Weekly Reading Roundup

Pansies

Photo credit: my son Ruben (13)

No It’s Monday meme from me today, I have the feeling I will be too busy today to visit many blogs. First it’s a dentist appointment where several cavities are going to be filled and later I’ll be taking my son out shopping for some clothes for the holidays. And a visit to the gym would be a good idea, too. Then there’s that to-do list with more than enough other activities to keep me busy!

Don’t worry, if you leave a comment I will visit you and I will still visit the blogs that I’m subscribed to.

Last week, I participated in two blog hops and today I’ll be sending out books or ordering them for the winners. I have a total of 7 books to send to (or order for) 4 winners. Yes, that’s one for the to-do list indeed!

Other news:

  • Here you can read about the new books that arrived recently.
  • I also did a June Overview. I read 20 books!

*****


Books I finished this week: 4 (and a bit)

Blood Lure by Nevada BarrBlindgangers by Joke J. HermsenDirty Martini by Elizabeth MollemaPOD by Stephen Wallenfels

Blood Lure by Nevada Barr. A woman, Anna, is researching bears in a national park when a body is found. Anna investigates. 3.5 stars

Blindgangers [Unexploded shells/Blinded people] by Joke Hermsen [Dutch]. A group of 40-somethings meet for a nice weekend away but all kind of issues surface during the stay. 5 stars

Dirty Martini by Elizabeth Mollema [Dutch]. Two sisters take in a man to cook for them but his lies get him in terrible trouble. A body is found. 3.5 stars

POD by Stephen Wallenfels. Strange balls appear in the skies, killing everyone that appears out in the street. In California and in Washington, two teenagers are trying to survive under very different circumstances. 4 stars

Girl Reading by KatieWard. Abandoned. A collection of stories about several (existing) paitings of a girl reading. I’m not a keen short story reader and I didn’t enjoy the first two enough to keep reading.

.

Books I’m reading

 Beloved by Toni Morrison

.

Reviews

Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. JamesThis Bright River by Patrick SommervilleEen gat in de lucht by Erik Nieuwenhuis

Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James. Just to satisfy my curioisity. I enjoyed reading it. 4 stars

This Bright River by Patrick Somerville. Two thirty-somethings meet after many years in their childhood home town and secrets from their past come back to haunt them. 4 stars

Een gat in de lucht [Jumping in the Air] by Erik Nieuwenhuis [Dutch]. A number of people are preparing for New Year’s Eve and they all are interconnected in some way. 4 stars


That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

8 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. We have something in common, :) i bought Beloved yesterday, and though I don’t know if I’ll be able to read it this week, I’ll certainly do so in the first half of this month.
    Loved your blog! Following you now.
    Please do visit my books blog, and if you like it, please do follow!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Amritorupa, I find *Beloved* rather difficult – the story doesn’t all make sense to me. Most of the time in this book, reading more helps and it becomes clear later. Some of it is just strange. :-)

  2. I read Beloved last October for Banned Book Week… every year I only read banned books during that week. It is very enlightening. At least you caught up on your monthly recaps, I am three months behind…. *sigh* :)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sheila, I’m behind on other things (like my review list – it probably only shows half of all the books I’ve read this year!).

      I still find the whole concept of banning books strange. I’m proud to be reading a Banned Book, though!

  3. Sounds like a busy day, sorry to hear about the dentist! I think I read 20 pages all weekend… I was so caught up in Olympic coverage that I had the TV on every night (rare for me).

    I’m reading With my Body.. then back to more meaty books. I can’t wait!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, the dentist wasn’t much fun, although worst was afterwards, when I was walking around with half my mouth drooping because of the anaesthetic. I decided to stay indoors until it had cleared up (after lunch).

      Olympic coverage? But it hasn’t started yet? Is there a kind of pre-olympic program?

  4. Leslie says:

    Beloved is another one of those books I never got around to reading. I didn’t realize it was on the banned books list. Hope you are all recovered from the dentist. The anesthetic is always the worst part.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, same with me – Beloved had been on the reading list for ages. I like it, sort-of, but it’s also rather odd.

      The anaesthetic is definitely the worst things at the dentist. My mouth was drooping for several hours and it felt rather unpleasant.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,343 other followers

