Voting Member for the Indie Lit Awards 2011

I’ve been chosen to be a Voting Member for the Indie Lit Awards 2011! This means I’m one of the people to read the shortlist and vote for who I think should win.

IndieLitAwards The Independent Literary Awards are organised and nominated and voted on by independent literary bloggers. After a nominations period, a panel of voting members read the five short-listed books and decide on a winner.

I’m a voting member in the Speculative Fiction genre. This includes a whole range of genres, such as science fiction, fantasy, dystopia, horror and alternate history.

As some of you will know, I’ve been reading a lot of dystopia last year and I’m always on the look out for more great dystopian books. I also love science fiction, some fantasy and yes, even horror I do read.

The other genres for the Indie Lit Awards 2011 are Literary Fiction, GLBTQ¹, Non Fiction, Memoir/Biography, Poetry and Mystery.

Nominations won’t be open until September 1st, but keep in mind what book you would want to nominate and join in!


¹ If you don’t know what that is, ask! It’s not a stupid question!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Voting Member for the Indie Lit Awards 2011

  1. Ellie says:

    Congratulations Judith! Just don’t overdo the dystopian novels BEFORE the awards, or you’ll be sick to death of speculative fiction by the time the books arrive… 😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the advice, Ellie! Actually, I have few or no dystopian books waiting to be read at the moment – I guess I tend to read them as soon as I can!

  2. Trisha says:

    Yay for spec fic! I’m so excited to be part of that team. It’s such a great group of people, and of course a fascinating genre.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s nice to have you as our “director”, Trisha. I’m really looking forward to actually doing something – instead of just saying that we will. 🙂

  3. Lian says:

    Congratulations and enjoy!

  4. Chinoiseries says:

    Congratulations, Judith! What a wonderful opportunity to read even more books *hint* 😉

  5. Shan says:

    That sounds like it’s going to be a cool opportunity! enjoy!

  6. Nadine Nys says:

    Congratulations Judith and have fun… And, yes I am going to ask… What is GLBTQ? 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well done for asking, Nadine! I didn’t know this for a long time either. Well, I’d never even heard of the term. But then a few bloggers seem to read a lot in that genre so I asked and found out. It’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer literature. I probably read it sometimes without noticing but apparently it’s a genre all on its own.

  7. COngratulations Judith! I would love to particpate in something like this sometime but I don’t think I read enough (or fast enough). Oh, maybe some of the books are on audio!

    I hope to contribute to the initial list again, that would mean I read some great books!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, we’re only reading and voting on 5 books, but they do need to be read within a 2 month’s (or so) period. But I may keep an eye on the nominations and read a few before the shortlist is announced. I like to get some good suggestions anyway.

      Yes, do contribute. It’s us bloggers that do the nominations and voting, so any book blogger could (or should) participate.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

