I’m Posting Every Day in 2011

WordPress Administration

Image via Wikipedia

I’m taking wordpress’ lead and will be posting every day in 2011. That’s a resolution, not a fact.🙂

I have been writing quite regularly the last few months and in December there was I think just one day that I didn’t have a post. From now on, you should find at least one new post from me every day, in your email or RSS.

In December, I started making a blog planning list, which I will continue doing in the new year. It tells me what day I’ll be posting what post – although I’m flexible to move things if needed.

I’m hanging it all in a framework that goes like this:

  • Mondays: It’s Monday meme from Bookjourney.
  • Tuesdays: Book review
  • Wednesdays: Book review or something that comes up
  • Thursdays: Back of the Book competition
  • Fridays: Literary Blog Hop meme from the Blue Book Case
  • Saturdays: Not sure yet – another review if I have one
  • Sundays: Every now and then the Weekend Cooking Meme by Beth Fish Reads, and otherwise, I don’t know yet! Help!

We’ll see how it goes. WordPress will give ideas every day but I prefer to write about my own books, cooking and other things that are worthy of a post.

What are your blogging plans for 2011?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

35 Responses to I’m Posting Every Day in 2011

  1. Iris says:

    Wow, posting every day. I know I won’t be able to do that, though I’d like to try. Good luck!

    As for planning my posts, I cannot stick to a pattern like you illustrated, but I do often plan the week ahead, in my head..

    • leeswammes says:

      It’s much, Iris, a post a day, but I seem to have been doing this for a few months now (or very close to a post a day). So I’m going to give it a try. If I find I’m producing too much rubbish to fill the gaps between reviews and memes, then I’ll definitely not continue.

  2. That’s really ambitious! Good luck and you can already count on me to read every one of your posts.

  3. That is quite ambitious of you! Good luck and I’ll be looking forward to reading your posts in my in box daily!

    Heather

  4. WOW – I love reading your posts so this is good news for me!🙂

    I might look at the literary blog hop this year – I will have more time for all things book blogging stating next week (post Ultra). Can you see my giddyness? I can’t wait for the run to be behind me (HA).

    Have a wonderful day!

    ps: can you recommend a good Dutch book for me to read as I try to read around the globe this year?

    • leeswammes says:

      Ha ha Mari, it sounds like your life has come to a stop and won’t start again until after the race. Good luck with the race, by the way. After all your hard training, you should be OK.

      A Dutch book? Well, ask me and I will always recommend my very favorite book ever and that is Beyond Sleep by W. F. Hermans (also Willem Frederik Hermans).

  5. Cat says:

    Happy New Year, Judith.

    I’ll look forward to your daily posts.

  6. That would be mighty impressive to garner a post a day for the year! Good luck🙂 If I may suggest, any days you’re not sure about what to post, just discuss what you’re reading & how you like/don’t like it or particular quotations/characters/parts (w/out spoilers of course!) that stayed with you. I think the majority of blog readers I come across like these types of things…or maybe it’s just me😀 Also, you can never write enough reviews–everyone loves them!

    • leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Teacher/Learner, that’s a great idea! I guess people like anything bookish so that would be a good thing to talk about. I’ll keep my pencil ready to note that sort of things while I’m reading.

  7. I am so impressed – I would love, love to do this! I am excited that you’re doing it, since I love reading your blog! 🙂

  8. Dorte H says:

    I could easily blog every day as I don´t work full time, but when I do, it is often at the expense of my writing, so like last year, my goal is to read (and maybe blog) less and write more fiction.

    I do like having plans for two-three days a week, e.g. my Bait-in-the-box posts, but not more than that so there is also scope for some flexibility.

    • leeswammes says:

      I’m wondering if that will happen, Dorte. In fact, I haven’t really done much writing. This year is when I want to become more serious about it. But I hope to be more organised about blogging so I can still do it. If people who work full-time can post several times a week, I should be able to do it every day (as I don’t work)…. I hope.

  9. Wow! Every day? That takes a lot of work. I used to do that, but found it too much. Good luck in your quest🙂

    • leeswammes says:

      Oh, thanks for the encouragement, Jackie. NOT.🙂 We’ll see how it goes, I’m not going to be obsessed about it, just think I can possibly do it since I’ve been doing a post a day for more than a month (except one day).

  10. alitareads says:

    Daily posting for a year is ambitious goal! Best of luck🙂

    If you’re looking for something to do on a few of the Saturday’s you don’t have a review to post, I do a music + books feature that day called Soundtrack Saturdays.

    Looking forward to seeing what 2011 has in store for your blog!

  11. Rachel says:

    wow! big commitment but I have no doubt you can do it🙂 I will be refraining from any sort of reading/blogging plans because I know I won’t stick to them. Goodluck!

  12. Oh dear Judith … I congratulate you on your goal but rather hope you don’t make it!! (For selfish reasons)

    This is in no way a criticism of your goal – I applaud the commitment and inspiration – but I wonder how I should go about managing all the reading involved if all the bloggers I watch wrote every day?? And how do you manage to write your posts, read and comment on other blogs, read books as well so you can blog them – and live the rest of your life?

    I’m with Rachel and others – I don’t have specific blogging or reading plans as for me it would add pressure to what I want to be fun. But we are all different aren’t we in our needs…

  13. Julie says:

    I will try to post every day in 2011 as well. I look forward to reading your blog, Judith…..

  14. I love to see other people writing down their plans. Things are too apt to change around my house for me to actually be that detailed (if [when] I get a new job, the blogging will not be as steady, and a meme or two will need to drop to the wayside, and my review count will go down, etc.) .. BUT I have entered into some challenges this year in hopes of trimming my massive personal TBR pile, and I’d like to get my review pile down to the teens and keep it there or less (starts to feel too much like work instead of the enjoyment that I should get from reading). Other than that, I’m staying super-flexible. 🙂

  15. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    I’ll be reading all of them!

  16. teadevotee says:

    It will be so great when you get to January 1st 2012 and can look back on a whole year’s worth of posts!

  17. LindyLouMac says:

    Ciao and best wishes for 2011, I am back at last catching up on so much that I missed while I was away from the blogsphere!

    I have actually decided to blog less in 2011 as last year I read less books than I have done for years! Too much time blogging and reading blogs not enough actually reading!

    Anyway I wish you all the best.

  18. Pingback: I'm Posting Every Day in 2011 (via Leeswammes' Blog) « christygee

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

