Eat, Read, Read: Sustenance for the Read-A-Thon

I need some more food ideas!

After I made a list of books to read for Saturday’s read-a-thon, it was time to turn my mind to food. Who better to ask for tips on good food than food blogger Kristin of Peace, Love and MuesliEdited April 2012: New website: Homemade Frontier

My book blogging friends fall roughly in two categories: book reviewers (the majority) and food bloggers. Kristin is one of my favorite food bloggers. Her posts inspire me to eat healthy, live healthy, and try out some new recipes.

She kindly agreed to do a guest post, so here are her tips on what to eat during a read-a-thon.

Kristin’s guest post

There is nothing I like better than a book I can’t put down. A story so compelling that I have no choice but to keep turning pages while bedtime comes and goes, laundry piles up and my family starts scavenging crumbs.

I will admit that the last time that happened I was reading the Twilight series. Please don’t judge me too harshly.

You readers have an advantage, you know this power reading is coming. You have time to prepare supplies to keep you focused on the deliciousness that is turning pages. Not to mention keeping your families fed and happy and leaving you to your book.

I’m here to give you some tips on how to eat well during the read-a-thon to keep you fuelled and powering through your books.  I have developed a 5 step plan to healthy read-a-thon eating. It’s very exclusive.

Step 1. Make a plan. Know what you are going to cook and prepare.

Step 2. Shop. Get everything you need in the house.

Step 3. Prep. Wash, cut, portion. Get the work done before the reading starts.

Step 4. Enlist help. Share plans and delegate tasks.

Step 5. Read. Eat as needed.

Now, what to add to that plan-

Batch Cooking

A great start way to start is with some batch cooking. Your favourite chili or stew recipes, make a big batch and reheat as needed. Crock pots are great for this. Visit http://crockpot365.blogspot.com for excellent healthy crock pot recipes.

Get BakingKristin's Pumpkin Muffin

Health up cookies and muffins by adding vegetables, fruit and fibre.

Super duper healthy chocolate chip cookies

Pumpkin muffins and Applesauce muffins

Carrot zucchini muffins and Quinoa bars

Roast a Chicken

If you have a lot of eaters, roast 2. Leftover chicken is great on a sandwich or on a salad. Or just on a plate with some salt and pepper and a side of carrot sticks.

Veggie Up

Lots of fresh cut veggies are a healthy way to keep you from getting hungry while reading. Wash, cut and get them ready to grab from the fridge. Adding a salad to a quick meal will help you get your veggies in, mix up a homemade salad dressing before the reading starts.

Snacks

Popcorn- go old school and pop it on the stove instead of in the microwave. Add oil to a pot with the corn and shake, shake, shake. You can do leg lifts while shaking to get some movement in. Season with salt.

Fruit- Don’t forget the fruit. Full of water and healthy goodness, great for snacking. Apples with nut butter, smoothies, melon slices.

Other ideas- hard boiled eggs, yogurt, nuts and seeds with dried fruit.

Homemade foods will help keep your reading stamina up. Premade dinners and snacks will slow you down, your eyes will close and your focus will drift. Stay focused and eat well.

Happy reading. And eating.

Edited April 2012: links are updated to Kirstin’s new website

Thanks, Kristin!

There are some great tips here that I’m certain to try. I know my husband will take care of a simple dinner, but I need some good snacks to keep me going. Thank you so much for putting these suggestions together for us.

So, go ahead and have some really good food during the read-a-thon

Happy read-a-thon! And if you can’t participate this Saturday, please try and pop by some of the participants (me, for instance!) to cheer us on.

What are YOU planning to eat during the read-a-thon?
Are you inspired by Kristin’s post?
Have you got some recipes or ideas to share?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

52 Responses to Eat, Read, Read: Sustenance for the Read-A-Thon

  1. Cindy says:

    I’ll just cook for you, feel free to order anything you like🙂

  2. Sounds like you have a good plan. Good luck – I will be cheering you from the sidelines.

    What books do you plan to read?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well, post to follow, Mari!🙂

      But, definitely a thriller (as I need to read the sequel, an ARC, soon), a chick-lit, a fun book, a non-fiction, and another fiction. Too much, but gives me a chance to choose on the day.

  3. liannouwen says:

    Great post! Unfortunately I can’t do the read-a-thon but that doesn’t have to stop me from making some of this delicious food🙂

  4. Thanks for the opportunity Judith.

  5. Great idea. I am participating in the read-a-thon as well and did not thought about planning my meals. At least the hubby will take care of the kids!

