Bolaño 2666 Read-A-Long – Week 11

The Bolaño 2666 Read-A-Long is a twelve week read of 2666 with people who can’t face reading the tome on their own. There are about 8 of us who are reading this together.

If you like to join in, get your copy of 2666 and join us any time. You can find the full reading schedule in THIS POST.

Reading for Week 11

This week, we read the following

Section V The Part About Archimboldi (3 weeks)

11. Pages 724-810 (86 pages) May 14th

Read until: “In all, he spent three weeks in Hamburg.Twice he dined with Mr. Bubis.

My summary (may contain spoilers)

Something happened. Something momentous! After 800 pages, we finally meet Archimboldi. The only time we heard about him was in Section I (I don’t think he was mentioned in Section II and certainly not after that). And finally, finally, we get to meet him!

He is no other than Hans Reiter, who we’ve been following in this final section.

He is Hans until he goes to publishers with his manuscript, a book that he.wrote in 20 days. As he’s seen as a criminal of war (I think?) he invents a new name, Benno von Archimboldi.

Whatever else happened in this part is probably irrelevant (again) so I won’t mention it, except that in a prisoner of war camp he meets a man that killed many Jews because he didn’t know what else to do with them. For most of this part, we were well in the second world war.

Discussion

I like the books I read to make sense. I like them to have a beginning, a middle and an end that relate to each other. At the end everything should come together. Who’s with me thinking that won’t happen here?

I’m glad we found out who Archimboldi is, and I hope one or two of you can tell me about the significance of Reiter’s youth or his time at war for him to become a writer.

Discussion questions

Please explain. Most of the book please. I’m lost. Although the Reiter story is interesting and it makes sense as a story on its own. But where is the relation to the earlier Sections?

Next week (Week 12 – Final Week!)

This week, we’ll read the following

Section V The Part About Archimboldi (3 weeks)

12. Pages 811-895 (84 pages) May 21st

All the way till the end of the book!!

What did you think of this week’s read?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

7 Responses to Bolaño 2666 Read-A-Long – Week 11

  1. parrish says:

    So you’re well on the trail with an end in sight
    A few more twists and turns till you find an endpoint, but will be in the,middle of the labyrinth, or will you be seeing the cafe & that well earned tea & cake.

  2. Cindy says:

    Sorry Judith, this book sounds like a hodgepodge mess to me😦

  3. thebookee says:

    I am so glad that after 800 pages we have finally meet Archimboldi. I am getting more confused as this book is going on and I really don’t think that everything is going to be solved before the book ends.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I agree bookbee, this book is very confusing and there are too many things going on, they can’t all be resolved in the final part of the book. I feel it’s going to end just as unsatifying as it’s been most of the time.😦

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

