Book Review: Precious Blood by Jonathan Hayes

Precious Blood by Jonathan HayesThis book is the first book in a series about forensic pathologist Dr. Edward Jenner. The second book, A Hard Death, is out this week and I got an ARC from the publishers for review. However, I decided to start at the beginning so I got Precious Blood from the library.

I’ll be reading A Hard Death this week so look out for my review!

Precious Blood: What it is about

Dr. Edward Jenner has been out of the running for a while. After the September 2001 attacks (where he dealt with many victims) he has had a hard time keeping himself together. When he is privately hired by the father of a murdered girl, he comes across his former colleague Whittaker, whose wife left him for Jenner (and since left Jenner, too). There is no love lost between the two, and Jenner can’t expect a lot of co-operation from Whittaker.

The murder of the girl was horrific but Jenner manages to find clues that Whittaker has overlooked. He starts his own investigation with help of some police officers and other professionals that he used to work with.

The room mate of the murdered girl was threatened by the killer to suffer a similar fate if he gets her. She runs off and ends up at Jenner’s house, having been given the address by her uncle, who knows Jenner. They decide that she should stay with him for a few days until the coast is clear.

New bodies are found, and there are more clues about who the killer could be. However, Ana, the room mate, gets restless and takes some trips outside. This is not a good idea.

Precious Blood: What I thought

A good read and pretty thrilling in the end! I found the story believable and interesting, although some elements were old-hat. Such as Jenner, an outsider, investigating the case against all the obstructions that come his way. With the police and former colleagues telling him to stay off the case, or else!

It’s been done before and maybe this is how it’s generally done. I’m not a thriller reader per sé, I just read the odd thriller when I feel like it. So, it may be part of the genre to have outsiders find what the official investigators can’t seem to uncover. Wasn’t it the same with Maisie Dobbs, actually?

Anyway, this didn’t stop me from enjoying the novel. I was happy that there were not too many details on the exact injuries of the murdered women. There was just enough to shudder but not enough to make me nauseous, which is just how I like it.

I liked it that we get a view into the mind of the killer. But not enough to be able to find out exactly who he is! I kept comparing the information that Jenner had about the possible killer with the information I had about the killer to see if it matched up. This was a fun way to determine whether Jenner was on the right track.

The end of the book was very exciting because there was a time element, where another murder would be committed at a certain time.Jenner was aware of this and was trying his best to find the victim before it was too late. The victim meanwhile found an inventive way to evade her killer and the final confrontation was really exciting.

I got this book: from the library

I read this in: Dutch, the original language is English

Number of pages: 335 (Dutch edition)

First published: 2007

Genre: thriller

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Book Review: Precious Blood by Jonathan Hayes

  1. Cindy says:

    I think I’ve read 20 or more versions of this plot. Enjoy your day.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It’s possible, Cin. Still, if you’re a thriller reader you’d probably enjoy that, and if you only read thrillers occasionally, like me, you don’t notice it, or don’t mind.

  2. Miel Abeille says:

    I am a HUGE fan of thrillers! This one sounds like a real page turner.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Precious Blood by Jonathan Hayes « Leeswammes' Blog Books Empire | Books Empire

  4. Nadine Nys says:

    Seems like a great series. I love thrillers.

  5. Trisha says:

    I’m not much on thrillers like this, but I may have to read this because of the name Jenner. Jenners over at Life…with Books is one of my favorite bloggers and I kept thinking about her while reading this review.🙂

  6. Sounds fab! You know how much I love my thrillers and so long as I am kept entertained, turning those pages and can enjoy guessing “whodunnit” I’m usually happy😉

    Will check this out!

  7. Novroz says:

    Impressive review!! I am putting it in my to find book

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

