Friday Blog Hop

http://www.crazy-for-books.com/Every Friday, join the Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Jennifer (Crazy-For-Books), and hop to some new blogs. The Book Blogger Hop gives book bloggers a chance to connect and find out what others are reading. Sign up at Jennifer’s blog so people can find your blog too.

This week’s question is: “Do you judge a book by its cover?

My answer: Absolutely and totally. It’s a very important part in deciding whether or not a book is for me. I’m usually right. I only pick up books in the book store that appeal because of their cover. I don’t find the title so important, but the cover says it all!

Since last Friday, I finished:

Other news:

Have a great weekend! If you’ve hopped here because of the Friday hop, do leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

7 Responses to Friday Blog Hop

  1. Have a blast hopping to/following new blogs or beginning great books!

    Here is my Book blogger hop/Follow me/Book Beginnings post! I am a very serious eclectic reader!

  2. Sarah says:

    hopping through! You’ve been busy this week!

  3. Kristin says:

    Stopping by via the hop…I think it depends – there’s a place and time when book covers come into play as to if I will read the book.

    Happy Friday!
    ~Kristin
    Always With a Book

  4. Dona says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I am glad I stopped by yours. I will be back to visit.

    I didn’t really realize how emotional my books were until you mentioned it! 🙂 I do need to read some fiction also. Most of my books are sent to my from publishers, so I can only read what they send.

    And yes, I find it quite odd also!

    Dona

  5. Eveline says:

    Toch bijzonder dat een cover zoveel impact heeft, terwijl lezen zelf zo’n kwestie van ‘imagination’ is. Ik herken het helemaal, zoek ook mijn boeken uit op cover, maar eigenlijk is het heel tegenstrijdig als je er over nadenkt. Of werkt ons voorstellingsvermogen pas goed als we er eerst een beeld/cover bij hebben gekregen? Wellicht is de cover sterk bepalend voor de beelden die zich daarna in je hoofd vormen. Zo las ik laatst het boek ‘het pauperparadijs’. Dat heeft een sepiafoto van een meisje in jaren vijftig kleding. In het verhaal wat daarna volgt blijft in mijn hoofd een sepia beeld bestaan. Alsof in de jaren vijftig alles sepia was.

    Nou ja, dat zijn zo van die beschouwingen op een willekeurige vrijdagavond na een week hard werken. Leuk om je blog te volgen!

    eveline

    • leeswammes says:

      Hoi Eveline, leuk dat je reageert! Hoe het zit met die covers weet ik ook niet. Het bepaalt wel direct een soort sfeer vind ik. Ik kan me goed voorstellen dat je een sepia beeld hebt bij een sepia cover. Grappig!

      Ik denk dat uitgevers heeeel goed weten hoe ze mensen moeten aantrekken met covers (en waarschijnlijk ook wel welke type mensen met welke covers). Ik lees bijvoorbeeld liever covers met een wat moderne uitstraling en abstracte beelden dan van die pastelkleuren met mensen op de cover. Tja!

      Prettig weekend, Eveline!

  6. Bailey says:

    Thanks for stopping by The Window Seat Reader! Enjoy your weekend.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.