Friday Blog Hop

http://www.crazy-for-books.com/Every Friday, join the Book Blogger Hop, hosted by Jennifer (Crazy-For-Books), and hop to some new blogs. The Book Blogger Hop gives book bloggers a chance to connect and find out what others are reading. Sign up at Jennifer’s blog so people can find your blog too.

Jennifer asks: “Summer is coming quickly – what 2011 summer release are you are most looking forward to?

My answer: I don’t normally keep an eye on new releases. Since I don’t read many series I just read books when I hear about them. Even when it comes to my favorite authors, I don’t follow whether they have a new book coming out soon.

But… since I’m in the Indie Lit Awards’ Panel for Speculative Fiction I would love to get my hands on a copy of China Miéville’s new book, Embassytown, that comes out in May. Why? I’ve never read anything by this author, but his previous book, Kraken, won the Indie Lit Award for Speculative Fiction last year. I feel I’m not on top of things, so this is a book I definitely want to read.

This is what it’s about: “In the far future, humans have colonized a distant planet, home to the enigmatic Ariekei, sentient beings famed for a language unique in the universe, one that only a few altered human ambassadors can speak.” Sounds interesting to me!

About me: I’m Judith and I read a variety of genres. My favorite genres are contemporary fiction, literary fiction, mysteries, chick-lit but really I read anything that comes my way.

Every week, I’m hosting the Back of the Book competition, in which you have to guess which book is depicted – but you only get to see the back cover! You can join in at any time and there are prized to be won. Click here to join in.

Check out my review of Caribou Island by David Vann.

I have some information about the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop as well as a European Blog Hop.

And here are my 5 best books about nature.

Have a great weekend! If you’ve hopped here because of the Friday hop, do leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to Friday Blog Hop

  1. Cindy says:

    I’ve got a book I want to send you🙂

  2. Mystica says:

    China Mieville has got a lot of positive reviews all over. I haven’t read any of his books either. Someday!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mystica, now that I’m a voting member in the Indie Lit Awards I think I should make an extra effort to read at least one of his books. It’s not for lack of wanting!

  3. Emily Crowe says:

    Just hopping by…I don’t read much speculative fiction but Mieville does seem to be on a lot of people’s radar these days.

  4. Judith Leger says:

    Hi Judith! Love your name!😀 Yay for the blog hops and follow fridays! Blackberry Summer is my upcoming release I want to read and I listed my shelter books on my blog.

    Blessings,
    Judith Leger – Paran/Fantasy Romance
    http://www.judithleger.weebly.com
    http://www.judithleger.blogspot.com
    w/a L.J. Leger – YA Fantasy
    http://www.ljleger.weebly.com
    w/a Jadette Paige – Erotic
    http://www.jadettepaige.weebly.com
    http://www.jadettepaige.blogspot.com

  5. Precious says:

    Hi Judith! Just dropping by from the hop! I’m your opposite – I take note of the upcoming books since I mostly review books in advance.

    Because I noticed that you’re reviewing contemporary fiction…I’m inviting you over at my blog for a chance to win Forgotten & Playing Hurt. I love both books and I’m sharing the book love through these contests! (Although these books are YA.)

    Here’s my post.

  6. Kylie1403 says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I only follow dates of books in a series lol.. Also I have a habit of preordering them and Im only reminded if the time is close LOL

  7. I’m surprised to see many people struggling with this weeks question. This makes me feel better, I don’t know when books are coming out – just a few from my favorite authors (nothing this summer).

    I am looking forward to Exposure though (a sexting legal case) which I blogged about for this weeks’ hop.

    The sun is out all weekend over here – I’m thrilled! Time to get the deck ready for company in two weeks.🙂

  8. Just hopping by…I’m curious about Embassytown….hope you love it!

    Here’s MY BLOGGER HOP POST

  9. Clearly, I must pick up Kraken! I coincidentally was just at the store last night, wandered through the SciFi/Fantasy section and happened across it. Plunked myself down on the floor and started to read it, and it certainly was intriguing! I guess I should have bought it!

  10. Jenni says:

    Judith, I am really enjoying your blog. Thanks for the recent comment, and thanks to you, I joined the Blog Hop!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

