Life Support by Tess Gerritsen

Life Support by Tess GerritsenThis book was one of an omnibus of two books, the other being Harvest. I read Harvestfirst. Both books are medical thrillers and follow a similar pattern in how the story was built up. I liked Life Support better as it was a little less dramatic (until the end!).

Life Support: What it is about

Doctor Toby Harper doesn’t have a life. She spends her nights working in the emergency room of a small hospital and her days looking after her mother with Alzheimers.

When in one week’s time, two very healthy but old men are brought in with similar symptoms and it transpires that they are living in the same luxury estate for pensioners, she starts to investigate. Why does their doctor refuse an autopsy even though the cause of death isn’t certain? And why do the medical notes of these men disappear?

She gets some help from a friendly pathologist, and he backs her even when events conspire against her. But when her mother is taken ill with suspected poisoning, Toby is on her own. The police suspects that her busy and troubled life are too much for her, and that she decided to take her mother out of the equation.

Toby has to find out who poisoned her mother, as well as solving the mystery of the dead men.

Life Support: What I thought

This was a real page turner. At least, once the story was under way, it was very hard to stop reading.

The story was quite realistic and although there were several reasons why doctors and police doubted her credibility, it was never over the top.

There was a second story line with a pregnant girl, and for a long time it wasn’t clear what she had to do with the main story, but in the end it was all wrapped up very nicely.

A fun book to read if you want to be immersed in a book for a few hours.

Rating: 4/5

I got this book: in a bookswap

I read this in: Dutch, English is the original language

Number of pages: 298

First published: 1997

Genre: thriller

Extra: Check out my review of HarvestThe Bone Garden, The Sinner, and The Mephisto Club, also by Tess Gerritsen.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Life Support by Tess Gerritsen

  1. Chinoiseries says:

    I remember how I enjoyed Robin Cook’s medical thrillers, did you ever read one of those? This does seem like a good book to read when you want to sit back and relax (er, while immersing yourself in a good thriller). I’ll have to check out the library soon!

    • leeswammes says:

      I’ve read one Robin Cook thriller, *Critical*, which I thought was really good (I gave it 5 stars at the time).

      Yes, the book is ideal for a relaxing afternoon. It is not so thrilling as Harvest, in the sense that with Harvest (see review a few days ago), I became a bit agitated because it was all so awful. This bit is a bit “quiter” in that sense.

  2. Cindy says:

    I think I’d enjoy this one!

  3. Amanda says:

    I’ve read quite a few of Tess Gerritsen’s novels, including this one. Yes, you’re right – it was a page turner and one that I really enjoyed. I read it during a winter’s sojourn to Canberra (Australia’s capital) in July 2009. I read 3 Gerritsens in a row!

    Glad you enjoyed it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Wow, three Gerritsen in a row! That would be a bit too much for me. I read Harvest first, which I found even more thrilling than Life Support. After that, although Life Support was in the same volume, I just had to read a few other books first, because it was a bit too much, somehow.

      I love alternating books, an easy one, a literary one, a thriller.🙂

  4. Becca says:

    I enjoyed all of her books and i really want to meet her!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

