2010 in review (by WordPress)

WordPress sent me an email with some stats over 2010. My blog did… wow! they say. What do you think?🙂

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A helper monkey made this abstract painting, inspired by your stats.

The average container ship can carry about 4,500 containers. This blog was viewed about 19,000 times in 2010. If each view were a shipping container, your blog would have filled about 4 fully loaded ships.

In 2010, there were 300 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 573 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 171mb. That’s about 2 pictures per day.

The busiest day of the year was September 11th with 412 views. The most popular post that day was Blogfest 2010: Giveaway!.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were twitter.com, ajourneyofbooks.com, Google Reader, crazy-for-books.com, and linkytools.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for friday blog hop, leeswammes, david mitchell author, david mitchell, and zwavelzuur amélie nothomb.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Blogfest 2010: Giveaway! September 2010
155 comments

2

About April 2010
22 comments

3

150 Posts: It’s Giveaway Time! August 2010
63 comments

4

Book Bloggers Abroad – New International Event! June 2010
69 comments

5

Joining the Steampunk Challenge September 2010
12 comments

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to 2010 in review (by WordPress)

  1. Trish says:

    Blogger just started doing stat capabilities this year but I actually forget that they’re there–they don’t seem to be pretty accurate to me. But I love looking at how people came the the blog and what pages they spent the most time looking at–so fun to see the connections.

    I hope you had a lovely New Year’s Day!

    • leeswammes says:

      WordPress is doing stats the whole time, Trish, but it’s just another admin-only page on my blog. It’s fun to see how many people read what post.

  2. Julie says:

    That’s really cool! Keep up the great work! I’m sure 2011 will be even better…..

  3. Nadine Nys says:

    I knew I wasn’t the only one who really enjoyed reading your blog.🙂

  4. I love these stats, I have mine too but haven’t posted them yet.

    Keep up the great work, Judith🙂

  5. I love looking at stats and am always surprised to see the post with the most activity is a post from July, it’s not a book review… just a weekly update that continues to get about 50 hits a week (crazy). I also have a book review from 18 months ago that is on my top 5 everytime I happen to check (and I didn’t care for the book). HA

    Cheers to a fun/successful 2011!

    • leeswammes says:

      That’s odd, Mari. Maybe the weekly update has a book in it that is very popular, so people search for it and end up on your post?

      Have a good 2011 – with some beautiful stats!😉

  6. cbjames says:

    I’m never quite sure what to make of my own stats. I’ve been using sitemeter for several years now. They do not produce these wonderful graphics that your service does.

    Your blog is doing much better than mine is btw, but mine did see a 25% increase in traffic this year.

    • leeswammes says:

      James, I love wordpress and it was a surprise to find an email with these stats today. 25% increase in traffic is great. I love hits, many hits! I just like to know that people appreciate my blog and seeing a good traffic rate is my reward.

  7. Cindy says:

    Wow indeed, well done🙂

  8. amymckie says:

    How fun🙂 Congrats on a great year.

  9. Rachel says:

    wow that is cool! I wish blogger kept records like that.

  10. Suzanne says:

    Congratulations — that must be so rewarding to see those numbers.

    Keep up the great work — I will continue to be one of those increasing your stats in 2011.

  11. Iris says:

    I didn’t receive an email from wordpress, now I’m curious!

    Congratulations on a great blogging year!

  12. Novroz says:

    WordPress is getting better every year, isn’t it🙂 I love this new feature they’ve created.

    I haven’t posted my turtle’s stat yet, but I have mixed the stat for my main blog with my new year’s post.

    300 new posts, not bad for the first year!

    Not bad indeed!! It was awesome!!

  13. nymfaux says:

    Congratulations!!!!!! That’s amazing!!!!! And you should be really proud!!!!!!

  14. Erin says:

    That’s so fun! I particularly enjoy the conversion from views into ship loads.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

