5 Best Books … That Made Me Laugh

5 Best BooksCassandra of Indie Reader Houston has started a new meme: “5 Best Books”. Every week, a different topic is suggested by Cassandra and participants list what they think are the 5 best book for that topic. Click HERE to see the topics for the next few weeks.

This week, the topic is 5 Books that made me laugh. I don’t laugh out loud (or cry) very often when reading books, but these books had me chuckle at the least and in some cases, laughing in inappropriate situations, such as while travelling on the train.

A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian by Marina Lewycka

My first choice is A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian by Marina Lewycka. In this book, an eighty-something widower, originally from the Ukraine, falls in love and marries a thirty-something woman, pink and fluffy. His daughters suspect that she’s after his money and an English passport and try anything to annul the marriage.

The woman is very forceful and moves into his house with her 14-year old son. Oh, and there is also a “bebby” on the way!

E squared by Matt BeaumontLast year, I read E-Squared by Matt Beaumont and this caused me to laugh out loud a lot! The story centres around an advertising agency called Meerkat360 and is mainly a collection of emails, text messages and blog posts by a variety of people, mostly employees of the agency.

It took me a long time to figure out what was happening but there were all kinds of hilarious events, such as a drugged dog on the loose in the office, someone answering Nigerian emails asking for money, etc.

It was seriously funny!

The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella

The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella is the best chick-lit I know and one of my favorite books. Although highly unbelievable, this is a great and extremely funny story about a high flying woman who, after problems at her work, finds herself, quite by accident, employed as a housekeeper.

She can’t cook, she has never cleaned before but she can smooze her way out of things and rather than being thrown out, her employers eventually don’t want to let her go.

As you can imagine this is full of funny misunderstandings and slap-stick situations.

Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis

Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis is my fourth choice. This is the story about an university teacher in his first year of employment. Certain things have happened in the recent past that may have affected Jim’s reputation amongst his colleagues and he is trying very hard to improve their opinion of him.

It only gets worse, though, as he often solves awkward situations in an unconventional way, which is embarrassing when the truth comes out, which it invariably does.

The book is not only funny, it’s also toe-curling because of all the bad decisions Jim makes.

High Society by Ben Elton

My last book is High Society by Ben Elton. This is a roller-coaster ride featuring Peter Paget, a minor member of the British parliament. He attempts to convince his colleagues and the public that all types of drugs should be legalised.

Peter’s story is intermixed with stories about drug users, such as a heroin prostitute, a famous pop star and a British drug smuggler imprisoned in Bangkok.

The book makes you laugh and cry but things end well. At least, for some people…

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

33 Responses to 5 Best Books … That Made Me Laugh

  1. Uniflame says:

    How nice to read this🙂 I wanted to try something something from Sophie Kinsella for a while, even though I don’t read that much chicklit.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think this is one of the better chick-lit, Uniflame. Kinsella’s shopaholic books are a bit too silly (although still a fun read sometimes). *The Undomestic Goddess* is a bit more grown-up.

  2. I love Sophie Kinsella’s books – they all make me laugh.

    I must try the others too – I LOVE books that can make me laught out loud! Thanks for the tips🙂

  3. ninsyt says:

    I had a great time reading Sophie Kinsella’s shopoholic series. However, it all started with the Undomestic Goddess. It made me fall in love with chick-lit. This one is still my all time favourite!!

  4. Louise says:

    Ooh i’ve been having a deluge of Nigerian emails asking for money the last 3 weeks, at least 6 a day, gawd knows how they’ve got my email address… so i’m definitely going to hunt out E-Squared🙂

    I hardly ever read a funny book,some great picks here!

  5. Cindy says:

    I’ve read the first and fourth of your list, will look out for the others.

  6. Sabrina says:

    I have A Short History of Tractors in the Ukrain on my shelf. I can’t wait to read it. Her books are quite popular in Germany. In every bookstore three of her books are displayed at very prominent places.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, you should read it soon, Sabrina! It’s really good. Awful, too, but that makes it funny, if you see what I mean. I think we had the Lewycka wave a while ago in the Netherlands. You don’t see her books so prominently now.

  7. yes, they are all very different from the ones that I read. Look interesting though. Never thought I’d see a book about tractors in the Ukrain though, that must have been an interesting read!
    Chelle

    • Leeswammes says:

      Michelle, it’s not actually about tractors in the Ukrain but about an old man writing a history of… etc. Although that’s not really the important part of the story.

  8. Julie says:

    I enjoyed The Undomestic Goddess by Kinsella too. It was the first Kinsella book I read…..

  9. Tricia says:

    I just finished A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian – I agree, it was quite funny. I chucked quite a bit!

  10. Tes says:

    This sounds like a fun list🙂 I am going to look for Short History of Tractors in Ukranian🙂

  11. Nadine Nys says:

    The book I laughed out loud with, was Bridget Jones Diary. Indeed very awkward when you are sitting on a train.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Indeed, Nadine! I’ve had that before, on the train. Sometimes you can divert a starting laugh into a cough but other times it’s just impossible.🙂

  12. Great picks! Thanks for stopping by to take a peek at mine. I’m already looking forward to everyone’s lists for next week.

  13. Cassandra says:

    I love that I get to see such different books on everyone’s lists! I’d only heard of one of your choices. I definitely have others to check out.

    And like the earlier comment – I wish I’d thought of Bridget Jones. Those books are hilarious!

  14. Yeah, I’m used to chrome doing that for me as well. But for everyone else I have now added a translate function at the top of the blog. It will translate everything in norwegian into whatever language you prefer. It does translate quite weird though. So people will probably be laughing their way through my blog!😀

    Yeah, I really like goodreads so far, so will link to them as long as they have the book registered. A lot of norwegian books are not there though.

    About the green mile, I don’t read a lot of funny books, like scary and mystery books. So I had to choose some books that have parts that made me giggle.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for coming by my blog, Tonje. It’s a good idea to have a translator on your blog. I actually decided to split my blog and now also have a Dutch blog (http://boekblogger.wordpress.com) but this English blog is my “main” one. The Dutch one I don’t use quite so much (once a week instead of every day or more, on the English blog).

  15. Kristi says:

    E -Squared sounds like something I would enjoy. I haven’t read a funny book in a while, and I really need to.

    I read Undomestic Goddess a couple of years ago and it was my first experience with chick lit. It kept me up until 3 am. I just had to finish it!

  16. Dorte H says:

    I don´t laugh at books very often either, but the latest Irish books I have read have been really funny. In February I reviewed Declan Burke´s The Big O, and last week I read Colin Bateman´s Mystery Man (even funnier; I chuckled quite a lot).

    • Leeswammes says:

      I haven’t heard of these books, Dorte, but I will have a look. Always happy to put some more books on my long, long wish list get some new books ideas!

  17. Kinna says:

    It’s amazing how tastes can be so different. Because I really didn’t like A Short History of Tractors in the Ukrainian. I was irritated by the book a great deal!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kinna, I was irritated a lot too, but not by the book itself, but by that awful woman. I thought the story was really good, how it managed to make me all irritated. But I also found it very funny.

  18. This list’s sublime! Thank you so much!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

