New Arrivals!

Books are like buses: you don’t see any new ones for a while and then they arrive three at a time! :-) Here are the books I received for review recently.

Books for review

Still by Roelof Bakker (Ed.)

Still by Roelof Bakker

I saw this book on Parrish Lantern and left a comment, upon which the author contacted me and asked me if I wanted to review the book, too. I am very curious about it, although I’m not really a short story reader. In this case, there are short stories by over 20 authors, all inspired by photographs taken by Roelof Bakker of an old town hall in London.

The publisher says: “Still combines twenty-six new short stories with the photographs that were the inspiration for the writing.

Writers were invited by artist-photographer Roelof Bakker to select a photograph from his project Still, an investigation of vacated interior spaces at Hornsey Town Hall in north London, and to write a story taking the chosen photograph to a new place with a fresh meaning – away from the original physical setting.”

***

Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer

Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer (ebook)

I received this book for review from the publishers via Netgalley. I loved Bauer’s debut novel, Blacklands. This new thriller is very different but very good, too! I finished it already. Keep an eye out for my 5-star review about a young man with Asperger’s syndrome who goes and solves a murder.

From the author’s website: “‘The dead can’t speak to us,’ Professor Madoc had said.
That was a lie. Because the body Patrick Fort is examining in anatomy class is trying to tell him all kinds of things.

Life is already strange enough for the obsessive Patrick without having to solve a possible murder. Especially when no one believes a crime has even taken place. Now he must stay out of danger long enough to unravel the mystery – while he dissects his own evidence.

But as Patrick learns one truth from a dead man, he discovers there have been many other lies closer to home…”

***

The Truth About Love and Lightning by Susan McBride

The Truth About Love & Lightning by Susan McBride

For review from William Morrow (HarperCollins). This sounds like a good story about family relationships. A man without memory will likely add excitement to the story!

From the publisher: “As far as Gretchen Brink is concerned, the tornado that just ripped through her land has nothing on the storms of a different sort happening all around her. Her grown daughter, Abby, has returned home with news that she’s pregnant, and no, she’s not sure whether she’s going to marry the father. A man with no memory has been dropped practically on her doorstep. And the not-so-little white lie she’s been telling for years is about to catch up with her.

Abby is sure that the mysterious man is her long-lost father, Sam, who has finally returned just when she needs him most. As Abby, Gretchen, and the Man Who Might Be Sam get closer, the lie Gretchen told all those years ago begins to haunt her. When her secrets come out, and Sam’s past is finally revealed, will it tear down this fragile life they’ve built—or will the truth bring them all closer together?”

***

Vanity Fare by Megan Caldwell

Vanity Fare by Megan Caldwell

Also from review from William Morrow (HarperCollins). I was totally attracted by the cover (I mean, the biscuits) and I love stories about cooking! Also, I love stories about women that manage to improve their life after a bad time.

From the publisher: “Molly Hagan is overwhelmed. Her husband left her for a younger, blonder woman; her six-year-old son is questioning her authority, and now so is she. In order to pay her Brooklyn rent and keep her son supplied with Pokémon and Legos, not to mention food and clothing, she has to get a job—fast.

So when an old friend offers Molly a freelance position copywriting for a new bakery, finding romance is just about the last thing on her mind. But the sexy British pastry chef who’s heading up the bakery has other thoughts. And then so does Molly, when she meets the chef’s intimidating business partner—who also happens to have a secret that might prevent Molly from getting her own happily ever after.”

***

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash

Somehow, I thought this book was a classic. Maybe it will be, one day, but at the least I’ve heard very good things about it. There is a paperback edition coming out, and I was offered the chance to review the book. Another review copy from William Morrow.

From the publisher: “For a curious boy like Jess Hall, growing up in Marshall means trouble when you get caught spying on grown-ups. Adventurous and precocious, Jess is protective of his older brother, Christopher, a mute whom everyone calls Stump. Though their mother has warned them not to snoop, Stump can’t help sneaking a look at something he’s not supposed to—an act that will have repercussions. It’s a wrenching event that thrusts Jess into an adulthood for which he’s not prepared. He now knows that a new understanding can bring not only danger and evil—but also the possibility of freedom and deliverance.

