Joining the 100 Mile Fitness Challenge

Fitness Challenge shoes

Trish from Love, Laughter and a Touch of Insanity posted on her blog about the 100 Mile Fitness Challenge and I thought, Hey, I want to try that!

The challenge runs from July 1st until September 31st 2011. In that time you have to run or walk 100 miles or you can do other exercise, where 15 minutes of exercise counts as one mile.

I’m terribly unfit at the moment and could lose some weight, too. With the good summer weather it should be easy to get off the chair and into the woods or fields for some walking or cycling.

Will I be able to do 100 miles in 3 months? I’m not sure, it’s definitely a challenge. Worth a try, though.

And you? Are you joining in? Why not, give it a try!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

23 Responses to Joining the 100 Mile Fitness Challenge

  1. JannyAn says:

    Wow, isn’t that something. A hundred miles in three months.That’s 160 km. sorry, a mile doesn’t mean anyhting to someone born in a country that only uses the metric system🙂 That’s 2 km’s a day, more or less. Oh, that sounds better😉 Had to go to the docters yesterday, and my parents, that wat about 25 km on my bike. Is that allright to? Because, then I’m in.

    • Leeswammes says:

      JannyAn, I think you can’t count normal daily activity, but I certainly am planning to include bike rides where I could have taken the car/bus/train- as long as it’s not something you would normally do, like riding to the shops, I’m sure it’s fine. Only…. 25 km cycling doesn’t count as such. You have to count the amount of time it took (every 15 mins is 1 mile). Only with walking/running you can count 1 mile as 1mile.

      Hope you’ll join in. It sounds doable with some effort – so that’s OK.

      • Gnoe says:

        You’re right that doing groceries etc doesn’t count BUT if you take the bike to go to your parents when you could’ve taken the bus/car otherwise I think that’s okay for the challenge. It’s a conscious decision to take the exercise, isn’t it? That’s how I do it anyway.

        You can do it Janny, just a few hikes with the Wandelgrrls and you’re halfway!🙂

  2. Cindy says:

    I’m just going to pretend I didn’t see this post …

  3. I did this a few years ago, it’s a great online community. Can’t wait to cheer you on! I should probably sign up to, my mileage will drop significantly by the end of this month. Once I meet my 1,000 mile goal I am going to transition back to yoga, yoga, yoga! I am so stiff these days🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, do join in, Mari. Maybe yoga also counts? Any exercise can count, just use 15 mins = 1 mile as a guideline. 1,000 mile is so…. enormous! Well done.

  4. Suzanne says:

    I really should hop onto this….. I need all the motivation I can get.
    Good luck to you.

  5. Shan says:

    Good luck with this challenge! In a few days I’ll be starting my 30 day Bikram Yoga Challenge…30 classes in 30 days. There’s nothing like a challenge to keep people motivated!

  6. That would be a nice challenge, now I have to convert to kilometers first…

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Count me in…I walk three miles a day now so this will be great.

    THANKS.

    Elizabeth

  8. Gnoe says:

    I wouldn’t miss it for anything! So glad they decided to revive the 100 Mile Fitness Challenge.🙂 It’s my 3rd or 4th time participating and I can definitely say the challenge will motivate you to take the (extra) effort. Well, it works for me anyway. Good luck!

    Oh – and it’s 162 km, not 160 btw!🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks for the encouragement, Gnoe! I did read about it on your blog ages ago and I was amazed you managed to do so much walking. I’m going to include other exercise as well, hope I’ll make it to … 162 km.🙂

  9. Leslie says:

    I saw this challenge and thought about it but decided not to join. I already walk 2+ miles a day to work plus nature walks on weekends looking for birds. To add another hundred miles would probably kill me!

    I shall be cheering you on from the sidelines. This might be a good time to try an audio book or two… it makes the walk go faster.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, with all the walking you do, I don’t think you need the challenge. An audiobook is a good idea, although I’m definitely more of a visual type of person. But I will look into it and see if I can find a nice one. Great idea!

      • Leslie says:

        A good audio choice for those who don’t do a lot of audiobooks is The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. The audio production was excellent and it’s easier to follow non-fiction than fiction or a complex plot.

      • Leeswammes says:

        Thanks for that recommendation, Leslie! It’s a book I’ve been wanting to read anyway, so that is a really good idea.

  10. Daisy says:

    That’s such a great idea & yes! You can most definitely run 100 miles in that time period!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

