Off the Shelf 2011 Challenge

Off the Shelf ChallengeBookish Ardour is hosting the Off The Shelf Challenge. That’s my sort of challenge! Have you seen the unread books on my shelf? I’ve got… 30+!

Ok, you don’t find that much, you’ve got way more? Well, I think books are for reading and these 30 keep me awake at night, wondering when I will be able to read them. Then I get new books from the library, from giveaways or for reviews, and all is forgotten.

That’s right, I’ll be reading the new books and forget about my old loves.

So, no more of that. Here is the list of books that I own, haven’t read yet, and will read in 2011:

1. East is East by T. C. Boyle (Read Jan. 20st)
2. 2666 by Roberto Bolano
3. More Tales of the City by Armistead Maupin (DNF, April 28th, 2011)
4. Sweetie by Kathryn Magendie (ebook) (read Jan 25th, 2011)
5. Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination by Helen Fielding (read Jan 7th, 2011)
6. The Bostonians by Henry James (Read in APril, 2011)
7. Little Brother by Cory Doctorov (e-book) (DNF)
8. Measuring the World by Daniel Kehlmann (read April 16th, 2011)
9. 31 Hours by Masha Hamilton (read Jan 9th, 2011)
10. Asylum by Partick McGrath (read)
11. Kindred by Octivia E. Butler (read Jan 4th, 2011)
12. We by Evgeni Zamiatin (e-book)
13. What To Do If Someone Dies by Nicci French (read October 22, 2011)
14. Harvest by Tess Gerritsen (read Jan 2nd, 2011)
15. Life Support by Tess Gerritsen (read Jan 15th, 2011)
16. Life Sentence by David Ellis (DNF, Jan 10th, 2011)
17. Seven Up by Janet Evanovich (read Feb 2011)
18. Solace by Nicci French (read Jan 26th, 2011)
19. The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen (read  Feb 3rd, 2011)
20. Agaat by Marlene van Niekerk (DNF)
21. De tranen der Acacia’s by W. F. Hermans (Dutch) (read Jan 14th, 2011)
22. Ballet Russes by Rosita Steenbeek (Dutch) (read Jan 25th, 2011)
23. Ik haal je op ik neem je mee by Niccolo Amaniti (Dutch) (read Feb 2011)
24. Het volgende verhaal by Cees Nooteboom (Dutch) (DNF, Feb 12th, 2011)
25. A Week in December by Sebastian Faulks
26. The Secret Diary of Alice in Wonderland Age 42 and Three-Quarters by Barbara Silkstone (ebook) (read March 2011)
27. Het ultieme recept by Torgny Lindgren (Dutch)
28. Gran Cafe Boulevard by Tomas Lieske (Dutch) (read in March)
29. The Lady and the Poet by Maeve Haran (read October 2011)
30. Your Presence Is Required at Suvanto by Maile Chapman (Read in APril, 2011)
31. Tikkop by Adriaan van Dis (Dutch, ebook) (read Feb 3rd, 2011)

READ SO FAR (September 10th): 29 books

Now, in my favor it must be said that none of these are older than a year, because at the beginning of 2010 I didn’t have that many books and generally I used to read all my books before I got new books. Now, it’s running out of hand, hence the challenge.

The levels you can choose from for this challenge are 5, 15, 30, 50, 75, over 75, over 125. I’m going for Making a Dint which means that I’m to read 30 books (or however there are on my unread pile by January 1st 2011).

If you’d like to join in too, sign up at Bookish Ardour now!

This challenge, together with the challenge that I host myself (the Book Bloggers Abroad 2011 Challenge) will be the main challenges that I’ll take part in. I will do some other challenges (post about these to follow), but for those I’ll read only a few books.

Wish me luck!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to Off the Shelf 2011 Challenge

  1. Julie says:

    Good luck, Judith! And yes, 30 doesn’t seem like too much to me. I have over 800! LOL

  2. Cindy says:

    My goodness, I thought I was bad with 5 cookbooks waiting for review. Best of luck, enjoy every word.

