It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It's Monday

“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

I finished 4 books in the last week:

The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen. About a family with grown-up children who all have their own troubles. Not as good as I had expected.

Tikkop by Adriaan van Dis (Dutch, e-book). A Dutch man goes back to South Africa after 30 years. A lot has changed.

I’m Not Scared by Niccolo Ammaniti. A young boy in a small town in rural Italy plays in the fields with his friends. He makes an terrible discovery that he doesn’t dare to talk about with anyone.

Moonface: A True Romance by Angela Balcita. Memoir. The writer has kidney disease and describes how her boyfriend donated one of his kidneys and how this influenced their life together.

Tikkop by Adriaan van DisI'm Not Scared by Niccolo Ammaniti

Moonface by Angela BalcitaThe Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers by Paul TordayI Is Another by James Geary

Reading

The Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers by Paul Torday. A fun book about a hopeless man seen from the eyes of a more successful man, or is he?

I Is An Other by James Geary. A non-fiction book dealing with metaphors and how we subconsciously are influenced by them all the time.

After that, I’m reading Buzz Aldrin, What Happened To You In All The Confusion? by Johan Harstad and Tourquai by Tim Davys.

I wrote reviews of:

Sweetie by Kathryn Magendie

Sweetie by Karthyn Magendie

Other news:

I’m hosting the LITERARY GIVEAWAY BLOG HOP – February 19-23. Want to link your blog to this event (giveaway of books, bookish items)? Check out this post for more information.

Curious to know what new, shiny books I got recently? Read the New Arrivals.

The Back of the Book competition: Enter your guess for the back cover of Week 5. Anyone can enter.

I posted the reading schedule for the Bolano 2666 read-a-long. Sign up if you want to join in. We’re starting in March.

I joined the Great Transworld Crime Caper.

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?


Ballet Russes by Rosita Steenbeek [Dutch] About a young man in Venice who studies Russian but spends most of his time working at a cemetery.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

36 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    My mailbox is small but delightful this week. Enjoy your reading.

  2. Sweetie looks good! I am going to read your review. Be sure to leave a comment on the main post this week – for the anniversary of the meme I am adding a gift card giveaway for those who participate and comment.

    I am enjoying the stories of how people started with the meme.

    Thanks so much for participating! I enjoy seeing what you are reading!

  3. Uniflame says:

    I am reading Runaway by Wendelin van Draanen.

    It is about a 12 year old who had ran away from her foster family and is now travelling the states, as a Gypsy. But she has to admit more and more that she is actually homeless.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sounds interesting, Uniflame. The author’s name sounds Dutch, but the book is American? I hope you will review it on your blog when you’re done.

      • Uniflame says:

        The writer isn’t Dutch. I think since the story takes place in America, she is American indeed.

        I will review it on my blog when I finished reading the book🙂 If you want you an read it after me, since I give away my books most of the time anyway🙂

      • Leeswammes says:

        I’ve started to give away books as well, Uniflame! I just have too many and they are not all worth keeping/re-reading.

        Thanks for the offer. I’ll see what your review is like first.

  4. Maree says:

    Looks like a good week! Happy reading🙂

  5. I still cannot wait to read your review of I is an Other. This book really intrigues me. Hope you have a great week!

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « Leeswammes' Blog -- Topsy.com

  7. Lian says:

    How do you read all these books each week? I’m happy if I can finish one, which I mostly don’t, in a week.

  8. Kah Woei says:

    The title that caught my eye is Buzz Aldrin, What Happened To You In All The Confusion? … I wonder what it’s about ?

  9. Sorry to hear your initial thoughts on The Corrections. I remember having the same feelings after reading it….

    I’m reading Wildthorn right now and am really enjoying it. I expect I will finish the book tomorrow. It’s only 245 pages and in the YA category (super quick read).

    I get to read so much while on vacation – love it!

  10. Kerry says:

    Interesting selection. I am in awe of your reading ability. I am distracted by the smallest thing so I leave it until bedtime.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I don’t read much during the (working) day, Kerry. But I do read a lot in the evenings and weekends. Yes, I can read when the tv is on, but I do prefer it off.🙂

  11. winstonsdad says:

    I m reading Iron Ballon A collection of short stories from Jamica ,I ve a Adriaan van Dis on my tbr pile my fathers war ,all the best stu

    • Leeswammes says:

      I didn’t know Adriaan van Dis was translated into English! Actually, Tikkop was the first ever book I read by him. I think he’s a good writer (based on this book). Hope you get around to reading yours soon, Stu.

  12. Kristin says:

    Sweetie looks like a good book – very intriguing cover. I’m going to check out your review.

    My It’s Monday post can be found here.

  13. Oh, that’s too bad about The Corrections. I think that sometimes we’re disappointed when our expectations are high….and when a book is hyped.

    Hope you enjoy your reading week.

    Here’s my MONDAY MEMES

  14. What a lovely week! I’m envious of the people who manage to finish more than one book in a week🙂

    Hope you have a great one!

  15. Cindy says:

    Haven’t finished anything I started last week, don’t know how you do it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      We all have other priorities, Cindy. I think it’s getting busier (socially) for me this week and the next, so I may not be able to get that much read in the next few weeks either.

  16. Now that I’m writing more, I may need that metaphors book — fun title!

    Here’s my Monday!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ll post a review of the metaphors book this week, Joy. It’s not a reference book, more about the psychology of understanding and using metaphors.

  17. Cat says:

    I keep looking at the Franzen books at the library and after reading your thoughts I think my instinct that I won’t really like them is right. Have decided to give them a miss.

    Have a great reading week!

  18. Pussreboots says:

    I mostly read picture books, manga, short stories and text books last week. Come see what I’m reading now.

  19. RFW says:

    Corrections was too depressing for me; Freedom, on the other hand, is terrific.

  20. Tes says:

    I’m traveling on Thurday and would be on vacation for 2 weeks… so I’m gonna by a lot of books tomorrow…. Thanks for interesting list and good reviews🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

