March Blogger Events Around the Internet

March is a month to work on your blog and your health. Let’s take a look at some of the events that you, as a blogger (and in some cases without having a blog), can participate:

Bloggiesta

Bloggiesta

Bloggiesta is a blogathon that has been going for several years. This year, it’s all happening at the weekend of 30, 31 March & April 1st. It’s got a new host: Suey of It’s All About Books.

What can you expect to be doing that weekend? Well, work on your blog in any way that’s needed. Maybe you’re behind writing posts, maybe you were thinking of changing your background, backup your blog, make new blogging friends, learn some new things.

I’ve participated a few times and have found it very useful AND good fun. Sign up HERE.

Biannual Blogathon Bash

Biannual Blogathon Bash

This blogathon is held next weekend, from March 9 8am EST to March 12 8am EST. It’s organised by Kathleen of Callista’s Ramblings.

The idea is basically the same as with Bloggiesta. Kathleen suggest you might want to move your blog over to WordPress, or review an item, start a new meme, clean up your labels/tags, whatever you feel you need to do to keep your blog up to date.

You can sign up HERE.

Change Write Now

Change Write NowThis is a getting healthy competition for “Writers, Book Bloggers, and Other Beloved Publishing People”.

Round Two is starting Sunday, March 11 (last sign-up date is Friday, March 9). The idea is to get healthier by keeping to some rules, some of which you make up yourself. You’ll work in teams (to be put together by the organisers) and teams earn points every day by eating healthy, sleeping enough, exercising, adopting a good habit and dropping a bad one, etc.

So, a team effort to become healthier. Each round lasts 66 days. Are you joining in? I think I will! Sign up HERE.

Going Au Natural in March

Let's Eat It Real

This is one for non-bloggers too! It’s for anyone that wants to eat healthy.

Trish of Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity will be spending March au natural with her husband. No, nothing naked, they’ll be eating unprocessed foods all month.

They won’t eat packaged foods or processed foods (other than dairy). They’ll be making their own bread but maybe not their pasta.

Sounds good? Join Trish (you can sign up anytime) HERE.

I may do this for one or two days, just to see what it’s like!

Other events

  • Roof Beam Reader’s Magical March – sign up until March 4th (tomorrow) to join in and read Fantasy, Science Fiction and Magic during March.  Sign up HERE.
  • Expect the results of the Indie Lit Awards around Mid-March. As you know I was a judge for the Speculative Fiction genre and I’ve finished reading the short-list!
  • The Review Copy Cleanup runs all of March: to sort out the review piles. (Thanks, Ellie, for this tip.)
  • Diana Wynne Jones Month (Thanks to Kristen for pointing this out)
  • Irish Short Story Week (March 12 – 22) (Mel U is inviting everyone to join in)
  • And an April date for your agenda: Dewey’s 24 hour readathon is held on April 21st. This is a big event in book blogging world so be there and join in the reading! There are mini-challenges and prizes and it’s great fun.
What are your plans for March?
Are you participating in any of these events?
Let me know if you know of other blogging events!

16 Responses to March Blogger Events Around the Internet

  1. Rikki says:

    Yes, Bloggiesta time, Have you signed up for it yet? I will have a look at the Blogathon Bash as well. I didn’t know about that one. Thanks!

  2. Sadik says:

    I’m very new to blog world so these events sounds very exciting to me. The Let’s eat it real looks like a fun challenge but I can’t see myself or my family can strictly work with that. It sounds like a really good thing for our health though. We might try it for a week or so. I have to check out other events you mentions, too. They look like the good ways to meet new friends.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sadik, thanks for your comment! I also can’t see myself doing the Let’s Eat Real for a whole month, but with some planning, I may do it for a few days. I know you and Tes are healthy eaters and I think you should not have to adjust too much in your lifestyle to do this challenge.

      Yes, do check out the other challenges, they are all good fun.

  3. Leslie says:

    I will be joining Bloggiesta this year too. My post won’t go up until tomorrow though. And for the first time I think I might join the 24 hour readathon. If audiobooks count too, I can probably participate.

  4. I’m taking part in Review Copy Cleanup which runs all of March, in which we provide moral support for our out of of control review piles and try to sort them out!

    http://nyxbookreviews.blogspot.com/2012/02/review-copy-cleanup-sign-up.html

  5. Niranjana says:

    Nice round-up; something about spring gets us cleaning up our insides and our bookshelves, I think!

  6. Suey says:

    Wow, so much happening! Thanks for the shout out to Bloggiesta. We look forward to you joining in the fun.

  7. Kristen M. says:

    I’m running a Diana Wynne Jones month through March — http://webereading.com/2012/03/celebrating-diana-wynne-jones-in-march.html

    The only downside is that it’s because it’s the one year anniversary of her death. :(

  8. Mel u says:

    Hi-From March 12 to March 22 I will be having an event on my blog, Irish Short Story Week II

    http://rereadinglives.blogspot.com/2012/02/irish-short-story-week-march-12-to.html

    everyone is cordially invited to join in!

  9. Pingback: Sitting Around on a Sunday — Change Write Now | bibliosue

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,131 other followers

