Light by Torgny Lindgren

Light by Torgny Lindgren

Light

(I didn’t like the English book cover at all, so here’s the Dutch one)

Torngy Lindgren is a well-known Swedish author. Still, I have not read anything by him before. The book, Light, leaves me wanting more. I read the Dutch translation, which was written beautifully.

This is an entertaining read about a village in Sweden, at the end of the world, in a time long past. A man goes to a neighboring town to look for a wife but comes back with a rabbit, which has a pest-infected flee in its pelt.

The man becomes ill, and through him, hundreds of people in the village die, until only six are left. What happens next is chaos: people claiming the possessions of their dead neighbors, incest, grave robbery, lies, fights, and much more.

The book is written in a simple language, reflecting the simple people of the village. It’s almost a fairy tale and written in a matter-of-fact way.

If you can stand all the misery (but it’s almost comical) you’ll end the book with a smile. A quick and fun read. But why it is called Light? I have no idea.

Rating: 4/5

Extra: See also my review of Hash by Torgny Lindgren

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Light by Torgny Lindgren

  1. Carin B. says:

    I might have to pick this up. I would like to read more international authors. I looked up the English book cover (the one available in the U.S.) and it looks like some kind of scary monster. Is that the one? It also looks like it is a play? Am I looking at the wrong book?

  2. seachanges says:

    Good for you reading either in Dutch or in English, wherever the cover leads you🙂 I don’t know Torgny Lindgren (have difficulty spelling the name), but it sounds quite extraordinary. I’ve just got such a vast pile of books lying around, plus some on the e-reader….

    • leeswammes says:

      There’s not enough time in the world to read everything around. But who knows, you come across it one day and think “isn’t that the one….”.🙂

  3. Nikki-ann says:

    Certainly sounds like a book with a different. Might be one worth picking up, thanks🙂

    • leeswammes says:

      I found it a typical Scandinavian book, not many words but a lot is happening. A favorite Norwegian author of mine is Knut Hamsun, and there’s so much to read between the lines in his books (the people hardly speak to each other but you know exactly what’s going on). Great fun.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

