Going Too Far by Catherine Alliott

Going Too Far by Catherine Alliott

Going Too Far

This is my fourth Catherine Alliott book and the worst one so far. Let’s start with the rating: no higher than 3 out of 5. Looking back to my ratings of her other books: twice 5 stars and once 4. I consider her one of the best chick-lit authors. So, what happened?

Going Too Far is one of her earlier books. It is a classical chick-lit a la Kinsella with a very stupid, stupid protagonist, resembling the Shopaholic woman. She is a real brainless idle young woman, who hides her silly actions by lies, her lies by bigger lies, and her biggest lies by going to very extreme actions.

Especially in the beginning of the book she acts like a complete idiot. I was totally annoyed by this silly woman, but was also laughing out loud about the things that she did or that happened to her. As a result, I was annoyed by myself for liking the story. While I considered giving up, I did read the whole book. And it was not that bad.

The story: Polly, a city girl in her pre-married life, now lives on a farm in Cornwall with her husband Nick. She’s counting her blessings, not realizing until her friend Pippa points it out, that her life is actually quite sedate and uneventful. Also, she’s been spending her time eating biscuits and not doing much else, so she’s not quite the fashionable and slim city girl that she used to be.

When Pippa and her colleagues are looking for a location to film a commercial, Polly sees herself being spotted as a film star and hitting the big time. Against the wishes of her husband, she arranges the shoot to take place at their farm. When she meets the eyes of a most delectable film director, Polly soon goes too far.

Nick, her husband, has always been supportive of his wife and happy to believe her little lies. But when he hears of her antics with the film director, he is not willing to believe her when she actually tells the truth.

At this point, Polly becomes a bit more believable as a character. She still has her silly moments, but also shows off some insightful behavior. In the end, I was happy that I stuck with the story, but I still believe this is one of Alliotts lesser books. She should leave the scatter brain characters to Kinsella, because Alliott can write very good stories without having to use characters with larger-than-life weaknesses.

—xxx—

Extra: See also my review of The Old-Girl Network by Catherine Alliott

This book review is also my entry for the Summer Break Reading Challenge Activity #3 – Book Reviews.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Going Too Far by Catherine Alliott

  1. Karin says:

    Thanks for sharing your review.
    Karin

  2. Carin B. says:

    I may have to ask you to recommend some chick-lit to me. I am not a chick-lit reader at all, but I feel like I should open myself up to it. I did read Bridget Jones’ Diary this year and enjoyed it so I’m sure there’s other stuff out there I’d like. Maybe not this one though?

    • leeswammes says:

      Carin (and Iris), on my Shelfari shelf there are 40 chick-lits: http://www.shelfari.com/judithann/tags/chick-lit with star-rating and a short review.
      I very much like Catherine Alliott, Freya North, Katie Fforde and, last, but really first: Marian Keyes. These writers (esp. the first and last) write for a slightly older audience in that it’s not all about will-he / won’t-he and the protagonists are often independent women and not like the Shopaholic woman.

      Sorry, I seem to be sounding negative about the Shopaholic series, I did like the books, but I do think they give chick-lit a bad name, because of the headless-chickenness of the main character. That said, I do LOVE LOVE LOVE Kinsella’s The Undomestic Goddess. This is still chick-lit # 1 for me.

  3. Tes says:

    Sound like the perfect book for weekend relaxation. I will look for it.

  4. Iris says:

    I agree with Carin: I have a hrd time finding chick-lit that I enjoy, but I enjoyed Bridget Jones’ Diary. Any recommendations would be most welcome🙂

  5. Esme says:

    I am not a big Kinsella fan-I much prefer Emily Griffin-I have never heard of this author -but will give her a go-I like chick lit for the beach. I find that Lisa See’s books are also similar-I like her later works-I am not that fond about her earlier books.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

