The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

(Dutch title: De hongerspelen)

A fantastic Young Adult book! I read it in a few days but if I had had the time, I would have finished it in one go.

The story takes place in a North America of the future. The area is divided in 12 sections and Katniss, our main character, lives in District 12, definitely the worst of them all. Most people there are miners and are very poor. Katniss supplies her family (mother and younger sister) with extra food by hunting in the woods with her friend Gale. Going to the woods is not allowed but everyone is happy with the extra meat she brings home (and sells at the black market).

Then it’s time for the draw: one girl and one boy from each district is randomly chosen to go to the Hunger Games, a competition where there can be only one winner: the person that is alive at the end of the Games.

When her sister’s name is called, Katniss quickly takes her place and she and a boy from District 12 are taken to the Capitol to prepare for the games.

She assumes she has no chance at all to win, but that changes quite soon during preparation. What follows is a two-week fight in a big arena (the size of at least a few days’ walk) in which Katniss has to make choices between killing her opponents and forming alliances with them.

Very easy to read, very fun to read. I thought the story was thought out well and there were interesting solutions for the problems that Katniss encountered.I’m looking forward to reading the next installment: Catching Fire.

I enjoy dystopia stories in general and this was no exception. Dystopia is the opposite of utopia: in dystopia the world has changed for the worst. Somehow, I find that fascinating!

Extra: Also check out my reviews of the second and third book in this series, Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. angelica says:

    Fun reading indeed! I mean the review. I feel hungry this morning and the title jumped out of the list of your reviewed books. Thanks. I’ll look for the book.

  2. JoV says:

    I’m at queue 19 with about 6 books in stock in my local library. Can’t wait!

  3. So you did like it??? Love it, even? That’s a comforting thought. I know it is not really a disaster if I wouldn’t love it, but I always feel disapointed when I don’t like a popular (hyped) book because I’ve usually had high hopes.

  4. Trisha says:

    I just saw the movie today, and now I’m sort of fiending to re-read this!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hope you enjoyed the movie, Trisha. I did, but for me, it also had some boring bits. Reading the book again should be fun. I won’t, as I just read Battle Royale, which is quite similar.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

