Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Oryx and Crake

This book (2003) is a re-read for me. I want to read Atwood’s newest book The Year of the Flood but since it is related to (but not quite a sequel of) Oryx and Crake, I decided to read that one again first.

Last time I liked the book, but didn’t love it. This time I loved it! I think it’s brilliant, a clever story, interesting, full of good ideas.

In the story, Snowman, who was called Jimmy before he got into the current situation, tries to survive near the sea as the only human that is still alive. Every day, some creatures who seem to be mutated humans, come and talk to him about Oryx and Crake, whom they consider a sort of deities. They see Snowman as a mediator between them and Crake in particular.

The world is empty of people with only some remnants of the past, such as sunglasses, a knife, a rare tin of soy sausages and very little else to eat. Snowman is starving and he knows it.

He thinks back of the past, when he became friends with Crake and later also with Oryx. During the story he leaves the area he lives in to go looking for food. So, the story is a combination of what happened in the past and what’s happening in the current time, which come together towards the end of the book.

What is especially interesting about the book is that the current situation is the result not just of a recent disaster but also of climatological changes that have been taking place over a number of years. In fact, when Snowman was young, already the world looked different from ours. However, the actual apocalypse only took place more recently.

If you like dystopia, this book is a must. It’s quite an easy read (not like YA-dystopian books, but compared to other books for adults). I found it very interesting to read. 5/5 stars!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

  1. I’m going to reread it too. Can’t wait to hear what you think about year of the flood. I’d rate it 7/5 stars.

    • leeswammes says:

      7/5 stars? It must be really, really good then! I can’t actually wait to read this (it’s often said by people, but it’s true in this case).

  2. amymckie says:

    I’ve seen this book around and keep meaning to pick it up, put for some reason never have. Thanks for the review, definitely sounds like I will love it and I need to get to it soon.

  3. Kaleido says:

    I’ve read this recently but had mixed feelings about it. It hasn’t put me off the second book, I still want to read The Year of the Flood sometime this year.

  4. Carin B. says:

    I feel so sad because I haven’t read ANY Margaret Atwood yet. I think I want to start with The Handmaid’s Tale, but this one is definitely on my list. Glad you enjoyed the reread. It sounds fantastic!

  5. Esme says:

    I cannot believe you drove through Paris without stopping-I would never be able to do that.

    • leeswammes says:

      Esme, you obviously don’t know about the bad traffic conditions in Paris!🙂 It would probably take 2 or more hours (could be 4, the speed the traffic was going) to get to the Eiffel Tower (and then back again) plus we were already on an 8 hour trip, so had no intention to increase it! Paris will be a separate trip for us sometime.

  6. Cystal says:

    I just finished Oryx and Crake…oh my God…my mind is reeling…so good and wouldn’t had found it had it not been for your suggested list…thanks!! It kept my attention and invaded my dreams…it was not that I got wrapped up with her characters…hard for me to feel a real empathy for them (as i did in Hunger Games for example)…this haunted me because it was so “creepy and irrie”. It’s not so far fetched from what could easily become our reality…all it takes is one cyber tech,science major whack job to release a bio germ like that and we are toast…and we all know there’s cloning and Lord only knows what else has been genetically altered in the deep recesses of secret organizations. I loved this book…and am starting Year of the Flood tonight! Plus there’s a third novel Atwood tweeted would be out in 2013!! Good times!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Crystal, how good to see that you loved this book and that the reading of it was a real experience to you. I also found it creepy, indeed because these things could happen for real…

      I hope you’ll enjoy Year of the Flood, too. I found it quite different, not so good, because I didn’t like the way the story was told too much. But still a very interesting book. Be warned: it doesn’t continue where Oryx and Crake finished, it really is different.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

