Literary Blog Hop: February 2-5

Literary Blog Hop

The Literary Blog Hop is organised by The Blue Book Case. It’s a biweekly event for blogs that discuss primarily literary fiction and classics. Hop over the The Blue Book Case if you want to join in!

This week’s discussion question is:

“What setting (time or place) from a book or story would you most like to visit? Eudora Welty said that, “Being shown how to locate, to place, any account is what does most toward making us believe it…,” so in what location would you most like to hang out?”

My answer: I would love to visit Alaska! I’ve read a few books in the last year or so that took place there and I think the nature must be so beautiful, rough, and scary, too. It can be a lonely place but where there are towns, I imagine the people to huddle together to face the bitter cold in winter.

Most recently I read Sukkwan Island by David Vann, in which a father and son try to survive for a whole year on an remote Alaskan island. I read Raven Stole the Moon by Garth Stein last year. Here, a woman goes back to Alaska where her family comes from, which (literally) is a magical place. And before my blogging life, I read Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer in which a man tries to survive on his own in the Alaskan wilderness.

Now I want to sample it for myself!

Literary fiction I read since my last literary blog hop:

East is East by T. C. Boyle – Very well-written book about a Japanese sailor (with an unknown American father) who illegally enters the US at Georgia, near an artists’ colony. One of the writers sees a good story in him and hides him in her cabin.

Sukwann Island by David Vann – Another very well-written book. A divorced man takes his 12 year old son to the Alaskan wilderness, to spend a year there living off the land. That is a lot harder than they thought. Recommended.

Other news:

Join the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (February 19-23). Give away a (literary) book or book related item and link to other bloggers who are also holding a giveaway. Lots of blog traffic, lots of readers, lots of fun. Enter as a participant now. And did you notice the “Literary” bit?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to Literary Blog Hop: February 2-5

  1. Trish says:

    My husband and I took a cruise in Alaska a few years ago and it IS gorgeous. We went right at the end of the season–the first week of Septemeber and when we traveled into Yukon (via train) it was already bitterly cold. But gorgeous.🙂 Have you read any Jack London? I always think of his books when thinking about Alaska.

    I don’t think I’ll participate in the hop this week since I’ve already put up three posts (I’m weird about posting every day), but I’d like to visit Scandinavia. When I was reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo last year I had a strong desire to visit Sweden, even though it sounded like it was bitterly cold as well!

    Happy reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Trish, I’d love to go on a cruise in Alaska. I’m not surprised you enjoyed it so much, that’s just what I would expect.🙂

      Scandinavia is great too, I’ve actually been to Sweden and Denmark and I love it!

  2. Heather says:

    Your mention of Krakauer made me think about another place I wish I could go, but only if by magic and I didn’t actually have to work to get there-the top of Mount Everest. His book detailing that expedition to the summit was gripping, and made me wish I could see it without actually having to, you know, train and climb and be cold.

  3. Parrish says:

    it would need to be done soon, with the way gov’ts are crawling over the area with their petty claims

  4. My grandparents took an Alaskan cruise years ago & it was very memorable. Reading about cold wintery places makes me feel at home right now with a recent blizzard hitting us & a good 10 inches of snowfall outside🙂

  5. Alaska sounds as if it would be a beautiful place to visit. Cold, though. Mosquito-y, too. And there are the grizzly bears.

    I seem to always do better in reading about a place….

  6. Dorte H says:

    I have enjoyed Ann Cleeves´ Shetland quartet so much that I am talking my husband into visiting the islands. Next year, perhaps …

    So remote places with taciturn oddballs for me, please😀
    And though I don´t like sailing (unless the sea is perfectly calm), I love having water around me.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh the Shetland Isles, I’d love to visit those, too. Actually, even better: the Far Oer! Next stop from the Shetlands, I think!🙂

      I get sea sick very easily but I do love the sea when I’m not.

  7. Kate says:

    Ooh – Alaska! That’s a dream of mine! Good choice…

  8. I read Into the Wild, and it was phenomenal. I don’t know if it made me want to go to Alaska, though. The book is brilliant; I kept taking notes the whole time I was reading.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I enjoyed Into the Wild, too, Lisa. This book wasn’t the reason I want to go to Alaska, but it was the first book that made me interested in the place.

  9. curlygeek04 says:

    I visited Alaska 2 years ago, and it is an amazing, beautiful place. We didn’t take a cruise, just used the ferry system, which I think allowed us to see a lot more. We stayed in the “Inside Passage” area — Juneau, Glacier Bay — and it was fantastic, though I wish we’d seen the Denali area. I loved Into the Wild, it’s a haunting book.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Sounds amazing and beautiful.

    Check out my answer at:

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  11. Risa says:

    I don’t know if I could survive such harsh winters. I must admit that Alaska sounds beautiful, but I doubt I would so readily jump at an offer to visit! Having said that, what I know of Alaska isn’t much…only what I have gleaned from off of television. I haven’t read anything about it in terms of fiction….:-/

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

