New Arrivals!

In the last 2 weeks I received several books. Don’t worry, except for “urgent” ARCs, I will first read books from my TBR from pre-January 2011!

For review from Harper:

Tourquai by Tim Dyvis

Tourquai by Tim Davys

This book is translated from the Swedish AND Tim Davys is not the author’s real name. No one (?) knows who he is…. Anyway, the book’s back cover says: A horrendous crime sets off a disturbing chain of events that forces the stuffed animals of Mollisan Town to debate their free will and destiny in this powerful tale.

Hmm, sounds intriguing to me. I wonder what it’s like to read a book with a cast of stuffed animals. Is it a bit like reading Animal Farm? I would like that!

The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern

The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern

I already read this and loved it. Check out my review. About a 16-year old rich girl whose life it turned upside down when she and her mother have to move in with her aunt and uncle in the country side where there is nothing for her to do. Family secrets are uncovered and it’s a very nice read.

I Is Another by James Geary

I Is Another by James Geary

This is non-fiction and it sounded interesting to the language-interested person that I am. From the back cover: For lovers of language and fans of Blink and Freakonomics […] James Geary offers a fascinating look at metaphors and their influence on every aspect of our lives.

This could be either very interesting or a little too much. This sort of book, I may enjoy the first five chapters very much, after which my attention moves to other books. I have good hopes for this one, though. It has short chapters on different aspects of metaphors. I’ve just started this yesterday.

Don't Sing at the Table by Adriana Trigiani

Don’t Sing at the Table by Adriana Trigiani

(Subtitled: Life Lessons from my Grandmothers)

I’ve read all of Trigiani’s adult fiction (except the Valentine series) and I love her books. I know that in her books her Italian heritage plays a large role and I’m looking forward to read more about Trigiani’s background.

From the back cover: Tirigiani visits the past to seek answers to the essential questions that define the challenges women face today at work and at home. This is a primeur, grandmother to granddaughter, filled with everyday wisdom and life lessons that are truly “tiramisu for the soul”.

Spark by Julie Burstein

Spark: How Creativity Works by Julie Burnstein and Kurt Andersen

Another non-fiction book. I love to find out how great minds get their ideas.

From the back cover: In Spark, Julie Burstein traces the roots of some of the twenty-first century’s most influential and creative thinkers, including Joyce Carol Oates, Yo-Yo Ma, David Milch, Isabelle Allende and Joshua Redman.

 

Borrowed from a friend for our next real-life book group read:

Ik Ben Niet Bang by Niccolo Ammaniti

Ik ben niet bang [I’m Not Scared] by Niccolò Ammaniti

We’re going to read this book in February for the book group that I started with a friend about 4 years ago. We’re normally reading books originally published in English but made an exception for this Italian author. I’ve read a few books by him and enjoyed the experience a lot!

From the Dutch on-line book sellers bol.com: One relentlessly hot summer, six children explore the scorched wheat-fields that enclose their tiny Italian village. When the gang find a dilapidated farmhouse, nine-year-old Michele Amitrano makes a discovery so momentous he dare not tell a soul. It is a secret that will force Michele to question everything and everyone around him.

Won in a giveaway (from Tiina at a book blog of one’s own)

Purge by Sofi Oksanen

Purge by Sofi Oksanen

When I heard about this book on a few other blogs, I was really interested, and put it on my wishlist. Then I won a copy in a giveaway from Tiina at a book blog of one’s own! Christmas come late!

This is about an old woman who lives alone in a cottage in the woods. One day, a younger woman who is on the run for some men, asks to be taken in by her. The young woman has a photograph which shows the older woman when she was younger. The past that she tried to forget seems to catch up with her.

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?


About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. I’ve heard great things about both Purge and I’m not Scared – look forward to your reviews on both.

  2. liannouwen says:

    I’ve wanted to read a book by Niccolò Ammaniti for a long time now. Didn’t get around to do it yet though. I’m looking forward to hear what you think about it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ve read two of his books so far. Het laatste oudejaar van de menshied (The Last New Year’s Eve of Humanity) is on my Dutch blog and I also read Het feest kan beginnen (Let the Party Begin). I liked them both, but the former a little better. They’re quite unrealistic, mad stories, but isn’t that fun sometimes?

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention New Arrivals! « Leeswammes' Blog -- Topsy.com

  4. Amanda says:

    You probably know that I hated the Adriania Trigiani book that I was sent from a publisher last year (Very Valentine).

    Others seem to rave about her books – but they seemed for people who like Sex in the City and are obsessed with spine-destroying, crippling, misogynist footwear.

    But SPARK sounds wonderful I’m off to Borders in Adelaide tomorrow, so I’m thinking… I might add it to my list of must-buy books🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Amanda, before you go: Spark isn’t out until Feb. 15th…. So I don’t think Borders will have it. It’s nice to hear you’re interested though. I think I’ll have it read + reviewed before or just after the 15th so you’ll be able to see if it is what you expect.

      Your description of Trigiani readers is insulting, or at least, that’s how I take it to be. I guess there is a place in the world for people who are obsessed with spine-destroying, crippling, misogynist footwear but these are not your typical Trigiani readers. I think. My friend and I love her books and we wear decent footwear, always.🙂

      I haven’t read *Very Valentine* so I can’t comment on that.

  5. I’m Not Scared was an excellent movie that your book group might like to watch as a supplementary “read”. Hope the book is just as good.

  6. Young1 says:

    i have been meaning to get hold of a copy of Book of Tomorrow and still intend to get a copy! Looks like an upbeat read!

  7. I joined the Italy in Reading Challenge this year so I really need to dive into Trigiani’s work. Enjoy your books🙂

  8. I read I’m Not Scared when it first came out. I can’t remember much about it. I’ll have to dig out the review I wrote for my student paper to jog my memory!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

