Book Review: Hidden by Catherine McKenzie

Hidden by Catherine McKenzie

Hidden: What it is about

From the publishers: “While walking home from work one evening, Jeff Manning is struck by a car and killed. Not one but two women fall to pieces at the news: his wife, Claire, and his co-worker Tish. Reeling from her loss, Claire must comfort her grieving son and contend with funeral arrangements, well-meaning family members, and the arrival of Jeff’s estranged brother, her ex-boyfriend Tim.

With Tish’s co-workers in the dark about her friendship with Jeff outside of the office, she volunteers to attend the funeral on the company’s behalf, but only she knows the true risk of inserting herself into the wreckage of Jeff’s life. Told through the three voices of Jeff, Tish, and Claire, Hidden explores the complexity of relationships, the repercussions of our personal choices, and the responsibilities we have to the ones we love.

Hidden: What I thought

I’ve read all three of McKenzie’s earlier books. They were chick-lits with a serious note to them. This new book is different, not at all chick-litty. It’s a well-written, serious story about a man who dies, leaving behind a wife and child, and a female colleague, who may well have been his lover.

The book follows both ladies in their mourning and we find out during the book how strong the relationships between Jeff and his wife and him and the colleague really were.

Like I said, well-written. However, in places it was a little boring. I just didn’t care all that much about the main characters, but all in all it’s a decent book that deserves 4 stars, except… I took half a star off for (shock!) using dead Jeff as one of the narrators. No, he’s not present in the book as a ghost, nothing. He’s just there, telling his part of the story. Nah!


Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars (Okay to good)

Number of pages: 292

First published: 2014

I got this: from the publishers, New Harvest, for review

Genre: contemporary fiction

Other books by Catherine McKenzieSpinArranged, and Forgotten.

 

4 Responses to Book Review: Hidden by Catherine McKenzie

  1. I kind of like a dead narrator. That might make me give it an extra half star. I’ve never read any of her books, but I’ve always heard that they are smart chick lit.

  2. mpartyka says:

    Only 3.5? I can’t wait to read this one and will lower my expectations… I think I discovered her on your blog, right? I have been dabbling in a bit of creep/YA weirdness lately so I might be able to handle this one (ha).

    ps: I can’t read your review yet, I need to read it first so I will be back.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,406 other followers

