Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon Is Coming!


Dewey's 24-hour Read-A-Thon, Oct 9th

April 9th is the next edition of the 24-hour read-a-thon. The people at Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon have been busy preparing this great event and I thought I better mention it to you in case you want to join in (which of course you do). A read-a-thon is a reading marathon, where you try to spend as much time as you can on reading, for 24 hours.

Some people take this quite seriously and read for (close to) the full 24 hours, making sure their agenda is totally empty, don’t sleep and survive on food that doesn’t need elaborate any cooking.

More than that, it is a community event. All over the world, people will be reading when you are reading and you are encouraged to visit other participants’ blogs to see how they are getting on (most people post an update every few hours). Oh, and there are cheerleaders who will come by your blog to cheer you on. Yes, seriously!

There are also mini-challenges that you can take part in, and even win prizes with (mainly books, of course!). Usually the mini-challenges are about writing a little book-related piece, such as who is your all-time favorite hero, or creating a cover or wordle (how-to’s included!). They are just small things that will keep you entertained during the day.

Everyone starts at the same time, so in some countries that means starting at 2AM while others start at 11AM or 5PM. But since everyone is reading for 24 hours (if they can), everyone will get to the difficult hours at some point.

Sign up HERE, at the 24-hour read-a-thon blog. I took part in October and loved it! (The event is run every April and October).

Time to get my reading list sorted: what will I read during the read-a-thon? Something light for the small hours and nothing too bulky as it will look like I’ll never get to the end of it. So, short and light is my motto.

I’m definitely taking part. How about you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-A-Thon Is Coming!

  1. Lian says:

    Sounds great but I’m pretty sure I can’t stay awake for the whole 24 hours to read.. Maybe I’ll sign up and try. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Lian says:

    Sounds like I could pull something like that off! I’ll try to keep the 9th of April open for reading😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Great! It’ll be nice to have a few people who are in the same time zone. We can keep each other awake. 🙂

      Just sign up and read as much (or little) as you can. There are 140 people signed up already!

      • Uniflame says:

        do you already know when we Dutchies have to start? Since I have CFS, I will not start in the middle of the night😉

      • Leeswammes says:

        It’s 2pm for us in the Netherlands, so that’s in the afternoon. You can check this on the read-a-thon website if you want to be sure. It’s a better time than later on in the day, but of course 9am would be ideal.

  3. JannyAn says:

    Well, I’ll try this time. So one more in your time zone🙂

  4. Chinoiseries says:

    I’m still thinking about it, but it sounds like fun!

  5. Julie says:

    Ugh! I always get excited for this event, but inevitably have something else going on. On April 9th I will be heading home from Phoenix, so once again I can’t participate. Do you know what day in October this is happening? Maybe if I blocked the time out on my calendar now, then I can actually sign up next time…..

    • Leeswammes says:

      What a pity, Julie. No, I don’t think the date for October is set yet. Last year, it was Oct 9th and the year before Oct 24th, so it could be any Saturday in October.

      When you are travelling this April can you read meanwhile? Or listen to audiotapes? Or will you be too distracted to consider joining in without too many expectations?

  6. Jennifer O says:

    I’d love to do this, but I am always unable to get much reading done during the weekends. Kids won’t tolerate being ignored.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, with kids around it’s not going to happen… much. Although there is the DVD recorder, grandma (maybe), daddy & the park (maybe), sleeping tablets (for them!), sleep-over at family/friends (them), lock bathroom door and hope the house is still OK when you get out again (you). Some useful suggestions, I hope.😉

      There was last year a read-a-thon during the week (which isn’t handy if you work) but maybe they run it again this year. The link for last year was http://www.readingangel.com/2010/07/once-upon-read-thon-kick-off.html

  7. Tes says:

    Sounds great! With the right exciting books, I think I will be up to this🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      That would be really nice, Tes! Are you going to sign up officially? I’d love to see what you’ll be reading. I’m already thinking of my list…🙂

  8. Cindy says:

    Ooohee, not sure I can stay awake for so long these days ;p

    • Leeswammes says:

      Haha, you don’t actually have to read for *that* long, Cindy. Just as long as you want!

      Hey, you’re in the same-ish time zone as me. Oh, please join in! We can keep each other awake.

  9. Marieke says:

    Thanks for the reminder — I still need to sign up and invite friends over for ‘reading’ — otherwise known as talking all day!

  10. Laura says:

    This seriously sounds amazing, but it’s on my birthday… would it be wrong to spend my entire birthday in bed reading? I think not! Hehe

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

