New Arrivals!

Here are my latest new books. I’ve read several already – and I think I will try and do that more often: read the new ones a.s.a.p. before they become those wall-flower books that spend forever on my shelves.

Books for review

The Look of Love by Mary Jane ClarkThe Look of Love by Mary Jane Clark

I got this book from William Morrow (HarperCollins) for review.

I read and enjoyed this book: It’s a light read, a mystery about an budding actress/cake maker who is asked to make a wedding cake for a luxury spa owner. She is invited to spend time at the spa but on her first night a gruesome murder takes place.

It seems someone is keen to stop the wedding from happening.

This is a quick and fun read.

The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis RidleyThe Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley

I got this book from Crown for review.

I’m reading this very interesting non-fiction history book at the moment. Jeanne Baret was a lower-class woman who travelled around the world in the 1760s disguised as a man. She was the assistant to a botanist.

The book superbly describes the life of rich and poor, men and women of 18th Century France as well as the voyage they undertake to sail around the world and discover many new plant species.

The Starlite Drive-in by Marjorie ReynoldsThe Starlite Drive-in by Marjorie Reynolds

I got this book from William Morrow (HarperCollins) for review.

I’m reading this book at the moment too, and I’m loving it. The story takes place in the 1950s in rural USA where a thirteen-year old girl, Callie Anne lives at a drive-in cinema with her parents, as her father is the caretaker. Her mother has agoraphobia and hasn’t left the house for years.

When Callie Anne’s father gets help from a handsome young man, it isn’t long before both Callie Anne and her mother have feelings for him and things get nasty.

Books I got from the library

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa DiffenbaughThe Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

A wonderful story (yes, I read this one already!) about a girl who has been in care for most of her life. At 18, she becomes independent, but doesn’t make a good job of it. Until her love of flowers helps her make some money and some friends.

She has a secret from her past, from the only period in her life that she was happy, and she needs to deal with it before she can start working on her future.

.

The Rise and Fall of a Domestic Diva by Sarah MayThe Rise and Fall of a Domestic Diva by Sarah May

This book isn’t as chick-litty as it looks. I read this one already too and enjoyed it a lot. It’s about several families in the same street in London who all have similar issues to deal with: how to get their children into the top school in the neighbourhood, how to pretend to have more money than they really have (so they can buy the same brands as the neighbours) and how to keep their marriage together.

The main character is so stressed that she keeps forgetting her half-year old daughter. A bit far-fetched but a nice read.

.

A Book I won

De camping [The Camping] by Karin KuipersDe camping [The Camping] by Karin Kuiper [Dutch]

I won this from Dutch holiday company Estivant.

According to the description: A Dutch couple is running a camping in France and hope this will help them save their marriage. But a mysterious guest with a bag full of money arrives at the camping. Followed by a bus-load of single parents with their children.

Love, drink and and drama are the ingredients of this easy read in which a paradise slowly changes into hell.

.

Look out for my reviews of these books. I read or am reading most of them already so you can expect my reviews of these books throughout January.

.

Do you know any of these books? Let me know! 

31 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Leslie says:

    The Starlite Drive-in sounds like fun. I hadn’t heard of that one. The Language of Flowers was one of my favorite books. I read it in a few days and for me that’s quick.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, *The Starlite Drive-In* is coming out only this month – I’m having a good time with it.

      I also read *The Language of Flowers* in record time (exactly one day – between breakfast and bed time)

  2. Rikki says:

    The domestic diva one does look chick-litty indeed but sounds quite good. I agree, however, how you can forget about your baby is a bit hard to imagine.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rikki, I read *The Domestic Diva* in Dutch and that cover looked much more serious. At least, not chick-lit. I do like chick-lit some of the time, but I’m not sure I’d have picked up the English book on that occasion.

  3. ‘The language of flowers’ in on my Wishlistchallenge, so I hope it joins my home soon, lovely Valentines-gift from hubby maybe, I’ll send out subtle hints.
    ‘The discovery of Jeanne Baret sounds good and interesting, looking forward to your review.
    My first new book this year is ‘The catcher in the rye’, but my husband brought home the biografie of Wim Ruska which I will read too.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Breien, *The Language of Flowers* is a really nice book and indeed, maybe instead of flowers you could get this book, or book&flowers: also a great combination. I can never remember whether I read *The Catcher in the Rye* but if that’s the one with Holden Caulfield (I’m pretty sure it is) then I read it last year. Great book.

      I have the feeling I should have heard of Wim Ruska but I have no idea who he is {hides back in corner where she came from}.

      • Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

        I really enjoyed ‘The Language of Flowers’. I loved it so much that I mailed it to my best friend in California.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Carol, that was very nice of you! It was a good book, very nice to read.

  4. Uniflame says:

    I am glad that you have enjoyed the language of flowers. One of my best reads in 2011!

  5. Wim Ruska is an old judoka, he life has been full of ups and downs. (Markante man). Our house is a mixed bag of : reading, knitting, judo, management, cooking and baking, and the bookshelves are filled with books on these themes (and more)

  6. Tiina says:

    Both The Discovery of Jeanne Baret and The Starlite Drive-In sound very interesting.

  7. Ellie says:

    …”those wall-flower books that spend forever on my shelves”… Oh yes, I know them well. I have several hundred of those! I’m really hoping to give a good few of them their moment in the spotlight in 2012.

    I think the only one of those I’m familiar with is The Language of Flowers, which is on my wishlist. You’ve made it sound even better than I thought, so I might have to go looking for that one soon!

  8. winstonsdad says:

    starlight drive looks appealing I like road books ,all the best stu

  9. I can see you’re currently reading Vanished. Are the characters less angry in this one? I’ve got a proof lying around as I said at the end of The Bomber that I’d be prepared to give her another go!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ellie, I’ve only just started in *Vanished* and yes, it’s a proof as well. It seems that this is a completely different moment in the life of Bengtzon, the journalist. Here she lives alone and is a junior copy-editor. The writing style is very similar as *The Bomber*.

  10. Carol N Wong (@Carolee888) says:

    I have a huge “crave list” and both ‘Starlite Drive-In ” and ‘The Discovery of Jeanne Baret” are on it.
    I will be eagerly looking forward to your reviews of them.

    Carol

  11. Sabrina says:

    “The look of love” sounds interesting, I think I will look it up later. And yay that you enjoyed “The language of flowers”, it’s such a special book.

  12. Chinoiseries says:

    The Discovery of Jeanne Baret looks like a book I would enjoy as well :) Have heard wonderful things about the Language of Flowers, but not of the others. how come you are re-reading books from the library? I thought you had a Wishlist Challenge to work on this year? ;)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Chinoiseries, not re-reading, just reading! :-) My wishlist challenge is just 12 books, easy-peasy! ;-)

      Sometimes I go to the library for others in my family and then just have a quick look around, “for fun”. And I end up with one or two books…

  13. Cass says:

    Enjoy your new books! The Discovery of Jeanne Baret sounds especially interesting to me.

  14. Suzanne says:

    How funny, when I was growing up there was a drive-in near my house called The Starlite! That book does sound interesting, I can’t wait to hear more about it.

  15. None of these books are familiar to me! I like the sound of The Language of Flowers. It’s not a tear-jerker is it? I’ve had too many books lately reduce me to tears and I really need to read more fun books to balance it out!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shannon, no, *The Language of Flowers* is not a tear jerker, I think (I hardly ever cry about a book). I think you’d be OK on that count, but it’s not a “fun book” for most of the book.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,372 other followers

