It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Today, I won’t link up with Sheila as I don’t expect to have time to visit other blogs. But the Monday posts keep me organised so I did one anyway!

*****

(Click on the orange links for reviews and other posts.)

I finished 4 books in the last week

The Discovery of Heaven by Harry Mulish. This was a read-a-long organised by Irisonbooks. I’m glad to say I finally finished it. It wasn’t bad, but it took so long! And there was too much philosophical and religious bla-bla for my liking. (3.5 stars)

Scoonmaaktips van een huurmoordenaar [The Hitman’s Guide to House Cleaning] by Hallgrímur Helgason. This fun book hasn’t been published in English. It’s about a hitman with 66 killings on his name who has to hide from the FBI and ends up in Iceland (one of the worst places to remain hidden from view).

We All Ran Into the Sunlight (Dutch translation) by Natalie Young. About a couple from London who travel through a French village where the woman becomes fascinated with the local castle and ends up trying to find out its history.

Changeless by Gail Carriger. The second episode in the Parasol Protectorate series, in which Alexia is left to her own devices and ends up travelling to Scotland.

The Discovery of Heaven by Harry MulishThe Hitman's Guide to House Cleaning by Hallgrímur HelgasonVerblind door de zon by Natlie YoungChangeless by Gail Carriger

Reading Now

Instructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda Leduc (Ebook). Rosa wants to be a writer but she is being distracted by the unpredictable Aylish who one day appears at her door.

The Lake of Dreams (Dutch translation) by Kim Edwards. Lucy has recently returned home from Japan and at her old family home, finds some objects that are related to her family’s past, a past that she never knew about.

Instructions for an Inexperienced Lover by Amanda LeducEen vrouw van glas / The Lake of Dreams by Kim EdwardsWhen the Killing's Done by T. C. Boyle

I wrote a review of

When the Killing’s Done by T. C. Boyle. About a National Park Service officer who is opposed by an animal rights activist when the officer takes measures to control the wildlife of some islands off the Santa Barbara coast.  (4 stars)

Other news

Check out my New Arrivals!

Enter this week’s Back of the Book Competition (anyone can enter!).

Check out my 5 Best Books in 2011 so far HERE.

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Misha says:

    We All Ran Into the Sunlight sounds really good. I was a little disappointed by The Lake of Dreams – it was not as good as as the author’s previous book, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter.
    Happy Reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Misha, Lake of Dreams will probably the next book I’ll read – I was actually a little disappointed by We All Ran Into the Sunlight. I rad The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, which I did enjoy a lot. We’ll see. I’ve heard from some other people that they really liked The Lake of Dreams.

  2. I’m reading two books.
    One that needs some close reading (Huis Lauernesse van Bosboom-Toussaint) I read this last year for an exam and like to read stressfree now. The other book is a biografie of a Dutch Powerwoman, Nina Brink, this out of pure curiosity. I’s the kind of woman that makes you shiver when you see her on tv, as it turns out in this book, she would make you shiver in real time too. An interesting read, soso far.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Have fun with your books, breieninpeking! I haven’t read either. But a long time ago I did read another book by Bosboom-Toussaint. That must have been Majoor Frans, which I really enjoyed at the time.

  3. parrish says:

    Baudelaire Poems in Prose & still reading Granta 114 Aliens

  4. Cindy says:

    I’ve been bedridden all weekend and felt free to indulge in nothing but reading. I read Rosewater and Soda Bread by Marsha Mehran (will do a review on my blog when I’m feeling better) and have now taken up Richard Mason’s History of a Pleasure Seeker (am loving the descriptions of Amsterdam during the Belle Epoque).

    • Leeswammes says:

      How nice you’re reading so much, but how awful it’s because you’re ill. Get better soon and I’m looking forward to your review. A book review on The Only Cin’s blog? Wow!

  5. I like the idea of order, keeping to a schedule to. Something I haven’t been doing recently.

    I’m sipping a latte before we pack up the crew (3 black labs) and head to the town parade. I’m sure I have been to a 4th of July parade. i can’t wait! We are going with our Aussie friends.

    Have a wonderful day Judith!

  6. Scoonmaaktips van een huurmoordenaar ? LOL, you crack me up! Have an awesome fourth!

  7. Rikki says:

    Can’t wait to read what you thought of Changeless. I still have the next two waiting and already ordered the fourth. Being a slow reader is a curse,🙂.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I enjoyed Changeless but it’s not quite as good as Soulless. Mainly because for me, Soulless was very new and special. Now it’s more of the same, although still nice.

  8. RFW says:

    I really liked Lake of Dreams – reviewed it when it first came out – reads like a movie.

  9. Lena says:

    I like the cover of Changeless. I’m currently reading The Story of Beautiful Girl, it’s going good so far.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

