Book Blogger Events in September and October

There are some great events happening in September and October in Book Blogging World.

There is a new Literary Giveaway Blog Hop, the Book Bloggers Appreciation Week, the 24 Hour Read-a-Thon, and the Indie Lit Awards. Don’t miss them!

Literary Giveaway Blog Hop – October 15-19

Literary Giveaway Blog Hop

Do forgive me for mentioning my own event first. It’s not the first event to happen!

Yesss!  Another Literary Giveaway Blog Hop! It takes place from Saturday October 15th to Wednesday, October 19th.

If you were around in February or June, you know exactly what this is: a blog hop for people interested in books that have a certain literary merit.

There are a lot of Giveaway Blog Hops around but most seem to be directed towards young adult and romance audiences. For people that like to give away (or win) books that are more literary, the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop was created.

The last two Literary Giveaway Blog Hops had 30 and 70 participants (people giving away books), respectively. If you’d like to participate and give away a book or book related item, keep an eye on my blog, the “official” announcement where you can sign up, will be posted in a week or so.

Book Bloggers Appreciation Week – September 12-16

BBAW2011

The Book Blogger Appreciation Week is only 8 days away! It’s a great celebration in the book blogging community. There are awards for best book blog in different genres (and you can still vote for best meme, best feature and some other categories – look HERE and click on your BBAW account in the first sentence).

There will also be daily themes that you can discuss on your blog if you want to, interviews with fellow book bloggers, giveaways, and much more. So keep an eye on the BBAW blog: HERE.

Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon – October 22-23

Dewey's 24-hour Read-A-Thon, Oct 9th

Happening twice a year, the 24 Hour Read-a-thon is a big event in which many book bloggers (and other readers) like to join in. There are hourly challenges in which prizes can be won, there are cheerleaders to cheer the readers on, and it’s just a great excuse to read as much as you can in one 24 hour period.

Now, some people actually try to fill the full 24 hours without sleeping, cooking, or getting out of the house. Others take it more easy and will make sure they don’t miss out on their beauty sleep. In any case, it’s a great community event! Have a look HERE.

Independent Literary Awards – Nominations for 2011 now open

IndieLitAwards

Nominations for the Indie Lit Awards are now open! You can vote which book published in 2011 is the best book in one of these genres:

  • Biography/ Memoir
  • GLBTQ
  • Lit Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Non-Fiction
  • Poetry
  • Speculative Fiction
You can nominate up to 5 books in each genre. Check out the FAQ for more information. Do nominate your favorite books of 2011 – this award is about what we think are good books, us, the independent readers that are not connected to the publishing industry!
Which of these events are you planning to “attend”?
24 Responses to Book Blogger Events in September and October

  1. Rikki says:

    Another Literary Blog Hop giveaway? How fun!
    Another event that is going to be interesting is the Banned books week hop in September.

  2. parrish says:

    Thanks for this, It’s a great source of info, & another giveaway, brilliant.

  3. Definitely attending the Literary Blog Hop – I had a blast last time! I’d love to try the 24 hour read-a-thon but I have a suspicion that I’m working that weekend :(

  4. Louise says:

    I do love to read about all the challenges and hops that you do, it sounds a lot of fun, I especially like the RIP challenge that you’ve signed up to, it’s hard to participate sometimes, when I don’t have a blog. I don’t think I have the time to blog like you do, but I think I should create some kind of blog where I can become more involved in these challenges and hops. I have won two giveaways and I’t would be nice to give something back :-)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Louise, I really love it how you take part in a lot of things even without your own blog. It sometimes seems it’s just bloggers that comment on each other’s posts and it’s so nice to see that “normal” people also take part. You could start a small blog (wordpress or blogger) just for doing these things?

  5. I’ll be signing up for the blog hop again – always a lot of fun.

    I hope to do Dewey’s readathon again too :)

  6. tanabata says:

    Oh you’ve set dates for another literary blog hop. Great! I’ll have to put together a few more books to give away.

    I don’t think I’ll be able to do the Read-a-thon this time round either, which means I’ll have missed both of them this year. But this time is for a nice reason. A friend will hopefully be coming to visit then! :)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nat, I always seem to have a pile of books for giveaways and I have a few already that would suit the Lit blog hop. Isn’t it fun? I’m always looking forward to them.

      Having a friend over is so much more exciting that a read-a-thon!

  7. Lucybird says:

    Oooh I’m happy to see you’re doing another Literary Blog Hop Giveaway, I really enjoyed the last one.

    I’m taking part in BBAW too, first time.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m sure you’ll love BBAW, Lucy. And the Lit Blog Hop – glad you enjoyed it – hope you’re participating again!

      • Lucybird says:

        I certainly will be…I seem to be getting a little addicted to givaways! Your last hop was my first and I’ve hosted 2 more since then (1 at the moment actually)

      • Leeswammes says:

        Nice to read that you love giveaways, Lucy! It’s been too long, I don’t even think I can wait until October!

  8. Corri says:

    I’m giving it a miss this time, as far as giving away is concerned: I am just too taken up with work the next few months. However, I will enjoy following you and co-bloggers giving away your redundant books. Great stuff!

  9. I’m so looking forward to the Literary Blog Hop — thanks for hosting it again!

  10. winstonsdad says:

    A great round up shall be bbaw not sure about others at moment all the best stu

  11. JP says:

    Thanks for the list! I’m super excited about another Literary Giveaway Blog Hop! You can count me in again already ;)

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,305 other followers

