New Arrivals!

Much to my chagrin and at the same time delight, books keep entering Leeswammes’ house through various means. I’m trying to reduce my TBR, as frequent readers will know, but it seems I’m not reading fast enough. Books keep sneaking in, taking their place on the TBR shelf, that was getting smaller, and now increasing again. Oh my!

For review

Moonface by Angela BalcitaMoonface: A True Romance by Angela Balcita

For review from Harper Perennial. This is a memoir (i.e. non-fiction). Angela Balcita is suffering from kidney disease and when she needs a kidney transplant her boyfriend Charlie is keen to donate. The book follows their life and struggle against this awful disease.

I finished this already and loved the story. Bitter sweet.

Pooldrift by David Mulder

Pooldrift by David Mulder [Dutch]

I got this e-book from the author. The book is about a procrastinator called Krijn, who spends his days dreaming and blaming others for his failures. He’s staying on an island, far away from the Netherlands. With his African friend he undertakes a journey to the inner parts of the island to find an enlightened Guru.

Borrowed from friends and family

The Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers by Paul Torday

The Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers by Paul Torday

I’ve read two other books by this writer which I thoroughly enjoyed: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen and (even better) The Irresistible Inheritance of Wilberforce.

This book, The Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers is about a man who fails any business he starts. The main character, Hector, meets him in France when sitting on a café terrace with his friend, and Charlie somehow manages to wriggle his way into their lives.

I’ve started this and it’s very well written and quite funny.

The Girl on the Landing by Paul Torday

The Girl on the Landing by Paul Torday

The same writer as the book above. From bol.com: “An imagined glimpse of a female figure in a painting is only the first in a series of incidents that lead Michael to question his grip on reality. His wife Elizabeth is also unsettled by the changes she sees in the dependable man she married, but also begins to sees signs in this new man of someone she could fall in love with. In the meantime, Michael is disturbed by events up at his ancestral home in Scotland as well as by a past that is threatening to destroy everything, and everyone, he has ever loved.”

 

Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende

Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende

From bol.com: “From the sugar plantations of Saint-Domingue to the lavish parlors of New Orleans at the turn of the 19th century, Isabel Allende’s latest novel tells the story of a mulatta woman, a slave and concubine, determined to take control of her own destiny in a society where that would seem impossible.”

 

Duma Key by Stephen King

Duma Key by Stephen King

I like to read Stephen King’s books… when they are not too scary. Unfortunately, this one is very scary. Will I hide under the covers or make it through to the end?

A man moves to Duma Key after he barely survives a terrible accident, in which he lost an arm. Out of the blue he begins to paint. With the hand on the arm he lost. Aaahhh!

From the library

Buzz Aldrin, What Happened To You In All the Confusion? by Johan Harstad

Buzz Aldrin, What Happened To You In All the Confusion? by Johan Harstad

I got the Dutch edition. The English edition will be out this coming June. It’s about a man called Mattias, who was born in 1969 on the exact moment that Buzz Aldrin first set foot on the moon. Aldrin is his idol. He joins a friend on a sailing trip to the Farœr, which is a group of islands above Scotland but belonging to Denmark. Its surface resembles the moon.

But then Mattias finds himself waking on land, on his own, with a large amount of money. This sounds like a bit of a surreal story that appeals to me. Earlier, I read another book by Harstad, Hässelby, which was enjoyable and also surreal.

 

Wagamama Cookbook by Hugo Arnold

Wagamama Cookbook by Hugo Arnold

For the Hello Japan! mini-challenge I’m supposed to cook something Japanese. Well, I barely finished my first sushi, so where do I start? With this cookbook, of course! At first sight, it seems like there should be enough nice recipes to find something I can make. I’ll let you know in a blogpost when I’ve succeeded.

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?


About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Iris says:

    Is that the cookbook from the restaurants? There is this one thing I had there and I’ve always been curious about how to make it. Don’t remember the name, of course😛

    I have Island Beneath the Sea on my TBR pile.

    Ha, and I bet you’re more happy than chagrined about receiving new books.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, it’s the book from the restaurants, Iris. If you remember the “thing” that you want to make I’ll look it up for you. Or it could bring it on Tues (but it’s rather heavy).

      Yes, of course I’m happy to receive new books! It’s just that conscience that says “Ain’t you got enough books, girl?”

  2. Cindy says:

    Ooooh, I do like the look of the Wagamama!!! *envy*

  3. Mystica says:

    The girl on the landing and Pooldrift are the two books I would like to see more of. Hope you enjoy your reading.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mystica, Pooldrift might never make it into an English translation. The Girl on the Landing is in English and I’m sure it’s going to be great. I love this writer’s books.

  4. Chinoiseries says:

    I’ve wanted to read Torquay’s book for a while, hope you like them🙂 Duma Key was actually one of the books that I abandoned reading… Somehow, the majority of King’s book that were written after his accident do not appeal to me anymore (one of the very few that I liked was Dreamcatcher). I had on idea that Duma Key was going to be scary, maybe time to pull it out again.
    But all in all it seems that your TBR pile only seems to be growing😀

    • Leeswammes says:

      Chinoi, it seems that I’m going to get an extra copy of Tourquay from the publisher’s which (if it gets there on time) I will use in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (maybe both copies!). I think it’s not out until later this month (that’s why I got the ARCs). Review around the 15th.

      Duma: my mother really liked it and although we don’t always like the same books, I thought this might be OK. We’ll see. Abandoning is an option.🙂

  5. Gnoe says:

    Of course I’m *especially* curious about the Wagamama cookbook. Have you ever eaten at the restaurant? Did you already pick something from the book?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Gnoe, no, I don’t know the restaurant. This book was the only Japanese cookbook in the library (I could have reserved some others from different branches, though).

      I haven’t looked closely enough to have chose a recipe but I’m sure I’ll find something nice.

  6. Julie says:

    You really have added to your TBR shelf! On the other hand, it looks like the additions are definitely worth it. I know what you mean about Stephen King books–I recently read Pet Sematary and it was really creepy!

  7. Trisha says:

    I completely understand about the never-shrinking TBR pile. At this point, I am just trying to make sure it doesn’t keep expanding!

  8. Col Reads says:

    They all look terrific! I haven’t found a way to reduce my TBR pile lately — visiting other people’s blogs just makes it grow more.

  9. Dorte H says:

    Those Paul Torday covers are so smart – great and simple, and they shout that they belong together on the shelf!

  10. JoV says:

    I read The Girl on the Landing, and it was a weird book and meh for me, I love “Salmon fishing on Yemen” a lot more.

    Have fun with your arrivals!

  11. nymeth says:

    I hadn’t heard of Paul Torday before, but consider me intrigued. It helps that the books have such great covers😛

  12. LindyLouMac says:

    Oh I know exactly what you mean! I have two of Paul Torday’s books waiting to be read and now you have told me about two more.
    I really do need to spend all my time reading if I am ever going to read all the books I want to🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Even full-time reading wouldn’t do it for me, LindyLou! I think carefully selecting the books that I think are worth reading is the only thing I can do.

      If you have 2 of Torday’s book on your TBR then you are a lucky woman!🙂

  13. LindyLouMac says:

    This sounds like a recommendation to move them up MT TBR which is just what I will do!🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

