Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

This is the second book in the Hunger Games series. There are some mild spoilers if you haven’t read the first book yet.

I was reading this book at the same time as my son. Well, I read it when he wasn’t. I was tempted to allow him some extra computer time so I had more time with the book!

Yes, it was good! For me, The Hunger Games was better, but Catching Fire is still a very good book. In The Hunger Games, lots of interesting ideas are raised, such as the Hunger Games themselves, the dystopian world Katniss and her friends and family live in, the type of tasks they have to fulfill in the Games, the funny people in the Capitol such as the dressers and dress designers.

In Catching Fire, lots of these ideas came back, and not a great deal of new ideas (yes, there were some, for sure).  So, while I was really very impressed by the fantasy of the writer when reading the first book, I did not feel that way so much in the second book. That said, Catching Fire is a great read, I could not put it down (unless I had to) and I’m so sorry I’ve finished it already!

The difference with The Hunger Games is that you can read The Hunger Games on its own, no need for a follow-up really, but after Catching Fire you want more, and you’re promised more. The ending is quite abrupt and it leaves the feeling that we can read more of what happens next in the third book. I must say, I found it a bit strange how the book ended (especially how the games ended).

In all, a great book, read it if you haven’t!

Extra: My review of the third book in this series, Mockingjay.


Another book towards the Dystopian Challenge!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

One Response to Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins | Iris on Books

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

