The Bed I Made by Lucie Whitehouse

The Bed I Made by Lucie WhitehouseThis book I bought in the summer, and finally got round to reading. It was a TV Book Club Summer Read.

The Bed I Made: What it is about

Kate is a translator who moves from London to the Isle of Wight. She has very recently finished her relationship with Richard. So recently, that he doesn’t even know it, and neither has she told him where she went.

She has a good reason to avoid Richard: he is a dangerous man.

The story alternates between life on the Isle of Wight and Kate settling in, while also being quite lonely, and her relationship with Richard, how it started and developed.

For a long time, Kate expects Richard to find her and show up one day, which makes this into a thriller, although the suspense element was not very strong.

The Bed I Made: What I thought

I thought the book was very well written (better than the women’s fiction-cover suggests). The alternating story lines were sometimes a little confusing and too obviously set up by the author to slowly release part of the story.

The story seemed to work towards a climax where Richard would find Kate and something bad would happen. I won’t reveal whether this did in fact happen, but the suspense about it was weak (there were some elements in the story suggesting that something might happen but nothing to put up the hairs on the back of your neck) and it was stretched out during too long a part of the book. In the end, I got a bit impatient about it all.

This is not just a thriller. It is also a story about relationships, about friendships, and about trusting your fellow human beings.

A pleasant read, but not a thrilling thriller.

Rating: 4/5

I got this book: bought it from Tesco’s supermarket

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 320

First published: 2010

Genre: women’s fiction, thriller

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to The Bed I Made by Lucie Whitehouse

  1. Cindy says:

    I get annoyed that so many publishers put chic-lit pictures on the covers and so alienate a big percentage of readers. I, for instance- won’t even look at a pink cover.

  2. I read this book about 6 months ago, Judith, and although I did enjoy it, I wasn’t blown away by it at all. It was a “nice” read but that’s about it.

    • leeswammes says:

      Boof, you are more of a detective/thriller reader than me. Maybe you looked at it from that point of view? I was expecting a women’s novel maybe almost chicklit. From that point of view, I quite liked it, but as I said, the thriller element was weak, and for me, unexpected.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Bed I Made by Lucie Whitehouse « Leeswammes' Blog -- Topsy.com

  4. Books that deal with relations and interactions between people are among my favourites. But as you say, the cover gives a wrong idea.

  5. Suzanne says:

    I totally agree about the cover — I’m not sure if I would even pick it up if I saw it in the store. Sad, really, because it does sound like an interesting premise.

  6. This sounds pretty good. Thanks for the review on a new title for me!

  7. angelica says:

    This is the reason I read reviewers. Pink is my favorite color and so is purple. Excellent review. Thanks

  8. I have been in the mood for suspense recently so this might be a good title for me.

    I’m going to see if it’s at my library🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

