Potato Quiche

Weekend Cooking

Weekend Cooking is open to anyone who has any kind of food-related post to share: Book (novel, nonfiction) reviews, cookbook reviews, movie reviews, recipes, random thoughts, gadgets, fabulous quotations, photographs. It is hosted by Beth Fish Reads.


Potato Quiche with Broccoli

Potato Quiche with Broccoli

From the first time we made this, it was a favorite with the children. It’s easy to make and delicious!

The recipe I’ve got comes from a supermarket magazine (AH Allerhande 12, 2009). We make it with vegetarian bacon strands rather than real bacon, so substitute if you prefer real.

What you need:

  • 5 big-ish potatoes, that stay firm when cooked
  • 6 slices of puff pastry from the freezer. Ours are about 15 x 15 cm or 6 x 6 inches. Just use enough puff pastry to line a 24 cm / 10 inch oven dish.
  • 125 gram / 4.5 ounces of bacon or vegetarian bacon
  • 3 eggs
  • 125 milliliters / 0.5 cup of double cream (dutch: slagroom)
  • 125 gram / 4.5 ounces of chives (optional, dried or fresh)
  • 100 grams / 3.5 ounces of mature cheese

Ingredients

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 220 C / 430 F.
  2. Peel the potatoes and cut them into thin slices. Cook them for about 5 minutes in salted water. Drain and let cool down.
  3. Cover the quiche dish with the puff pastry slices. Cover the pastry with aluminum foil and put dried beans, lentils or baking beads on top. Put this in the centre of the oven for 8 minutes.

    Preparing oven dish

    Preparing oven dish

  4. Meanwhile fry the (vegetarian) bacon for 5 minutes until crisp.
  5. Take the quiche dish out of the oven, remove the beans and foil, and bake for another 4 minutes. Then take out of the oven again and distribute the potato slices over the dish.
  6. In a bowl, mix the eggs, cream and chives. Pour half of the mix over the potato slices, then add the bacon followed by the rest of the egg and cream mix.
  7. Add the grated cheese and bake in the centre of the oven for about 20 minutes.

The result looks like this:

Quiche

Quiche

You can prepare the quiche one day in advance. Just warm up the finished product, covered with aluminum foil for 20 minutes at 200 C / 400F.

Enjoy!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Potato Quiche

  1. I am not a huge quiche fan but that sounds quite tasty…and easy.
    Real bacon for me please. 🙂

  2. Vicki says:

    That looks and sounds yummy!! I don’t remember the last time I had quiche.

  3. Yoshi says:

    I am a big fan of quiche but never cooked it myself. Your recipe sounds easy yet tasty! I will for sure give it a try next time. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. rikkiscraps says:

    Mmmh, that sounds easy and tasty. I will definitely try this one out.
    Vegetarian bacon strands. Is that made from tofu? Can be fried? I don’t think I have ever seen that before in a shop.

    • leeswammes says:

      Rikki, the vegetarian bacon is made from soy protein and wheat protein. Nothing too natural, then! Yes, it can be fried, just adds a bacon-ish taste to the food.

      I must say, as a vegetarian, I don’t miss the taste of meat at all; I don’t need my meat substitutes to taste of meat. But the taste of bacon I do like a lot. If there’s no pigs involved, ever better!

  5. bethfishreads says:

    I love quiche and I love the idea of puff pastry for the crust — how easy and yummy. I make quiche all the time but never thought of potato quiche. THis is going on my to-try list.

    • leeswammes says:

      Beth, using pre-made pastry is very easy, but of course you can make the quiche from scratch – still with puff pastry or anything else that you think is good for a base.

  6. Heather says:

    That looks so good, I just wish my family would willingly eat quiche.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

