Dead Politician Society by Robin Spano

Dead Politician Society by Robin SpanoWhen I heard about this book I put it on my wish list as it sounded really nice. Then the author offered it at a very low price as an e-book. That was interesting! Only, being in Europe, I wasn’t allowed to download it and eventually I got a free e-copy via Netgalley.

Dead Politician Society: What it is about

This is a mystery in which twenty-something police agent Clare Vengel goes undercover at a university course. It is the first in a series of mystery novels about Clare.

After the mayor dies at a public event, an email is sent to the obituary editor of a local newspaper. It’s sent by a group called Society for Political Utopia who claim to have poisoned him.

It soon emerges that this group may be linked to a political sciences course at university. As Clare is young enough to pass for a student, she goes undercover and attends the course.

The Society for Political Utopia is a secret society possibly run by the professor, Matthew, who is teaching the Poli Real World course on which Clare is admitted at the very last minute. She suspects several of the students, but also the professor is a possible candidate as a killer.

A number of other politicians are killed at public events but only at the very end, it becomes clear who the killer is.

The book is told over the course of several days and alternates between a number of main characters.

Dead Politician Society: What I thought

There were too many characters at the beginning of the book, I had to write their names down and draw arrows to keep track of how they were related. Later on, this turned out to be a little superfluous as several of the characters played a very minor role.

I love stories that take place at university! The setting was convincing. I’ve spent many years at universities and this could very well have been a real course being taught at a real university.

Clare was a tough cookie, but a likable person. She was not without faults. In fact, she was almost withdrawn from the case a few times, and got very little credit for the times she did manage to uncover something. This made the story very believable.

On the other hand, Clare wasn’t very active as an undercover cop and the information she did uncover, she found almost by accident. She was never in any real danger and that was a pity. I think the book would have been stronger if someone had caught onto the fact that Clare was a police agent and tried to boycott her in her investigations or even tried to remove her from the action, so to speak.

I didn’t think it was a brilliant story but it was entertaining and good for a few hours of fun reading. As I had hoped, there wasn’t too much politics in the story.

Rating: 3.5/5

I got this book: free as an ebook from Netgalley (no cover picture)

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 328

First published: 2010

Genre: mystery

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Dead Politician Society by Robin Spano

  1. Cindy says:

    Sounds like a book one could take or leave.

    • leeswammes says:

      I guess it is. I find, though, that is the case with so many books now. I read a much worse one over the weekend, though AND gave up on another one just yesterday. Compared to those, this is pretty good!

  2. Miel Abeille says:

    Hi!🙂

    This sounds like a great book to curl up with during a snow storm. Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Dead Politician Society by Robin Spano « Leeswammes' Blog -- Topsy.com

  4. I have it on Kindle for iPad an think I will read it soon. It sounds like a relaxing and quick read.

  5. Chinoiseries says:

    Sounds pretty promising, thanks for the review! Have you ever read the Thursday Next novels by Jasper Fforde? There is also an element of mystery in them and a lot of reference to books.

    • leeswammes says:

      I’ve read the first of the Thursday Next novels, which was fun. I think the library didn’t have the next one in the series so I never continued reading. I should try again!

  6. Margot says:

    We must have been reading this book at the same time. I like that. Our reactions are quite similar too. For instance, we were both confused about the characters at the beginning of the book and had to take notes. I also agree that it wasn’t a brilliant plot but it was entertaining.

    I like your back-of-the-book contest above. I’m going to have to see if I can figure it out.

    • leeswammes says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Margot. Yes, funny how we read this at the same time. I’m not a great e-book reader, I have to read it on my laptop. I wonder if it’s easier to follow if I could go back a few pages to check who is who. I find scrolling not so handy.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

