We Are All Made Of Glue by Marina Lewycka

We Are All Made Of Glue by Marina Lewycka After reading her two other books A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian and Two Caravans, I was keen to read this next book (2009) by Marina Lewycka.

On the whole, I think the story was a little weaker, as in not quite so convincing, as the other two, but it was still a very nice read.

What it’s about

Georgie Sinclair throws her husband out almost the moment we meet her. She continues living in the family home with her teenage son Ben, and works from home as an editor for several magazines on Adhesives.

One day she meets the smelly old Mrs Shapiro, who lives in the largest house in the area, but has no sense of hygiene, personal or otherwise. The chapter where Georgie has dinner at Mrs Shapiro’s, consisting of out-of-date foods that smell worse than the house itself (which smells essentially of cat pee), is awful. In a hilarious way.

Then Mrs Shapiro has a fall and is taken to hospital. The estate agents are queuing up on her doorstep so they can sell the house which is worth millions of pounds. However, it’s not for sale and Mrs. Shapiro is planning to be back soon. The social worker makes sure she doesn’t (and probably is promised a cut of the estate agent’s fee).

Georgie finds out in time about the scam and tries all she can to get Mrs Shapiro back home. Meanwhile, she also gets involved in a Palestinian/Jewish conflict (on a small scale) and her son turns religious, to the extend of believing Armageddon is just around the corner.

Poor Georgie has to deal with it all, and does so beautifully if not totally believable.

What I thought

A lovely book in which all kind of issues are raised: should old people be forced out of their houses, corrupt estate agents and what to do about them, the Palestinian/Jewish conflict, divorce, and much more.

I found the piling up of story lines and situations a bit too much at times. The Palestinian/Jewish conflict does not hold my interest and for a short while I was thinking that maybe Lewycka had written the book just so she could vent her own ideas about this.

As in Lewycka’s other books, there are lots of funny situations and people with strange accents. It made me laugh at times and I enjoyed the book a lot.

Rating: 4/5

I got this book: borrowed from a friend who knows I like Lewycka’s books as much as she does

I read this in: the original English.

Extra: See also my review of Various Pets Alive and Dead.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

4 Responses to We Are All Made Of Glue by Marina Lewycka

  1. Marie says:

    I have this book on my to-be-read shelf. Hmmm….I might also have a problem with the conflict story line. Thanks for your insight.

    • leeswammes says:

      It was all resolved in a nice way, and never too serious, but I still wasn’t too keen on it, Marie. You’ll have to see for yourself. Lewycka always puts some minority issues in her books.

  2. Jessica says:

    I have read the tractors book and I have this one on loan from my mother who really likes her books. I also have that two caravans one which Im looking forward to as my mum says thats the darker of the three.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

