Harvest by Tess Gerritsen

Harvest by Tess GerritsenI don’t read medical thrillers very often, and really you could say this is a new genre for me. I got this book from a book swap, and I wouldn’t normally buy it myself, but I did enjoy it well enough.

Harvest: What it is about

Dr Abby DiMatteo is a doctor who works in a hospital that is famous for its organ transplants.

She is offered a coveted place on the transplantation team but spoils her prospects by allowing a donor heart to be given to a young boy without insurance rather than to a middle aged woman, a private patient, who was initially promised the donor heart.

Soon the husband of the female patient makes allegations against her and gets former patients to sue her for incompetence. But when people start to die Abby begins to investigate what is going on in an attempt to save her job.

Harvest: What I thought

This was a real thriller, and I wanted to keep reading so I wouldn’t have to endure the suspense for too long!

The story is well-written and there are no moments when I found the story unbelievable. However, I did sometimes think the the story repeated previously used elements (in other books) such as Abby being accused of being paranoid so no one would believe her findings.

Rating: 4/5

I got this book: from a book swap

I read this in: Dutch, the original language is English

Number of pages: 298

First published: 1997

Genre: thriller, medical thriller

Extra: Check out my review of Life Support, The Bone Garden, The Sinner, and The Mephisto Club, also by Tess Gerritsen.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Harvest by Tess Gerritsen

  1. Cindy says:

    I’ve read this one and enjoyed it, your rating and review is spot on. Have a good Saturday🙂

  2. Mystica says:

    I quite like the sound of this book. Have read one of her books but this sounds more thrilling.

  3. Dorte H says:

    Tess Gerritsen is one of these writers I have thought about trying for years. The impression I have got of her books is that they are okay, but not exactly unforgettable. So like you, I´ll probably try her if I find one at the right price.

    • leeswammes says:

      Gerritsen books are quite easy reads, not at all trash, but not very difficult, so just try her sometime, Dorte. What I liked was that this was a medical thriller which is not something I’ve read before (or a long time ago maybe).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