Told by resonant and evocative characters, A Land More Kind Than Home is a haunting tale of courage in the face of cruelty and the power of love to overcome the darkness that lives in us all.”

***

The House Girl by Tara Conklin

The House Girl by Tara Conklin

Yet another review book from William Morrow! I find books about slaves so interesting because I find the idea that people can own other people so inconceivable. And I love books about the American South!

From the publisher: “The House Girl, the historical fiction debut by Tara Conklin, is an unforgettable story of love, history, and a search for justice, set in modern-day New York and 1852 Virginia.

Weaving together the story of an escaped slave in the pre–Civil War South and a determined junior lawyer, The House Girl follows Lina Sparrow as she looks for an appropriate lead plaintiff in a lawsuit seeking compensation for families of slaves. In her research, she learns about Lu Anne Bell, a renowned prewar artist whose famous works might have actually been painted by her slave, Josephine.”

***

Did you get any exciting new books recently?

24 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. harveeharvee says:

    They all look so good. Enjoy your books.

  2. “Still” looks and sounds intriguing! I’m trying to read (and understand) more short stories in general. Sometimes they are hard to get into, like right when you’re “into” the story, it ends! But other times, they are fabulous!

    Have you ever read The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon? It’s not a short story, it’s a novel, but after reading the first chapter, I closed my eyes and thought I would have been totally satisfied if it was just that, just a short story because it was so beautiful. Of course, having the entire book was great, too!!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Rebecca, yes, I’ve read *The Shadow of the Wind*. I thought it was very good, and I also read *The Prisoner of Heaven*, the most recent book. I agree that Zafn’s writing is so beautiful!

  3. therelentlessreader says:

    Ooh ooh look at the stack of new books! Enjoy them Judith!

  4. Isi says:

    All of them look very interesting.
    I’m not a fan of short stories, but I like to read them in English, so now I always look for short stories books.
    Yes, the cookies look great too :)
    About slavery, I’ve just finish a book set in Surinam, the Dutch colony in 1850s too!! what a coincidence! The author is Linda Belago (I think she’s German, but I’m not sure), perhaps you have heard about the book.
    And I’m also interested in The truth about love, because I like familiy stories.
    Well, enjoy your readings!!

  5. bibliosue says:

    I love that first sentence — books are like buses. So true!
    A Land More Kind than Home is wonderful. I’m going to look for The House Girl, it looks good as well.

  6. Nice. Still looks really interesting—I’ll look forward to reading your thoughts on that one. I saw an article online a while ago with photos of abandoned spaces in Chernobyl and another one a different time of abandoned homes in Ireland. Really moving, haunting stuff.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kristin, abandoned areas have something sad about them, I think. I am curious to see how the authors used the photographs to write their stories. Hope to read it very soon.

  7. I hope you will enjoy all these books, Judit. At least, they all seem and look interesting!

  8. Tiina says:

    Still & The House Girl sound very interesting! And I totally agree with you on the cover of Vanity Fare.:)

  9. alexia561 says:

    Nice! Haven’t read any of these, so looking forward to hearing what you think of them. Enjoy!

  10. Charlie says:

    I don’t mind short stories though I favour novels – but Still is a really good book, the differences in authors and the overall concept is really interesting, it’s unique and works well, I’d say you’ll like it. Love all the covers from William Morrow.

  11. Marie says:

    A good selection there! Rubbernecker sounds so good, I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on that one. I’ve also heard very good things about Still although I never read short stories – I have so many short story anthologies on my shelves that are waiting to be read! David H at Follow The Thread blog did a whole series of posts on Still and made it sound very tempting.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I think the trick with short stories is not to read them all in one go but to read one, take a break, read another one some other time. At least, that’s my plan with *Still*. Thanks for the suggestion – I will look at David H’s posts.

  12. I have that Wiley Cash one waiting for me!

  13. Leslie says:

    Oh nice week, they all look great but I’m eager to see what you think of Still.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,127 other followers

