Neverisms looks very interesting!

  3. Nice haul. I have The Summer of the Bear too but haven’t read it yet – will be interested to see your review.

  4. Lian says:

    That’s quite a lot of books you’ve got! I would freak if I had this much on my to do list but then again, I don’t have all day to read books like you do (if I’m not mistaken). I’m jealous!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, Lian. I hear this so often! People think just because I don’t work I spend all my days reading. In fact, when I worked I read more than now (because of commuting in the train – with books). Yesterday I read 30 pages. Today, I’m making an effort and spent 30 minutes reading at coffee time.

      But I do read fast, so 3-4 books per week is fine. I would not be able to read those 9 books in two weeks, although it was what I got in the last 2 weeks. So, too many!

      • Lian says:

        I’m sorry, I wasn’t implying that since you don’t work you don’t have anything to do all day and can read all you want. I thought I remembered you saying once you did read all day. Guess I was wrong. I’m impressed by the reading you get done in so little time though!

      • Leeswammes says:

        No worries, Lian. It’s just some people seem to think I read all day. I do read at breakfast (newspaper), lunch (book), dinner (book), travelling, afternoon (for a bit), when the telly is on (a lot), in bed (some more). All the time, then, when I’m not doing other things. :-)

        I do read quite fast, so I get a lot read. I’m an impatient reader, so I’m not so good with literary works that need to be read slowly. I do try, sometimes, though.

  5. Mystica says:

    I like both your wins!

  6. Young1 says:

    Malled – i have seen that cover somewhere before – maybe as an upcoming book – it looks like a good read. I look forward to your review :D

    • Leeswammes says:

      Young1, Malled is out next week, so you’re right. I think it could be a really nice book. I’m planning to read it during the read-a-thon on Saturday.

  7. Uniflame says:

    I have the summer of the bear too :) I don’t know yet when I will be reading it. Since my last new arrival post, 2 more books have entered my house and tomorrow 1 more will be coming from the library for the autism awareness challenge. I am swamped in books ;)

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think most of us, as soon as we become book bloggers, we just have too many books all the time. Swamped is the word! That’s why a read-a-thon can help. a little.

  8. Alyce says:

    I’m curious to see what you think of Return to Summerhouse. I read the first book and really liked it, but am hesitant to pick up the sequel because I don’t want it to color my appreciation of the first one.

  9. Trisha says:

    You always seem to get such interesting and unique reads. Great list!

  10. Suzanne says:

    Neverisms sounds interesting, I’ll have to check that one out.
    Believe it or not I haven’t had any new books come into the house for the last 10 days (a record for me!)

  11. Rikki says:

    Congrats on the bookmooch book, especially since you liked the first summerhouse book so much.

    The neverisms book sounds very interesting. I love quotations.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,323 other followers

