It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

I finished 5 books in the last week:

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler, a time travel book about a modern black woman accidentally ending up in the american South in the 1800s where she is treated as a slave. Very good! 4.5 stars

Dead Politician Society by Robin Spano (e-book), entertaining. About a young female police agent infiltrating a political group. 3.5 stars

Sukwann Island by David Vann (e-book), a brilliant book about survival in Alaska. 4.5 stars

Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination by Helen Fielding, nice and surprisingly not chick-lit. 4 stars

31 Hours by Masha Hamilton, which was rather boring. 2.5 starsj


Kindred by Octavia E. ButlerDead Politician Society by Robin SpanoSukkwan Island by David Vann

Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination by Helen Fielding31 Hours by Masha HamiltonLife Sentence by David EllisSweetie by Karthyn Magendie

Reading

Life Sentence by David Ellis, a thriller.

Sweetie by Kathryn Magendie (ebook), hillbilly fiction.

After that, I’m reading (more) from my unread books shelf – it could be any of these books….

Other news

The Bed I Made by Lucie WhitehouseReus by Annelies VerbekeBodies and Language by Vaidehi Ramanthan

I wrote a review of The Bed I Made by Lucie Whitehouse.

I also wrote a review of Reus [Giant] by Annelies Verbeke [Dutch].

And a very belated review of Bodies and Language by Vaidehi Ramanathan.

Check out the new books that made it to Chez Leeswammes.

The Back of the Book competition has started. Enter your guess for the back cover of Week 1. Anyone can enter.

*****

Please send in pictures for the crazy Back of the Book competition!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    Right now Think of a Number but its slow going as I am overwhelmed with work.

  2. Kylie says:

    Looks like a great week. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. High marks for Kindred. Think I need to add this to my must read list. Have a wonderful week!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention It's Monday, what are you reading? Here's my list: -- Topsy.com

  5. Alleluialu says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Your book list is very interesting…I love time travel books and Kindred is on my wish list now. What are you Reading Monday certainly has exposed me to some great books that I may never have heard about otherwise. So glad I did it this week!

    Have a great week!

  6. Kah Woei says:

    The title “Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination” certainly caught my eye. I just might check it out.

  7. Five books! You had a great week!

  8. Runner Sami says:

    Great book list! Thanks for the reviews! I just finished Ultra Marathon Man and Hector and the Search for Happiness, very different but both excellent.🙂

  9. Suzanne says:

    Kindred sounds like one I need to put on the list.

    Enjoy your week.

  10. I read two! Five is good!

    Here is my post!

  11. woordenaar says:

    Only read one book, Verzwelg me (translation from Swallow me whole) by Nate Powell. It’s a graphic novel about two teeners suffering from schizophrennia.
    I’m reading Vrijheid by Jonathan Frantzen and The Pirate’s dilemma by Matt Mason.

  12. I have Olivia Joules on my stacks. Too bad that it wasn’t great, but maybe I’ll enjoy it with lowered expectations.

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/monday-memes-mailbox-what-are-you-reading-jan-10/

  13. Chinoiseries says:

    I really liked Olivia Joules too! As for the rest, nope, not read them yet.

  14. Did you really read 5 books last week? You are my hero!🙂 The most I have read in one week was three, while on vacation!!!

    I highly recommend Lipstick in Afghanistan if you can get a copy – oh so good… I learned so much while reading this book and it’s a great story.

    Have a wonderful week!

    • leeswammes says:

      It wasn’t really that much, Mari. One e-book was almost finished. Another was only 100 pages. Then there was a fast book of 225 pages and another fast book. Only Kindred took a “normal” amount of time to read. But it’s nice to have them off my shelf!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

