It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

I finished 3 books in the last week and gave up on another book:

Life Support by Tess Gerritsen. A medical thriller which I enjoyed a lot. Review to come.

The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern. A really nice book about a 16-year old girl and her mother who move in with her aunt and uncle in the countryside after her father dies and leaves her and her mother devastated. Review to come.

De tranen der Acacia’s [The Tears of the Acacia’s] by W. F. Hermans [Dutch] A book about two men in WWII and their friendship. Review to come.

Life Sentence by David Ellis. I didn’t actually finish this, only read 50 pages. It’s a legal thriller in which senators are doing anything to win votes. I don’t like political stories very much, so I gave up. No review forthcoming.

Life Support by Tess GerritsenThe Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern

Life Sentence by David EllisEast is East by T. C. BoyleSweetie by Karthyn Magendie

Reading

East is East by T. C. Boyle, about a Japanese-American sailor who grew up in Japan but when his ship nears America jumps ship (to start a life there? I’m not sure yet).

Sweetie by Kathryn Magendie (ebook), hillbilly fiction.

After that, I’m reading (more) from my unread books shelf – it could be any of these books from my TBR ….

I wrote reviews of:

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler, a time travel book about a modern black woman accidentally ending up in the american South in the 1800s where she is treated as a slave. Very good! 4.5 stars

Dead Politician Society by Robin Spano (e-book), entertaining. About a young female police agent infiltrating a political group. 3.5 stars

Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination by Helen Fielding, nice and surprisingly not chick-lit. 4 stars

Publieke Werken by Thomas Rosenboom [Review in Dutch] Historical fiction about two cousins who want to do right, but cause a lot of havoc.
Kindred by Octavia E. ButlerDead Politician Society by Robin SpanoOlivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination by Helen FieldingPublieke werken by Thomas Rosenboom

Other news:

The Back of the Book competition has started. Enter your guess for the back cover of Week 2. Anyone can enter.

Check out my Rice Cookies which I made last week!

Find out about Bloggiesta – I’m taking part, you too?

*****

Please send in pictures for the crazy Back of the Book competition!

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Julie says:

    I read The Book Of Tomorrow a few weeks ago. I really enjoyed it. I am looking forward to your review!

  2. alitareads says:

    I’ve had The Book of Tomorrow on my shelf for a while now. I’ve really got to read it! Glad to hear you liked it.

  3. Cindy says:

    Dana Snyman ‘Op die toneel’ (Afrikaans) and The adventures of a Bed Salesman by Michael Kumpfmuller.
    Hope you have a super week🙂

  4. Majanka says:

    So many novels! I don’t get to read that many per week, unfortunately. Nice selection. Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? post.

  5. I thoroughly enjoyed your review of Kindred, and still hope to read this one day. Also thanks for reminding me about the upcoming Bloggiesta. I was vaguely aware it was coming up, but now I know when I will be looking forward to it. Have a great weekend.

  6. Aleksandra says:

    Still haven’t read any books by Tess Gerritsen, although she’s on my must-read author list! Have a great week!

  7. Suzanne says:

    I like the way you described East is East, with just that little bit of suspense that makes me want to know more about it. Can’t wait to see your review.

    Have a great week!

    • leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, T. C. Boyle is one of my favorite writers. But somehow I don’t know much about this book East is East. I think it’s going to be good, though!

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « Leeswammes' Blog -- Topsy.com

  9. Esme says:

    I am going to get a copy of Kindred-thank you for sharing.

  10. Stella says:

    Thanks for hoping by!
    Kindred sounds like an interesting book. Love to hear what you think of it. I’ve added it to my to-read list.

  11. I am reviewing The Book Of Tomorrow too! I cant wait!

  12. I have The Book of Tomorrow sitting second (after the one I’m reading and then Delirium) on my review pile. I think I will enjoy it. I think I may start including the books I start but can’t finish, as I ran into one last week that I just couldn’t get into at all … after 50 pages, there should be SOMEthing in the story that makes you want to read more. I’m pretty sure I have an eBook of Sweetie; if not, it’s on my to-buy list. I’m off to read your review of Kindred! Enjoy your reading week!

    • leeswammes says:

      Julie, I think so too: if after 50 pages you’re not at all interested in the story, then maybe you shouldn’t read on. In the case of the book that I didn’t finish, it was even worse: I actively disliked the people and the topic of the book!🙂

  13. You have a really interesting reading list. I read your review of DPS and I agree with it. Really good.
    CD

  14. Good for you for knowing when a book isn’t a good fit for you – I have bailed on only a handful of books… all of them were titles I didn’t select on my own.

    I am deciding if I have time to participate in Bloggiesta. I have plenty I could do but my husband returns from London on Friday so I should/will spend the weekend with him…🙂

  15. woordenaar says:

    I only read books on my e-reader last week. First finished The Pirate Dillema by Matt Mason, good non-fiction. After that I read Tikkop by Adriaan van Dis, a nice novel set in South-Africa.
    Now reading: still reading in Freedom by Jonathan Franzen and started in De trein bij Georges Simenon.

    • leeswammes says:

      I’m still thinking about whether I’d like an e-reader, woordenaar. I’m quite attached to the paper versions too.

      I’ve got Tikkop as an e-book – you already said it was quite good, so I’ll definitely place it in the e-reading queue!

  16. Two books I recently read were Socialnomics (nonfiction) and Beach Week (fiction).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

