2011 Challenges

I have decided not to do any challenges for 2011. Except my own, the Book Blogger Abroad 2011 Challenge and, out of necessity, the Off the Shelf Challenge.

Book Bloggers Abroad 2011 ChallengeOff the Shelf Challenge

The Book Blogger Abroad challenge is about reading some of the books that were recommended by guest bloggers from various countries in the popular Book Bloggers Abroad series. I´m doing 10, click on the picture to see what my plans are.

The Off the Shelf Challenge is organised by Bookish Ardour and is all about reading books that you already own but haven´t read. All unread books that are on your shelves at January 1st, 2011 count. I´m going to go for 30, which is roughly the amount of unread books I own at the moment (click on the picture to see which books they are). I’m reading from the pile already so I may be below 30 when 2011 starts. But then, it’s not been Christmas yet. 🙂

So that’s it for challenges!

Except….

Then the posts started to come in with other people’s challenges. And they all looked so good! And some of the people I “know” a little and I feel I should be entering their challenges (I think they’re doing mine too!). So, I relented. But, I also cheated. I can combine most of the challenges with the other two challenges, so some are not really “challenges” as such.

Atrocious Covers ChallengeSouth Asian ChallengeThe Nordic ChallengeSteampunk ChallengeJapanese Literature Challenge

Anyway, it’s a way to link up with (new) people and that is fun too: I can share reviews with them and read theirs, and maybe suggest a book or two. So here comes… the other challenges I’ll be doing:

  • The Atrocious Covers Challenge: organised by Pink Sheep Cafe. Yes, this involves books with ugly covers. I intend to read two. Not sure if I own any yet. I usually judge by the cover so I think not. So, for me, that is a real challenge as I usually don’t read books with ugly covers. Eeeewww!
    1.
    2.
  • South Asian Challenge: organised by S. Krishna, this is a chance for me to consciously pick up a book by a South Asian author. I’m sure if I didn’t do the challenge, a year may go by without reading one!
    1.
  • The Nordic Challenge: organised by Notes From The North. Read books written by authors from a Nordic country or books that are set there.
  • 1. Het ultieme recept by Torgny Lindgren (The Ultimate Recipe)
    2.  Purge by Sofi Oksanen

I’m also still doing the

  • Steampunk Challenge. This is organised by The Bookkeeper and runs from October 2010 to October 2011. I’m reading just three books as I find it very hard to get hold of steampunk books here in the Netherlands (many are not in the library as they are not translated to Dutch yet).
    1. Soulless by Gail Carriger
    2. Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve
    3.
  • Japanese Literature Challenge. This is organised by Dolce Belezza and runs until January 31st, 2011. I was aiming for 3 books but have only read one so far. I can still make it!
    1. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
    2. Out by Natsuo Kirino
    3. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami

That’s it! One big challenge to get it all done. But there is a lot of overlap and it should not be impossible.

How many challenges are you signing up for?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

21 Responses to 2011 Challenges

  1. Mystica says:

    So far only the South Asian Challenge but I am restricted ONLY because I do not have access to so many books all the time. Otherwise I would be doing them all!!!!

    A very happy Christmas to you.

  2. Good luck with all your 2011 challenges; I’m only joing a few this year.

  3. You look to be very organized! I’m going to look at the challenges you have signed up to see the book you want to read. I am not signing up for any challenges, I don’t read enough (just 2/3 books a month on average).

    I have decided to read around the world though – hoping to discover new countries (I read at least 5 books set in India this year).

    Good Luck with the challenges! Challenges seem like fun and are a way to belong to the book community, make new friends and find new books.

    • leeswammes says:

      I love lists, Mari! So preparing for challenges is great. Then doing them is fun, but sometimes I don’t have the time. However, I’m reading 10-15 books per month so I have a good chance to finish. Reading around the world is what I’m doing in the Book Bloggers Abroad Challenge. Hope to find some gems.

      Happy reading, Mari!

  4. Suzanne says:

    I’ve signed up for three so far — What’s in a Name, Back to the Classics, and TBR Pile. I’m probably going to do your Book Bloggers Abroad Challenge too but as I’m making an effort to not purchase any more books until I’ve whittled down my pile I have to see if I can get some of the titles from the library.

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Purge —

    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

    • leeswammes says:

      Hey Suzanne, three or four challenges is not too bad. I can get most of the books for the Book Bloggers Abroad Challenge from the library and hopefully you can, too. I also will try not to buy too many new books…. Happy holidays!

  5. amymckie says:

    Ummm I think the Book Apocalypse is actually a feature on Cass’s blog not a challenge. It’s a feature where she is inviting bloggers to share their list on her blog – I completely love the idea 🙂

  6. Chinoiseries says:

    Argh, now I’m signing up for more and more challenges, all because of you! All those books to read in 2011! 😉

  7. Dorte H says:

    You are braver than me!

    I have signed up for three: my own global reading challenge, the What´s in a Name challenge and the Vintage Mystery Reading Challenge. If I am able to finish one or two in the first half of 2011, I may join more challenges. But I know that I am a bad loser so I loathe joining more than I am sure I can cope with.

  8. chasing bawa says:

    I promised myself I was going to cut down on challenges for next year but I’m weak! I’m trying to keep it to a minimum but like you I got seduced by all the new challenges springing up at this time of year. Good luck and I’m impressed you’ve only got 30 unread books on your shelf:)

  9. Yes, I think I need to read some books off my own shelf first. I collected a few boxes of books from my Dad’s house, where they have been stored for a few years, and discovered that I hadn’t even read all of them before packing them up. So, when you add the books I was given for Christmas, I think my TBR may be about to double! But my other aim for 2011 is to re-read some books. Because otherwise what’s the point of hanging on to books I liked first time round?

  10. rikkiscraps says:

    Ah, so you decided on all your challenges. Too bad you are not joining the One, Two Theme one, as it would have been interesting to see your topics. But you did choose a few other interesting ones nevertheless. 2011 will be a good reading year indeed.
    Rikki

    • leeswammes says:

      I know, Rikki. I did want to do the One, Two Theme challenge, but all in all it got to much. I’m actually going to be ruthless and not even read ANY books other than on my shelf for the coming month. So, I’m not even going to look at the challenges (except the TBR one), to start with.

      Hope you’ll have a good reading year too!

  11. I’m participating in the Off the Shelf Challenge as well (with 30 books listed too!). I really need to get that personal TBR pile (well, actually, 3 heaping piles) down and I picked this challenge to help me do it. I’m also participating in a Steampunk Challenge (not the same one, however) – chose the Parasol Protectorate series by Carriger, the Leviathan/Behemoth books by Westerfield, and the Cherie Priest series and Windup Girl as alternates or additional reads. If you haven’t yet read it, League of Extraordinary Gentleman counts as Steampunk and will likely be more readily available as well! Good luck on all of the challenges!

    • leeswammes says:

      I’ll look out for League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Julie. I hadn’t heard of it. The rest I’ve heard of and also want to read. I read Soulless already and loved it.

  12. Parrish says:

    most of the challenges I’ve chosen to do i can combine, making it easier to post, so I think it’s the only way to do challenges

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