  6. Uniflame says:

    I am not too worried, since I won’t be reading the full 24 hours. I will go to sleep and I will make time to eat😉 I probably won’t cook and ask my BF to do it🙂 So I am all set. I will adapt my grocery list somewhat though🙂

  7. winstonsdad says:

    I d probably make my own pasta for readathon eating and great fan of butterscotch sweets to help keep awake ,all the best stu

  8. Trisha says:

    Yay for food! And I’ll just throw in a bit of support for readers who enjoyed Twilight.🙂

  9. Bellezza says:

    Oh my goodness, what wonderful treats and ideas! And here I’d limited myself to chocolate, chips and cappuccinos.🙂 I must branch out into the healthier things. Happy reading, I know you’ll be energized!

  10. Suzanne says:

    Wonderfully informative post — I’m keeping this one bookmarked.

    Good luck with the Read-a-Thon, Judith. I’ll be cheering you on in spirit.

  11. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out says:

    You certainly won’t go hungry! Unfortunately I can’t join in this time due to family commitments but I hope to next time!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  12. oh wow! great entry =D I was actually thinking of how am i going to eat while doing this read-a-thon. I then to skip meals when I’m busy hahah

  13. Chinoiseries says:

    I won’t be participating in the read-a-thon, but I’ll cheer you on! Wonderful tips by Kristin, especially the Super duper healthy cookies xD Yum!

  14. I just keep my trail mix and a fiber bar close by.

  15. Trish says:

    These are great great tips! I remember food being a major pitfall my first readathon when I wasn’t prepared. Not having easy to eat food and a big stack of books to choose from. And of course–enlisting help is always a biggie! Great tips.

  16. Meghan says:

    Excellent post! I finished making my oreo truffles today (recipe and steps on my blog) and will shop and prep my veggies tomorrow.

    Super excited (and hungry) for read-a-thon!

  17. Miel Abeille says:

    Great post! I❤ Peace, Love & Museli!

    I don't know if I can participate in this readathon, but this is great advice for any readathon!

  18. Thanks! Terrific post. I’m going to shop tomorrow and I will go with my plan in place!

  19. Great suggestions, Kristin! Unfortunately I can’t join the RaT this time but Hummus and homemade guacamole & salsa are great to dip you veggies in!🙂

  20. Amy says:

    Thank you Kristing and Judith for this great post! I especially appreciate the snack section since I rely on snacks to get me through the late night hours of the Readathon.
    The muffin recipes look fantastic, too.

    Good luck during the readathon, Judith! I’ll stop by to see how you’re doing!

  21. Ellie says:

    Oh, I’m so BAD when it comes to read-a-thons. Mine usually start at about 8pm, so my first battle is the night ahead. Staying up all night tends to aggravate my stomach, so I stay away from the fruits and veggies that cause me most problems!

    Usually I cook a humungous chicken and pepper pizza and a Spanish potato tortilla before the read-a-thon starts and snack on those right through the 24 hours, whenever I’m hungry, instead of having X number of meals. I did that my first time, had a proper dinner at about 2pm, and about half an hour later I was full, content – and asleep! I also have popcorn on hand, and maybe M’n’Ms or something similar for a quick boost after a nap. I drink lots of red grape juice, have an espresso milk drink at the hardest time in the morning, maybe 3-4am, and treat myself to a mug of coffee and a choc chip muffin at breakfast time to celebrate getting through the night in once piece. After that my eating tends to drop away anyway as tiredness kicks in, and I mainly snack on tiny bits and pieces until the end of the read-a-thon when I have a proper meal of some description.

    That’s not very healthy is it? But hey, it works for me, I still avoid that unwanted prep work, and it’s yummy! 😉

    Have an amazing read-a-thon Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ellie, some great food ideas there. I love the idea of a Spanish potato omelette! I’ll keep that in mind for next time.

      8pm is an awful time to start, I find 2pm bad enough as half the day is over already.

      If you’re doing the read-a-thon this time too, have fun!

  22. Margot says:

    Excellent post. Lots of good ideas here. My most successful read-a-thons are the ones I plan carefully for and prepare ahead for on both reading and eating. I always have something in the crockpot.

  23. Pingback: The 24-Hour Read-A-Thon Is Starting! « Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

