Indie Lit Awards 2011: Winners!

IndieLitAwards

Finally! The winners of the Independent Literary Awards have been announced! You can see the full list of genres and winners HERE.

I was involved with the Speculative Fiction genre (magic, fantasy, science fiction, etc.). The shortlist was a good representation of the genre, I think.

The following five books made it to the shortlist:

  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Candlewick)
  • The Magician King by Lev Grossman (Viking)
  • 11/22/1963 by Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor Books)
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Crown)

I read these five books in the January to March period and they were all worthy of being on the shortlist. I had a great time reading these. So, here is the winner of the Speculative Fiction genre…

WinnerReady Player One by Ernest Cline
Runner-UpA Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

The world in Ready Player One is quite different from ours – a post-apocalyptic world where people spend a great deal of their time online (even children can go to school online – with a helmet on and special gloves, it feels as if they’re really present rather than looking at a screen). The world felt so real to me! While I was reading the book, it was as if this world really existed somewhere. A great book.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

The publishers say: “At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, READY PLAYER ONE is a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut—part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner, and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed.”

Reviews of Ready Player One:

Aths of Reading on a Rainy Day
Jenn of Jenn’s Bookshelves
Marleen of More Than a Reading Journal

Let’s make a list of reviews! Have you read this book? Let me link to your review.

Don’t forget to look at the other genre winners of the Indie Lit Awards in HERE.

What do you think of Ready Player One?

Did you read it and love it? Do you plan to read it?

10 Responses to Indie Lit Awards 2011: Winners!

  1. Well, since you asked for it, here’s a link to my review of Ready Player One: http://meen-readingjournal.blogspot.com/2012/02/ready-player-one.html

  2. Leslie says:

    I’m glad Ready Player One came in first. That is one of my favorite books. Besides being a great story, it probably touched on every geeky cultural reference from the 80s and then some. I’m ready to read it again! Ok, this time I’ll listen to the audio, which I heard is excellent.

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Must read this! I requested my library purchase it but no sign of it yet!

  4. Aths says:

    I was excited to see Ready Player One win! One of my favorites from last year.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,378 other followers

