The 24h Read-a-Thon Is Almost There!


Dewey's 24-hour Read-A-Thon, Oct 22nd

It’s almost time for the 24h read-a-thon! I can’t wait!

It’s happening this Saturday and lasts for 24 hours. Everyone starts at the same time, so for some the starting time is in the middle of the night, for me, in the Netherlands, it’s 2pm.

Books

I’m getting my books ready but keep changing my mind. That’s OK, I can pick up whatever I like, of course. This is my current pile to choose from:

Read-a-thon books

Some of the books I’ve mentioned before, but that’s because they’ve been on one of my challenge/TBR lists.

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • My Year with Eleanor by Noelle Hancock
  • What To Do When Somone Dies by Nicci French
  • The Book Club by Marjolijn Februari
  • The Ugly Sister by Jane Fallon
A lot to choose from. Last time, I read about 650 pages, so that amounts to 2-2.5 books. I’ve got 5 here…

.

Food

Now, let’s make sure we got our refreshments ready in time so we don’t have to cook or buy food while we’re readathoning! I’m planning to get my husband to make the main meal – he usually does on Saturday.

For some great tips, check out the guest post of Kristin of Peace, Love and Muesli that she kindly wrote for my 24 hour read-a-thon last time. Her post reminded me that you can eat healthy foods. Just because you have little time to make snacks and other foods, doesn’t mean you have to resort to junk food.

Last time I made Kristin’s Apple Sauce Muffins which were delicious. I’m also very tempted by the Dutch Spiced Muffins on She Likes Bento‘s blog. And I need some nice drinks and lots of fruit. I love a fruit salad at midnight. :-)

What will you be reading and eating for the read-a-thon?

23 Responses to The 24h Read-a-Thon Is Almost There!

  1. Sabrina says:

    I hope you’ll get to Night Circus because I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one.

  2. Shan says:

    Did you receive an email from them already? I signed up, but didn’t receive the email on Monday. This is my first time participating so I’m kind of wondering what’s going on.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I received an email today, Shan. I can find mine back and send it to you. Don’t worry too much, you probably have to link up with your first post on Saturday anyway. It’s not like they can “forget” you because the onus is on you to link your posts about the read-a-thon up with the main site.

      • Shan says:

        Thank you! I’ve been watching the site, so I know I won’t miss it, I just wasn’t sure if there was anything we had to do beforehand!

  3. Suzanne says:

    I’m listening to The Night Circus right now. I hope you like it.
    I might unofficially participate in the read a thon. I’d like to get through a few of the books I have for review and also get into Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan and (hopefully) The Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje.
    The applesauce muffins sound yummy – I might try those too.
    Good luck and happy reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Suzanne. Hope you get some books read this weekend! Even if you can’t commit for the full time, as long as you make reading your main occupation, that will work. :-)

  4. Uniflame says:

    I wish I had the night circus to read :) But I have a lot of other cool books to choose from!
    (I will update on that later)

    I still need to decide on snacks as well. I think I will do some baking on Friday/Saturday morning. I have some chocolate-zucchini muffins I want to try. And guess what is in my vegetable bag this week? :)

    Other than that, I guess I will get some fruit and nuts to snack on :)

  5. Somehow I managed to get an audio copy of The Night Circus, just one week after reserving a copy. I’m going to pick it up tomorrow. I can’t wait to see what this is about… I wonder if I will finish it. Sounds like a book I wouldn’t read on my own but my interest is peaked.

    Enjoy the readathon!

    • Leeswammes says:

      At first I didn’t think this would be a book for me either, Mari. But lots of people whose opinion I respect have enjoyed it, so I’m hopeful. It’s the same for me, without the hype I’d probably not have been interested in the book.

  6. I don’t have a copy of The Night Circus but if I did, it would be on my pile too! As for what food I am going to make, I haven’t decided yet.

  7. Happy reading! I want to read The Night Circus. It’s been on my TBR list for too long. Can’t wait to read your review of it in the near future.

  8. Yay! Good luck! Happy reading. :-)

  9. Trisha says:

    Yet again, last minute events ruined my readathon plans! I’ll be around for a bit, but I have a birthday party to attend late afternoon and well into the night.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sounds like you’re going to have fun anyway, Trisha. Maybe you’ll find a few stolen moments to sit down with a book before or after all the partying.

  10. I didn’t realise that this readathon was this weekend. I can’t decide whether to join in or not – but then again I actually had nothing else planned other than to read anyway….

  11. Wendy says:

    I might have to add The Night Circus to my stack for a possible read – but, like you, I have far more books on my RAT stack than I could ever read in 24 hours!! LOL! I agree about the healthy snacks – they are much more energizing!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wendy, I think The Night Circus is quite an easy and engrossing read which is ideal for a readathon. I may not get round to it. But then … it’s MY readathon! I’ll decide what to read! :-)

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,371 other followers

