It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The last two weeks

I had a fun meeting with a small group of editors, writers and publishers last week: lunch in the sun, on the roof terrace of a department store! Things are looking up, weather-wise.

I’ve been very busy with work, but if you need a proofreader or someone to help you improve your story line, be in touch!

Coming Friday is book group. I’ve started the book but I’m not sure I’ll finish it. It’s rather {shhhh} boring! The book is The Dark Silver Sea by Susan Fletcher. The day after is my XXth birthday. It’s impossible I’m turning this age. I’m 34 forever, 44 even, if pressed!

.

Books I finished in the last TWO weeks: 3 + 1 DNF

Mind of Winter By Laura KasischkeDe blokkade [Writer's Block] by Renate DorresteinZonder noorden komt niemand thuis [Without a North No One Gets Home] by Nelleke NoordervlietThe Sweetness of Liberty James by Janey Lewis
Mind of Winter by Laura Kasischke. Creepy good story about one Christmas morning when a woman and her teenage daughter are home alone. 5 stars

De blokkade [The Blockage] by Renate Dorrestein. Non-fiction about the author’s writing block, Dutch. 4 stars

Zonder noorden komt niemand thuis [Without a North No One Gets Home] by Nelleke Noordervliet. A Dutch man flees to Canada when the murderer of his wife is let out of prison after eight years, Dutch. 4.5 stars

The Sweetness of Liberty James by Janey Lewis. Too sweet for me but some really nice descriptions. About a woman setting up her own café after her husband leaves her. Did not finish.

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Hidden by Catherine McKenzieThe Silver Dark Sea by Susan FletcherVerstrikt in wraak by Pietro RonchiniThe Word Exchange by Alena GraedonThe Book of You by Claire Kendal

Reviews

.Bred in the Bone by Christopher BrookmyreThe Truth That's in Me by Julie Berry

Bred in the Bone by Christopher Brookmyre. A private investigator and a police officer are both researching different cases, that turn out to be related. Thriller. 4 stars

Wat ik weet [The Truth That’s in Me] by Julie Berry. A girl returns to her village after she’s been missing for a few years. Her tongue has been removed. Historical YA fiction. 4.5 stars

 Other news

I got some great-looking New Books. Check it out!

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

10 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. readerbuzz says:

    It sounds like you’ve had a lovely time these last few weeks. I have a few of these on my wish list. Sorry to hear Silver Dark Sea is a disappointment.

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

  2. Kathy Martin says:

    Happy birthday! You have an interesting selection of books there. I hope you enjoy them all this week. Come see my week here. Have a great week.

  3. Mind of Winter is proving popular, I have The Word Exchange on my reading list this week. Happy Birthday to you, enjoy the celebration!

  4. leydylaura says:

    Mind of Winter looks interesting!

    Check out what we are reading this week.

    Also, today is the last day to enter Legend + Prodigy paperback giveaway

    Leydy @OUaT & RCE

  5. Greg says:

    Mind of Winter sounds good, and a little scary. Like the sounds of it. Have a great week!

  6. Vasilly says:

    I read some positive things about The Word Exchange. Enjoy your books. :-)

  7. lisaalmedasumner says:

    I have Mind of Winter for review…and I’m actually getting kind of nervous, because it sounds so creepy. I may save it for the weekend in case I can’t sleep! I would hate to be up all night and then have to go teach a bunch of high school students!

  8. Isi says:

    Happy birthday!
    It’s a shame the book for the book club is disappointing; it happens me a lot also with the choices of my book club… but well, at least I’ve get to know a lot of new authors (Spanish, mainly).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,432 other followers

