The Back of the Book Competition – Week 1

Back of Book CompetitionIt’s time for the first week of the Back of the Book Competition! In this competition, I will show you the back cover of a book each week, and it’s up to you to guess which book it is. There are prizes to be won, and the more often you participate, the more chances you have to win.

Please send in your own pictures! You will be featured on my blog and you will get a win for the week that your cover is placed. See full information here.

Today’s featured blog is Leeswammes. That’s right, no one sent in any back covers yet, so I go first!

Hi, I’m Judith from Leeswammes’ Blog. I started blogging in April 2010 and I mainly post book reviews and sometimes a recipe. I like literary fiction, women’s fiction, mysteries, chick-lit and lots more.

The book I like to feature is one that I enjoyed a lot (I gave it 4.5/5). It’s a coming of age story about a boy whose father isn’t present in his life much, always working. The boy’s life is completely changed after an accident. The book is very believable and a good read for lovers of contemporary fiction.

Book for Back of the Book Week 1

 

Which book is this?

  • Player One by Douglas Coupland
  • Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon
  • The Beautiful Miscellaneous by Dominic Smith

Fill out the form HERE. Anyone can enter and you can start joining the competition at any moment. The form will be valid until the next post of the Back of the Book competition is up.

Even if you have no idea, enter anyway. At the end of the competition (in June), everyone that played is entered to win a book. You will be entered as often as the number of weeks you played (with a correct or wrong answer). So, play often, have more chances to win the book. In addition, there is a prize for the person that guessed correctly most often.

The book last week was: (no book last week as this is the first week)

The current standings are:

Everyone has 0 points!

Anyone can join in. You don’t need a blog. Just a name and an email address is enough (Email address will be used only to keep track of entrants over the weeks. Plus I don’t like completely anonymous entries). Send in a picture if you’d like (not compulsory at all).

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

25 Responses to The Back of the Book Competition – Week 1

  1. rikkiscraps says:

    Fun contest. I love it. It was not too hard, that is true, but I think as soon as it is multiple choice how hard can it be?

    I’ll have a look for a cover or two today…

    Rikki

    • leeswammes says:

      Well, even with multiple choice, if the back is not to clear, and the choices quite similar, it may not be so easy. But I’m looking forward to your (more difficult) picture! Thanks in advance, as you see, no one did one yet.

  2. Host says:

    It was not so easy🙂 It sounds like a very interesting book, I’ll give it a try. Thanks for the contest!

  3. Suzanne says:

    I took a guess on this one, but the premise sounds familiar to a book I read recently called The Homecoming Party by Carmine Abate.

    I’ll look through my shelves to see if I find a challenging one for you….

    • leeswammes says:

      I don’t know The Homecoming Party, Suzanne. Did you like it? I’ll check your blog for a review…

      Yes, please do find a challenging cover, that would be great. It could mean one point for you, none for the others…. {grin}

  4. I agree with Cindy that this one was fairly easy (and I hadn’t heard of this book before). But it’s not a bad idea to start off easy and get harder! I’m still planning to submit something at some point…

    • leeswammes says:

      That would be great, avisanneschild! Get your camera out for a nice book (as long as you reviewed it since June 2010). Sounds like I have to make it a little more difficult, somehow! Thanks for entering!

  5. Sabrina says:

    This is fun. Thanks for running it.

  6. Chinoiseries says:

    Your fault!!! I have no added all books to my ever-growing to-read list!😉

  7. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    Lol well it took me a while to find it!

    I’ll send you a back cover soon

  8. Rachel says:

    What a fun and original competition!

  9. Leslie says:

    I’m guessing it’s the only one of the four I hadn’t heard of. And it sounds pretty good too.

  10. chasing bawa says:

    Great competition! But very difficult. I can see it getting addictive though;P

  11. Not certain but I’ve made a guess! I’ll look out for some back covers to send you. Great idea!

  12. Runner Sami says:

    Great idea! I’ll have to come up with something challenging to send to you. Do you want a synopsis like you did with your book choice?

    • leeswammes says:

      Runner Sami, oh yes, please send in something nice! You can do as much or as little as you like but the more you give me the more you control what’s getting posted.

      I need at least a title & author for the book. A synopsis would be good (in your own words, so you can recommend the book, or not). Then if you have any good suggestions for the other 3 books that people should choose from in the multiple choice, even better, and a few lines about you and your blog are nice too. But whatever you don’t send, I’ll make up myself.🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