    • leeswammes says:

      Thanks Cindy. Luckily, there is no hurry to read most of these books, they are not for review or anything. Those for review I try to read as soon as I get them so there isn’t too much of a backlog.

      Good luck with the 5 cookbooks!

  3. Mystica says:

    I think 30 is a manageable level and you will be able to do this (on top of everything else of course)!! good luck.

    • leeswammes says:

      Thanks Mystica. I’m sure I’ll be getting books as presents, for review and giveaways, from books shops, second hand book stall and book swaps, but even so, these 30 will have priority! That’s my goal, at least.

  4. 30??? I’m impressed Judith. Add a couple of 00’s to that and that’s nearer my total (probably more at the moment – I daren’t count them!)

    I think I may join in this challenge and try to make a dent in my pile.

    Good luck with your challenge🙂

    • leeswammes says:

      Join in, Boof! You know, I’ve realized that the books on the shelf are just as good (on average) as the ones in the shops. Otherwise, why would I have got them in the first place? So, I want to read at least those before I get another backlog of books that I get/buy/borrow next year.

      Sounds like you have your own library at home, Boof. I guess when it gets to that point, you’re not so bothered reading them all (or fooling yourself that you will, eventually, read them). But while my pile is still manageable I want to dent it all the way to the bare shelf!

  5. Suzanne says:

    Good luck, Judith! It looks like you have a diverse list. I’ve only read Olivia Joules — it’s a nice, light read.

  6. I thought I was the only one with about 30 TBR books on my shelf?! We must have excellent willpower🙂

    • leeswammes says:

      Oh yes, I do have some willpower, Teacher/Learner! I haven’t bought many books for a while now but I do get them from various other sources. I’m trying to read them faster than they come in.

      Glad to hear there is someone else with “just” 30 books on their shelves. I’ve been hearing wild stories about people having 200 or more (3000!).

  7. Carin B. says:

    Oh wow. I know you’ll do well at this challenge! I would utterly fail. I’ve been reading the books I own lately, but I itch so bad to buy books! Good luck with this challenge. A few of the books look really interesting!

    • leeswammes says:

      It’s a mixture of all kinds of books, Carin! Some I’ve been wanting to read but never got round to and others I’m not so interested in (but sometimes they turn out to be the best).

      Hope you’ll get a little way through your pile, maybe you can replace some old ones with some new ones (first read the old ones, though!).😉

  8. Okay… I think I just said I wouldn’t participate in a challenge but I’m looking at 5 books that I plan to read, plus 6 books for book club (that are all on my book shelf)… so why not sign up right?

    I have only read The Corrections from your list. If I remember right it’s a dysfunctional family, well written (I didn’t love it but it was good, worth reading), a book club selection.

    • leeswammes says:

      Sounds like a plan, Mari! It’s a good idea to read the books off your shelves first because they’re almost guaranteed to be just as good as those in the shops. I promise!

  9. Good luck! I totally forgot that I had The Corrections on my TBR pile (well, that’s because it and some others are actually sitting atop my smaller bookshelf and I neglected to pull them down when I put together my own list of 30 for this challenge).

  10. Care Burpee says:

    Thanks for doing this! I was too late to join your last one, and look forward to participating.

    I have tried numerous ways to add the logo button to my sidebar or into a post, to no avail. Either a gadget error message or a server rejection message comes up. I really want to put the button on my sidebar. Currently, the best I could do was a very boring word based link to your post (no picture). What am I doing wrong?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Care, I saw that you entered for the LIterary Giveaway blog hop in June! That’s great (actually, I was confused because this post you’re commenting on is about something else, but that doesn’t matter🙂 ).

      I’m not a blogspot user so I don’t know about the logo button, sorry. How about checking the links on the Lit giveaway post (hover over them to see if they are a blogpost link) and see if those blogs have a button, then ask that person? Sorry, it’s the best I can think of. Most people will be glad to help out.

      Thanks for joining in, your blog looks just the sort of blog for the blog hop. Great!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

