New Arrivals!

It’s 10 days since my last New Arrivals! post and again I have enough books to warrant a new post. I don’t read this fast! My TBR is going to be way out of hand. Suggestions needed on keeping the TBR small.

But new, shiny books from giveaways, publishers, free ebooks: how can I not get them? It’s not that I’m saying “yes” to any book that I can get: as you can see from my reviews, most books are 4 star books, sometimes 5, sometimes 3. There are very few exceptions to this so my pre-selection of the books must be adequate. Maybe I should ignore the call of the books out there, and hide under a blanket with my current TBR. But it’s hard… it’s hard…

For review

Blacklands by Belinda Bauer

Blacklands by Belinda Bauer

I got this book from Transworld Publishers as part of the Great Transworld Crime Caper event. I have already read the book and my review is HERE.

A young boy’s hobby is digging in the moors, trying to find the body of his uncle, who was killed by a serial killer at the age of twelve. Because his mother and grandmother are still grieving, he doesn’t get the love and attention he wants. Finding the body, he hopes to become a hero. He contacts the serial killer in prison for advice on where to dig. That was not a good idea…

A Lesson in Secrets by Jacqueline Winspear

A Lesson In Secrets by Jacqueline Winspear

This book from Harper Publishers will be published in March. It’s the 8th book in the Maisie Dobbs series (and my first). From Harper: “Maisie Dobbs’ first assignment for the British Secret Service takes her undercover to Cambridge as a professor, and leads to the investigation of a murderous web of activities being conducted by the up-and-coming Nazi party.”

Bookswap

When six Dutch bloggers came together last week, not only did we have a delightful Afternoon Tea, we also swapped some books.

Hear the Wind Sing by Haruki Murakami

Hear the Wind Sing by Haruki Murakami

This book I borrowed from Chinoiseries, as she knows I’m a Murakami fan and the book is very hard to get. So I was very pleased that she was willing to lent it to a near stranger.

The book is very small in size and it’s more like a short story. The book has a lot of Japanese annotations, making it extra interesting. It is the first in a series of books, of which one of my favorites, A Wild Sheep Chase, is the third. So you can imagine I’m looking forward to reading this soon.

 

De kellner en de levenden by Simon Vestdijk

De kellner en de levenden

[The Waiter and the Living] by Simon Vestdijk

I got this book from Janny of JannyAn’s Blog (Dutch). Simon Vestdijk is one of the most well-known Dutch authors of the 20st Century. I already read this book at least twice but I didn’t own it. I will not add this to my TBR but put it on my shelf as a book I want to keep and read when I feel like it.

One night, twelve people are taken from their house (an apartment block) and driven by coach to a defunct cinema. There they are processed by some guards in what seems to be a kind of Last Judgement. Very gloomy and still very good. (It doesn’t seem to be translated into English, unfortunately)

 

Troost by Ronald Giphart

Troost [Solace] by Ronald Giphart

I got this book from Else of Elsjelas (Dutch). She didn’t finish the book as she didn’t like it. However, I am trying to get to know some more Dutch writers so I was happy to try it. If I don’t like it, at least I can tell Else I totally agree.

It’s about a famous TV cook for whom everything is going wrong. I like cookery programs so who knows? I don’t expect to like this book, but I may! (The one book I don’t expect to get 4-stars).

Free Ebook

Bloody Women by Helen Fitzgerald

Bloody Women by Helen Fitzgerald

A free e-book! I don’t even have an e-reader but still I succumb every now and then. I got this book from viva.nl, a Dutch magazine, because of Valentine’s Day, I think. I’ve got the Dutch translation.

From bol.com (Dutch online bookstore): “Returning to Scotland to organise her wedding, Catriona is overcome with the jitters. She decides to tie up loose ends before settling permanently in Tuscany, and seeks out her ex-boyfriends. Only problem is, they all end up dead and Catriona is the prime suspect.”

Won in a giveaway

Among Others by Jo Walton

Among Others by Jo Walton

I won this in a giveaway from Sarah at Bookworm Blues. It’s hardcover and it’s brandnew. And it looks like a great story!

From the cover: “Startling, unusual, and irrisistibly readable, Among Others is at once the compelling story of a young woman struggling to escape a troubled childhood, a brilliant diary of first encounters with the great novels of modern fantasy and science fiction and a spellbinding tale of escape from ancient enchantment.

If this doesn’t sound quite like me, Sarah’s review sold it to me as well as the cover – which in real life looks absolutely stunning.

Do you overdo your intake of new books? How do you stop them from entering your house?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. I loved Blacklands; hope you do as well.

  2. liannouwen says:

    I don’t have much time to read usually but in one way or another all kinds of books end up on my shelf. Same problem, but no solution unfortunately. Good luck with the reading!

  3. Teresa says:

    Ah, I have the same problem as well. What’s the book equivalent of my eyes being bigger than my stomach? My eyes are bigger than my reading time? I have learned to say no more, but I’m still having the same problem. If you figure out the solution will you please share it with me?

  4. Amy says:

    Love this post! I’m very interested in the Jacqueline Winspear Maisie Dobbs book series as I have become enamored of all things British (well, at least books and TV shows!) recently. The cover is wonderful and the story in this one sounds riveting!

    Congratulations on your win of Among Others. I’ve read several wonderful reviews of Jo Walton’s book. I hope you enjoy it!
    ~ Amy

  5. Leslie says:

    Lucky you… you won a copy of Among Others. This sounds exceptionally good and not just because I am a fan of science fiction.

    I have no good advice on the TBR pile. Mine is growing at twice the rate I can read plus all those older books I picked up at the library sales last year.

  6. Dorte H says:

    A free, Dutch e-book? If I had known, I would have tried to get it – to see if I could read Fitzgerald in Dutch.😀

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, Dorte. Do you think you’d understand Dutch? Well, maybe you would. I can read Danish and Swedish a little bit, but not understand it when spoken.

      • Dorte H says:

        Many years ago I read a few children´s books in Dutch, e.g. Hotze de Roos, De schippers van de Kameleon (one of the funniest books I found, but I also read a few Enid Blyton stories I stumbled on, and some cartoons). I don´t know if I could still read it; that is why I am curious.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Yes, the Kameleon was very popular when I was young. They’re still around but not read that much now.

  7. Julie says:

    You better get to reading! LOL

  8. Regarding Among Others… I picked up a book at the store yesterday that sounds interesting to me, it’s in the gothic genre. I hope I like it, I paid $32 for the paperback! I didn’t realize the book was a weird as it is until I came back to the hotel and wanted to include it in the book giveaway this weekend only to find there’s a witch…. so I decided against it.

    I’m anxious to read your review!

  9. Ooh, I’ll be curious to see how you enjoy Maisie (and reading her out of order). I’m currently reading the fourth in the series and have been really enjoying them. I hope to be caught up this spring and read all eight:-)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nomadreader, do you think it matters reading Maisie number 8 first? Will I miss the background?

      Glad you’re enjoying the series. It looks really nice so hopefully it’s my kind of thing too.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

